We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added duPlooy's Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

After first staying at DuPloys about 20 years ago my family was able to return again in Dec. of 2013. It was even better than I remember. We stayed on the "create your own package" and loved every bit of it: the food, accommodations, birds, tours, gardens, activities, etc. However probably the best part was Fermin and the staff and how well they treated us. It was the most friendly and attentive service I have ever experienced. Regardless if it was a table server, a guide on a canoe trip, or people in the gardens, they all knew their stuff and how to treat visitors. I hope we don't have to wait another 20 years to get back!
Jim & Jan

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your review - and for returning. I know that the vegetation here has changed in the past 20 years. The first time you came, when we had only been opened for 5 years, all of our trees and shrubbery were very small compared to now. It's amazing how much growth there can be in such a short time!

Hope to see you in less than another 20 years.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    54
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
109
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were lovely and very comfortable. The shower was amazing! The garden was amazing and the observation/lookout deck was a treat. The lodge was a great after being a bit disappointed with other lodgings in Belize.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments. After 25 years in Belize I still appreciate the beauty of it all. And it continues to improve as there is more and more habitat for birds and animals. I hope you got to experience the stars from the lookout tower. Up there on a clear night with no obstructions, you feel as though you are right in the stars.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Salmon, Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Cayo district has a wealth of tourist options, including caves, Mayan ruins, and natural resource explorations. Some lodging is very far off; others are in the village hubs. DuPlooys was a good intermediate for our trip. Not too far from the paved highway, but also far enough removed to have jungle, gardens, and overall more space. Rooms were comfortable, but not luxurious. Staff was excellent. Food was delicious, with vegetarian options and ability to notify kitchen of dietary needs. Excursions were well planned and executed. I would recommend strongly a visit here!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your recommendations. Our all-Belizean staff works hard to keep our guests happy so they really appreciate your positive comments.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent 7 nights at DuPlooy’s in early November. As pretty much everyone else has commented, this is a great destination. The staff are super friendly and responsive, the accommodations are comfortable, the location is beautiful, the meals are fresh and delicious, and there is a long list of local activities you can do, facilitated by the lodge staff. We particularly appreciated their flexibility in letting us develop our plans as we went along; there was never any pressure to schedule beyond the next day, which was helpful, since the weather can be quite changeable. While we were there, we alternated close-to-home activities (wandering the beautiful botanical gardens, canoeing the river, the Saturday Farmer’s Market in San Ignacio) with more ambitious full day and half day trips (ATM Cave, Tikal, zip lining at Calico Jacks).

A few random notes:

If you have significant mobility issues, the grounds may be challenging to get around, since the lodge sprawls along a relatively steep slope, with lots of steps. Having said that, there was one person staying there along with us who had severe mobility issues, and the staff seemed to make her stay pretty comfortable.

Bring small flashlights. The grounds are dimly lit at night, especially if you have to navigate the path from the upper part of the grounds to the lower level where the bar and restaurant are.

Other amenities you may wish to bring: Kleenex, and a hair drier.

If you are there in the wet season and/or visit ATM Cave and have sopping wet items, there is something called the Solar Room that the staff can stash your stuff in to dry it out. Otherwise items may never dry, if you are there in a humid time of year.

If you have a low tolerance for jouncing around on bumpy, unpaved roads, you may want to look elsewhere for a vacation experience. There is a 4 mile rutted dirt road between DuPlooy’s and the main highway, and most excursions also involve even longer stretches of dirt track in even worse shape.

Staff tips are included in the overall price, but not tips for drivers and guides, so you’ll probably want to bring a wad of 5s and 10s with you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tree House, which more accurately is not a tree house but a large octagonal room ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your positive review and also the random notes. We can't solve the difficulties for people with mobility issues outside the property, but to help with that here, we will be adding a couple of golf carts soon to at least allow people to visit the gardens.

And, hooray, hooray! - Our road has been graded. Of course it's still a dirt road, but at least it's in better shape for the time being.

Thanks for the tip about hairdryers and kleenex and flashlights. We try to discourage the use of hair dryers since we use mostly solar power and hair dryers use a big blast, but we also understand when people really feel the need so we do have one for loan at the office. But - take another look before you dry your hair - you are probably already beautiful!

Thanks again,
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This lodge was amazing! Deep in the jungle, saturated with good people, unique wildlife, and delicious food! Beautiful trails, river for tubing, and grounds to explore. It rained the whole time we were there and it was still magical. Go now!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We agree with you when you say "go now" ----- If not now - When? Thanks for the great review.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and had a blast. It's a beautiful location (cannot emphasize this enough) with enough things to see and do there that you don't even need to leave the site, what with the canoeing, tubing, amazing Botanical Gardens (seriously, we didn't give this the time it deserved), gorgeous vistas, and wildlife right on the grounds (gibnuts and toucans were our favorites). Our room in the treehouse was cozy and romantic (and surprisingly modern inside). We woke every morning to the sounds of the jungle coming to life - bird calls and soft rustlings of trees and animals.

But it's also a great staging area to see the nearby sites and we certainly took advantage of it. Between horseback riding up to some Mayan ruins (I'm not going to attempt to spell the name), spelunking through ATM, strolling the streets of San Ignacio and hitting the Belize zoo, we barely scratched the surface of available activities.

The staff was awesome, considerate, and a lot of fun to talk to about the area. All of them seem to be experts in all things Belize and their suggestions of what to do and see should be well heeded. Just hanging out at the open-air bar each night was a treat just to meet the folks working and staying there.

Cannot recommend this place enough; they helped make our honeymoon truly memorable.

Room Tip: The treehouse was a romantic spot, with a private balcony and terrace below with a table and hammock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Wow! This review makes us all feel that our efforts are worth it. I can never say enough about my staff as they really do care whether you enjoy your stay, food, tours, etc.

Thanks!
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooperstown,ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

From the moment I stepped out of the van I knew I had made the right choice in staying at Du Plooys. Was welcomed by Loreni with umbrella in hand as a short light shower had just started. She was always helpful and always smiling.

The food was 5 star delectable with exotic fresh choices. Breakfast was made to order as well. Really enjoyed the Belizean specialties. Service and presentation was impeccable........looked forward to every meal. Judy the owner showed up early every morning interested in what the day had in store for us and sharing her day also.

The staff including Albert Angel Fermin and countless others were attentive and engaging if you wanted the interaction. Otherwise they were professional responding to your every need. They never tired of me going on and on about the excitement of my day and contributed even more information on the animals I'd seen and the excursions I had taken.

The Botanical Garden is not to be missed. It's exceptional with a surprise at every turn. As a guest admission is free.

This was truly a paradise within a paradise. I miss you all and hope you are well. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I was in 5 but can't imagine a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We always say that we have the best guests. They always enjoy talking to one another - and why not - it takes a certain type of person to even come here so you're bound to have something in common with other guests. And, if you aren't in a mood to socialize, there is plenty of room to be on your own.

Come back and spend more time in the gardens and doing the activities you missed the first time around.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.