We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Place and People at Duplooys!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added duPlooy's Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Place and People at Duplooys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at Duplooys Jungle Lodge in mid June for 5 nights before going to a Caye for a week. Everyday at the Lodge was a wonderful adventure! We chose to do cave tubing, canoeing, horseback riding and gardens. During our "down time" we swam in the river or tubed to our beach from upstream, super fun! It's difficult to decide what we liked best about our time there in the jungle! The staff were incredibly knowledgeable, friendly, genuine, and would go out of their way to ensure that you were satisfied! It was so nice to talk to each one of them about their families, villages, and life in Belize!! Our children, ages 11 and 7, remarked the food was the best they have ever had! It is a delicious reflection of Belize culture- lots of fresh fruit and veggies, chicken, fish, and they always had a vegetarian option. They also accommodated my gluten allergy with NO problem! Happy hour each night was a super fun time where you could have the bartender create a run drink for you and watch the playful & gentle Kinkajous visit. My daughters had a blast feeding these furry little guys bananas. Around 530 every night, one would come scampering along the railing ready for a treat! The horses we rode were well cared for and were quite tame and laid back. We rode to Xunantunich and on another day rode through the grounds to a beautiful lookout. It was a joy to meet other guests at the bar/lounge and discuss the day's adventures. We stayed in the Casita, which had a large room upstairs and downstairs- plenty of room for 4 persons and it had lots of fans which was great b/c it was quite warm in June. The rooms and bathrooms were very very clean too. I could write all day about our stay at Duplooys as it was so memorable!
Finally- You must walk through the gardens- this is a labor of love and a gem of the country as you can learn about and see native trees and other botany using the handy guidebooks!

Room Tip: Casita is great for family b/c of size, 2 bathrooms, and it's on the corner of the property so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review. We think that our people are incredible too. They are hardworking and really care whether you enjoy your stay or not. They are also willing to share their experiences and their lives with our guests. Add that to a beautiful riverside location, jungle setting and who could ask for more!?

Thanks again.
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    59
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
97
126
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We started our Belize trip on the mainland at Duplooy's Jungle Lodge and savored every moment! I loved having the opportunity to experience the culture and the beauty of the land - not just observing it from a re-created resort. The people of Duplooy's were genuine and gracious and every one of them welcomed us - not from a tourist standpoint, but from a place that was real and heartfelt! I can still hear the sounds of the jungle and the orchestra of birds and insects and the occasional howler monkeys in the distance. Not to mention the fresh smell of the jungle and the wildlife that came to visit the guests without reservation. The Kinkajoos ate bananas right out of our hands!

One day while at Duplooy's we were en route to the ATM Cave (a must do experience) and our Duplooy's driver spotted a family walking down the road with young children on their way to church. He stopped and gave them a ride. No one questioned and everyone welcomed them. It is characteristic of the local culture and we were all touched by such graciousness.

Another day, we rode horses from Duplooy's through the jungle to the Xunantunich Ruins. What made it memorable and special is that we started our day with a delicious breakfast at Duplooy's and then merely walked to their horse ranch to meet our horses and our guide- Guillermo. Guillermo worked at Duplooy's ranch caring for the horses since he was a boy and was now a young adult. He referred to the people of Duplooys as "family." His passion and knowledge of history of the land,the jungle, the flora and fauna and wildlife was impressive and we learned so much from him. What an incredible day and a spectacular way to see the jungle!

Our only regret about our stay at Duplooys is that it was not long enough. Next time we will plan better!

Although it was tough to leave Duplooy's, our next leg of the trip was set for Placencia. We did not know what to expect as it was not an area that occupied many pages in the travel books. That is what we liked about it and we fell in love, wanting to stay there forever. We stayed at the Miramar Apartments right on the beach in the village. It was not fancy by any means but it was nice and we were "home" and felt like such a part of the local culture. Our mood turned from jungle exploration to pure bliss and relaxation from the minute we arrived in Placencia.

While in Placencia, our new friend Arthur took us on a snorkeling adventure of a lifetime to the private and secluded "Laughing Bird Caye" where he prepared a lunch/BBQ fur us and and shared the generosity of his time and knowledge of the land, the water and it's inhabitants (that he treated with utmost respect). Like Guillermo in San Ignacio, Arthur grew up in Placencia and treated us like family. We never felt like we were tourists on a guided, practiced tour. It was one of the favorite days of my trip and I will return again and again. I hope Arthur will be there next year!

The very last leg of our trip was to Ambergris Caye/San Pedro. We were genuinely sad leaving Placencia. I remember sitting on the beach in the morning wanting to change our plane reservations. No need to elaborate on San Pedro - it is a great place, but the very best of our memories remain with the Cayo District, Duplooy's and the breathtaking paradise of Placencia and it's people. What a memorable adventure! The trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: I would say that the Bungalows are the way to go. If you have a group or family, the houses are perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Love your detailed review as it gives those who haven't been here yet a real idea of some of the experiences we offer. I enjoyed talking to you about sustainability and appreciate that you are trying to do what you can, as we are as well. We can only try. Hope to see you here again one day.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge is the most peaceful and tranquil place we found in all of Belize. We were only there 2 days, but it was a highlight of our entire trip. The staff was very friendly and very accomodating. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, but it still had 2 large beds and was very comfortable with a front porch area including a hammock. If an "off-the-beaten-path, peaceful, friendly, back-to-nature" experience is what you're looking for then duPlooy's Jungle Lodge will be perfect for you. It was certainly worth the trip for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for your review and your appreciation for the area. We too feel that it is a "Slice of Heaven"
Our staff always appreciates positive comments and they are what makes duPlooy's special.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We decided to venture from our hotel near town to a lodge I read about and was intrigued with.
It's a trek on a bumpy dirt road but that's part of the adventure, not knowing what's around the corner. When we made it to Duploys the sun was goingdown so we didn't have time to see the gardens but the bird life was incredible and the setting was dreamlike we only had dinner but I'm determined to return and stay. The dinner was very good. Get their signature drink!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. We'll be looking for you next time. Do you know that if you send your friends to duPlooy's, you can earn credits toward your next visit? Just send us your name and when you were here and your friends' names and we will give you a credit of 10% of their bill, excluding bar, tax, gratuities and agent's commission, toward your next visit. A credit from a friend can only be used once, so if someone is a friend of several past visitors, only one can claim the credit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We loved our adventure at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge. While nature wasn't always as accommodating as the staff at the lodge, we still enjoyed our stay. We traveled in early June so the lodge was nearly empty for most of our stay. We had a jungle cabin for six nights and loved the privacy. We spent most every afternoon in the hammock listening to the birds and insects. Every meal we were served was delicious and satisfying. The lodge is set up to meet your needs. We enjoyed hiking the trails, tubing along the river, and swimming along the beach. We had a full day tour every day and LOVED the guides, especially Phillip! We visited Caracol, horse back rode to Xunatunich, did the Black hole rappel, over-nighted in Tikal, and then did the zip line and caving tubing on our way to Amerbergris Caye. Every tour was fantastic; we wouldn't change a thing.

Room Tip: The jungle lodges were very comfortable, but remember that there is no air-conditioning and bugs are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks for your review and mentioning that there is access to "it all" from duplooy's. We are very fortunate to be located right in the midst of so much to do. That's why we say "make sure you stay long enough".

Hope to see you here again one of these days.

Judy dupLooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsvale, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Well, I’d love to say it’s great to be back in gray-brown Nova Scotia, but really I cannot, not yet! The lush green jungle and warm gentle breezes of duPlooy’s are still with me in my dreams. Our daughter and son-in-law were married on the observation deck at duPlooy’s on April 9th, surrounded by their favourite tropical birds, their beloved friends of the duPlooy’s staff, and 15 family-and-friends from home. This was the bride and groom’s fourth stay at the Lodge, and they could not imagine exchanging their vows anywhere else on the planet! Our group was quite diverse, with one disabled guest, and five children ranging from 7 months to 8 years, so we found ourselves heading in opposite directions on some days, requiring special meals on other days, and littering the deck with sippy cups and bird books! The staff were so accommodating, pleasant and helpful, it was amazing to watch how they handled the demand. They also had 22 university students from Vermont to provide for during our stay, and they did so with ease and grace. There is something for everyone at duPlooy’s. Some of the excursions we enjoyed were Tikal, Caracol, Belize Zoo, trail rides, canoe trips, tubing, birding, night walks, and botanic gardens. The wedding however was the highlight! The deck was decorated, the cake was adorned, and as our beautiful daughter glided along the stone pathway toward the deck, several staff members were out with their cameras, all smiles, as always. After the ceremony, the bride was delighted by a very rare and unexpected daytime visit from the nocturnal kinkajou, who of course ate banana from her hand. After the meal, we all enjoyed a lively evening with local Garifuna drummers and dancers. Thanks to the 22 students for joining us and making our party complete! We will never forget all our waiters and bartenders (Ismail, Albert, Kevin), guides (Philip, Mario), office workers (Hello Furimen), and of course Judy, owner-extraordinaire, who loves to share her wisdom and experiences with her guests. We personally thank Judy for befriending our daughter and son-in-law four years ago, and opening their eyes (and subsequently ours) to the wonders of the Belizean jungle.

Room Tip: Because we were travelling in a group, the River House was perfect for us. It's on higher groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
I think that Anna and Trevor's wedding was a memorable experience for all of us - the staff had a great time taking care of your needs, the students were delighted to be included in the party and I had a great time because I knew that my staff was taking care of all of you. Your family and friends were fun and I enjoyed meeting everyone. And you're right about beautiful bride!!

Thanks for writing and hope to see you again one of these days.

Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at DuPlooy's in San Ignacio. We traveled in August so it was the slow season and we were the only guests at the resort. They knew it was our honeymoon and since it was empty, they upgraded us to a Bungalow room which was great! The larger rooms are definitely better even though we weren't in our room very much. The excursions that we did (Xunantunich Maya Site and Actun Tunichil Muknal Tour) were spectacular and I would highly recommend them! The staff from Duplooy's also acted as our shuttle and tour guides to the excursions and they were very knowledgeable and friendly. The staff at Duplooy's were all awesome! Alex and Thomas helped to make our stay great! We got to meet Judy (the owner) and she was also very friendly and helpful in our room upgrade. They have a beautiful backdrop and the food is amazing here. They also offer a botanical gardens onsite as well as kayaks to use on the river. I would definitely recommend staying at DuPlooy's if you are going to the San Ignacio area!

Room Tip: The Jungle Lodge Rooms are very small and I would recommend upgrading to a Bungalow room if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayowoman, Owner at duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the positive review and recommendation. The next time you want a Belize Vacation, try our new Romantic Getaway Package and our new adventure - wine and cheese at the top of a Mayan Temple while watching the sunset.

Thanks for choosing duPlooy's
Judy duPlooy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.1 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.5 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge
#2 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#3 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
2.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — duPlooy's Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.