We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added duPlooy's Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge
Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Farmington, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful place......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2007

We stayed at duplooys quite a while back and enjoyed it... the property is lush, gorgeous! The food was excellent and the optional tours during the day were good. We opted to go to Tikal in Guatemala overnight and it was the highlight of our trip! Like another traveler, we were disappointed by the little interaction the owner family had with us and we would have loved to discuss how they came to end up in Belize. Also, at the time we booked, it was not clear on the website that the price was per person and we ended up having to pay twice over. After our complaint, they changed the website to clearly state per person.

  • Stayed April 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    54
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
109
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

I found this website helpful when deciding on where to stay so I thought I would contribute my experience as well. DuPlooy's exceeded all of my expectations! I would definitely recommend this place to people who are truly looking for the jungle experience!

I must start by saying that I am a bit of a girly girl who fears bugs, spiders, and anything in between. It didn't take me long to realize that I needed to get over this fear in order to truly enjoy my time in the jungle. If you are someone who can't get over bugs hovering around you constantly or spiders all over the place then the jungle may not be the place for you (there is no escaping them). My boyfriend and I experienced bugs and spiders in our room, but it was nothing we couldn't handle. We spoke with other guests and they were lucky enough not to experience any bugs in their room. But its the jungle and a definite possibility you should come to terms with before staying anywhere in the jungle. With that said, dealing with bugs and spiders is a small price for all of the amazing experiences we had at DuPlooy's. I just want to give fair warning to all those like me. Also there is no air conditioning. The fans work great but the generators go off around 4 a.m. every morning for a couple hours. When I did my research I found that the majority of jungle lodges do not have air conditioning.

DuPlooy's is secluded, about 15 to 20 minutes down a dirt road. They have beautiful gardens and a great bar area. Every night they put out bananas for the Kinkajous who gladly show up to enjoy this treat. In the morning they put out fruit for the birds, which attracts several different species. There is wildlife all around you at DuPlooy's, I found myself carrying my camera wherever I went because I never knew what I'd see next.

The staff at DuPlooy's was very friendly and accomodating. My boyfriend and I decided things on a whim and they always were able to make them happen for us. We also got massages there and Ivy was great! We chose to go to Tikal one day and it was amazing. It is an all day trip and you must go into Guatamala. I didn't visit any other Mayan ruins so I can't compare, but Tikal had a lot to offer. The view from Temple 5 is a must and you have got to experience the call of the Howler Monkey. Wear Bug Spray ALL THE TIME, especially in Tikal.

I have to mention how wonderful Stephanie (one of the owners) was to me. I had an incident where I got bit by a fly and my forehead swelled pretty badly. My boyfriend expressed concern to Stephanie and she recommended I go see a doctor just in case. I was very uneasy about going to a doctor in a foreign country but Stephanie reassured me and made the arrangements with the doctor. She also arranged for a driver to take me there. I was very thankful to be in such good hands, thankfully everything worked out just fine. She really went above and beyond for me. For this reason alone (and there are many others) I would stay at DuPlooy's again when I go back to Belize.

The food is great at DuPlooy's. The menu is always different and there are plenty of options. My boyfriend and I opted not to do the meal plan. After our stay we did the math and realized it would have been worth our while to have done it. Since you are secluded there is nowhere else to go, and their meals are fairly pricey.

If you are looking for the jungle experience with exceptional customer service Duplooy's is a great place for you!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — No Air Conditioning
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

Wonderful value! Great in every aspect - accommodation, food, surroundings, staff, proximity to all we wanted to see, and last but not by any means least - a MOST superb guide, Fermin!!! If there IS a better guide in Belize, we would love to meet him!!!
The absolutely delightful staff certainly made our stay at duPlooys' very special! We regret that the family members present totally ignored the guests as we would have so enjoyed hearing more about their parents' work there and the history of the Lodge! They should be extremely proud of their achievements! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and the cook came out tops with every meal!! A day spent JUST on the property is a MUST! We took a complete package and have no regrets! Just wish it was not so far from Africa!!!!! Would recommend it to all who enjoy being part of a wonderful environment and who has an interest in the Mayan culture and birding. We were most impressed with the care taken in the management of this treasure!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

What an amazing place! We can't recommend it highly enough. Set in the Belize jungle above the Macal river this glorious "treehouse" is amazing. We stayed in a bungalow but the slightly smaller rooms looked just as inviting and were in the same setting. The whole resort is made of wood, the rooms are large and spare and scrupuously clean, with a hammock and chairs on the porch of each individual room. The large bed was very comfortable. All the rooms are connected by a wooden walkway, perhaps 200 yards long that rambles through flowering trees and vines. There is a small outdoor bar area where birds (toucans) and small mammals and lizards come to feast on fresh fruit set out for them. The meals were unfailingly delicious and the staff was charming and helpful. We mostly stayed at the resort and read or took tubes (free, despite a previous report) down to the river, or walked through the amazing botanical garden. They offer all the standard trips and tours but we didn't want to leave the hotel except for one delightful morning trip to a local ruin which was grand and quite a private experience as we were closeby so could get there early before the tour buses! There was a computer available for email. A driver met us in belize city and drove us to the resort and back. We did not miss having a car there....the nearby towns aren't as interesting as the resort. We highly recommend this place. We loved our experience there.

  • Liked — peaceful and beautiful
  • Disliked — the long distance from Belize city
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

My husband and I loved every minute of our stay at duPlooys. From the service, staff, food, accommodations and secluded jungle surrounding, we could not have asked for anything more. While there was no AC, there were enough fans in the room to make the stay comfortable - not that you will be in the rooms much since there is so much to do and see.

We did a package that included a bungalow room 3 excursions and all food. It worked out great. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and accommodating. We did the Tikal, Xunantunich/river tubing and Aktun Tunichal Muknal tours with our package and all three were great. Small groups and smart tour guides. Even staying around the resort was great - botanical gardens, right on the river, hammoks to relax in.

There are lots of plant sand wild life to see around duPlooys. They feed birds in the morning from the deck - toucans and jays just feet away! - and a few other animals that come out at night. Plus they have 3 dogs which are fun to play with.

Unless you are very familar with Belize, driving around is hard - bad roads and unmarked streets - so the all-inclusive is a good deal. The resort has no other restaurants near by. And it is about a 20 minute cab ride into down (I think it would have cost about $70 too).

Thank you duPlooys for the most memorable, relaxing and overall enjoyable vacation we have ever taken.

  • Liked — Location - secluded, jungle setting with great rooms!
  • Disliked — Noisy bugs at night!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

Duplooys is gorgeous, perched up in the canopy above the Macal River. The people are unbelievably wonderful and accomodating, the rooms are basic but very comfortable. The tourgides sing country music.

  • Disliked — no air conditioning in the rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

we have just returned from belize...it is an amazing country!
we spent some of our last days at duPlooy's jungle lodge...VERY cool...we were met at the airport by phillip he was the greatest really sweet and funny AND knowledgeable...we drove thru belize city and thru the town of san ignacio where phillip stopped for "tums" for us :)
then up to the jungle - COOL! the grounds are amazing so lush and green, even though phillip said is was dry and not as lush as usual, to us city kids it looked amazing!

the rooms are wonderful- we stayed ina jungle room very spacious.

the bar is amazing it has this walk out thru the canopy to a couple of hammocks and chairs. the drinks are really reasonable and the staff is really sweet.

the dog lucky is not to be missed :)

food is really really good they offer all inclusive meal plans that are well worth it although we were so hot at night we opted to just do a late lunch in the bar and that was plenty especially paired with their breakfast plan...

they have so many trips to choose form ranging form very easy to VERY hard...
we canoed down the macal river into san ignacio for the weekend market - really fun!

on our way back to belize city phillip took us to xunantinitch and the belize zoo where he acted as guides for both...it's really great way to leave the jungle...xunantinitch is a great "little ruin" and the zoo is one of my favs. really really great small but cool.

the sisters that run it are sweet and friendly! brett is really fun to sit on the porch with while the wild kinckachoo's come down and eat banana's out of your hand.

and let's not forget the ever so wonderful luis at the from desk.

the botanical gardens are amazing! we were lucky enough to be the only ones in there as we wandered thru pretty orchids and coffee plants...


bottom line....duPlooy's is awesome

  • Liked — tha grounds are really pretty and the staff rocks!
  • Disliked — we lost power one night and it was SO HOT we could not sleep
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to duPlooy's Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about duPlooy's Jungle Lodge

Address: Chial Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
duPlooy's Jungle Lodge Resort, on the Macal River, an organic property since 1988, now powered by the sun, may just be the Eco-Lodge you are looking for.duPlooy's offers the original "Create Your Own Vacation' package as well as set packages for individuals and groups and custom packages which include other locations in Belize. Whatever you are looking for, we offer a great venue for your Belize Vacation for Families,Romantic Getaways and Honeymoons, Adventure Holidays and more. There is excellent Birding on and around the property as well as many on-site activities.Included with your room: continental breakfast, entrance to adjacent Belize Botanic Gardens, access to trails, use of canoes and tubes from our beautiful Macal River Beach,incredible bird watching from the deck with complimentary morning coffee, delicious meals from locally-sourced meats, eggs and produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your duPlooy's Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duplooy`s Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
DuPlooy's Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage duPlooy's Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.