We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Surprise Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Ignacio Resort Hotel to your Saves list
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   #18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Tahoe
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Surprise Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel which was built a few years ago is undergoing renovations but the main hotel is finished. Our room was spacious and well appointed, air cond. great bathroom. The bed was large a Cal King. The pool was clean and well maintained. Food was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall our stay was delightful. The have an iguana exhibit on sight, well worth seeing.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool direction, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH_Manager, Marketing Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Just want to clarify that the hotel was the first hotel in San Ignacio and was built in 1976. We have undergone several phases of renovations to be the amazing hotel you see today. We are again under renovations to improve and add on to our amenities and facilities. We look forward to hosting you again so you can see first hand the amazing changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    106
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
111
215
21
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Best place to stay in San Ignacio, no question about that. The accommodations were first rate, staff top notch. Our family spent four days here and 4 days in San Pedro in this our first trip to Belize. We weren’t here for more than an hour and I realized I should have allocated more days in San Ignacio. Went on several excursions: Mayan Temples, Zip Lines, Cave Tubing and Cave Canoeing and all were great. All in all though we wish we would have had more free time to see the town of San Ignacio. The time we spent in town we really enjoyed the shops, restaurants and people were all very friendly. Next time we will make sure we have at least one free day to explore town in more depth.

In terms of the hotel, we were very happy. This was our first trip to Belize and didn’t want to worry about hotel “problems” in the jungle. As soon as we walked in the door we know we made the correct hotel decision. They gave us a nice tour of the place and refreshing rum punch that hit the spot. If it was good enough for the Queen of England… It is enough for all comers. We highly recommend San Ignacio Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This resort sent a driver to pick us up at the airport. From the moment we stepped out the door of the airport, we were treated like special guests. The decor is inviting, everything is clean and lush and beautiful. What really sets this place apart, though, is the staff. Our driver, the front desk ladies, the concierge, the service staff, housekeeping... they all knew us by name and we were always warmly greeted with a smile. The Concierge in particular was very helpful. It was our first trip to Belize, and we had purchased through a travel agency, so were not sure at all what to expect. The concierge was there as we checked in, and let us know he wanted to meet with us to go over our itinerary but was careful never to intrude as we ate or relaxed. He made sure we knew timing, what to expect, reminded us of bug spray and sun screen and even made recommendations for dining. Because many of our tours left early, he advised us to pre-order breakfast, and it was always ready on time for us to be on our way. We indulged in a massage while staying here and it was magnificent as well. If you want to be pampered in beautiful surroundings by professional, warm staff, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Garden room was very quiet and had beautiful outdoor and indoor living space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Upon arrival staff greeted us at the lobby, when mentioning the humidity they brought me a cool mint wash cloth (very refreshing). Room was clean and bed was nice. Room service cleaned nicely and left tropical flowers daily to accent the clean towels. Air conditioning worked well and was a relief to have with the humidity and heat. Staff was engaging and gave tips about how to get around town and details about tours. Food at the resort was great and priced well. Great place to come back to after a long day hiking or caving.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one week of peaceful bliss! Absolutely no complaints at all!! The staff was so very helpful and patient. Always a smile with a greeting. The room was spacious, bed very comfortable and balcony was amazing!! Menu has good variety, we also walked to town to sample many different foods. We enjoyed the beautiful pool after a long day of tours, such great service!! Have to thank the Tour Guides Ted and Cruz who were so very well informed, patient and willing to go the extra mile for us! The hotel is a short walk to town, but its located on a hill and quite a hike back up.Want to thank Emma for keeping our room comfy and clean! Job well Done to everyone at San Ignacio Hotel!! We will be back!

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe balcony room for the beautiful view and additional outdoor space! The A/C is a bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

we had our 35th wedding anniversary at san ignacio resort hotel, and loved it. the staff are amazing, fresh flowers on the bed every night (thanks Consuela!) they could not have been more accommodating. will be back for sure. nicest hotel in san ignacio

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel for four nights at the end of May, 2014. We were visiting the area with two adult children. The hotel is located in San Ignacio but is off the beaten path. It's a very easy walk into the heart of town. Our balcony rooms were quite comfortable and we enjoyed the hammocks on the balcony. The beds were comfortable, there was adequate space and the A/C worked well (important in the tropics). We found the staff to be attentive and wanting to please. The hotel pool is very nice and a comfortable respite after visiting the local sites. The hotel restaurant is excellent. We particularly enjoyed coffee and breakfast on the terrace each morning. We were greeted at the airport by Cruz who drove us to the hotel. He was so nice, engaging and informative. Cruz is also a tour guide and he spent a day taking us to local sites. Cruz is proud of his country and a wonderful guide. He also drove us from the hotel to the water taxi in Belize City. We really liked the hotel, the staff and particularly our driver and guide, Cruz.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: #18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. This year, the Resort was awarded with the title "Hotel of the Year" by the Belize Tourism Board;this title recognizes the top tourism establishments in the country.The Resort is located within a 17 acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, perched on hillside along the Macal River Valley and just a short walk from downtown San Ignacio, provide the deluxe 24 room resort its unique feature of providing luxury at "The Only Jungle in Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Ignacio Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.