We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added San Ignacio Resort Hotel to your Saves list
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   #18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Nassau, New Providence Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is a great base for Jungle Area adventures and is the best hotel in San Ignacio but it is still at best a three star hotel. Rooms have been updated with new bathroom fixtures and comfortable beds but the dingy original flooring and furnishings make the room seem dated. There is no coffee maker or bar refrigerator but one can be brought in on request.
The front desk staff are very friendly and efficient as are the housekeeping staff. Breakfast was hit and miss for the most part with a particularly poor buffet breakfast on our final day.
We booked one tour through the hotel and highly recommend the resident guide. He is very professional and passionate about Mayan history and culture.
Over all I would still recommend this hotel in San Ignacio for its location and staff.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    106
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
111
215
21
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family wanted to stay in the jungle area of Belize, but not in the heart of the jungle, for a few days, so the San Ignacio Resort hotel was the perfect choice. You can easily walk to the heart of town for shops and ice cream. It is also a great home base for jungle area adventures. The staff is what sets San Ignacio Resort apart from other hotels. Everyone is kind and loving in a truly genuine manner. They are all incredibly accommodating and no request seems to be too much. Onil went above and beyond to help us and ensure a perfect trip and deserves special recognition. Marlyn at the front desk is the sweetest and always cheerful. Vanessa is a true jewel and continuously and pleasantly helped us with our restaurant needs. We loved the staff so much that I wish I could host them at our house in Dallas, Texas!! I seriously have never felt this way about a hotel staff! The hotel is up on a hill and offers wonderful views from the back side. The A/C in our rooms worked great! Renovations are underway (which caused absolutely no disturbance to us as we took excursions every morning) that will make the hotel an even lovelier place to stay. Our restaurant food was always delicious and well prepared. Be sure to visit the iguana reserve as it is a true bonus! I highly recommend the San Ignacio Resort hotel. It is luxury in Belize! Also, if you have the ability to use Tropic Air out of Maya Flats airstrip, it is very convenient to the hotel. Our short 3 day stay at the SIRH was one we will never forget!

Room Tip: Choose a King Regal in the quieter back section
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great location, best hotel in the nearby area - has some good touches including an excellent breakfast buffet . I was impressed with the luxurious accommodations, the friendly and informative staff. I upgraded to an executive room, It was roomy, with a comfortable king bed, a small sofa and coffee table seating area, a desk and a chest of drawers. It also had large picture windows overlooking the pool and the jungle in the back, (great view for picture taking). Maid service was very attentive. Overall, I have no complaints-everything was great. Keep up the great work San Ignacio, Belize. December 9-13, 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms down stairs are the best if you are looking for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff at the San Ignacio Hotel could not have been more pleasant and helpful. They were wonderful in setting up tours and making sure we had everything we needed to make our stay there very enjoyable. Although the restaurant was under construction, but they made sure to accommodate everyone and their menu had a wide variety of choices and the service was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through San Ignacio.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you're looking for a getaway that involves exploring Mayan ruins, walks through the Jungle, Cave exploration, as well as delicious cuisine and an absolutely loving and family like staff, all with class, elegance and style, this is the place.
Notwithstanding the current renovations taking place, the staff at the San Ignacio Resort, accommodated us in our every need and desire. I've never experienced such kindness and gratitude in a staff community. It is as if the entire staff are one big family, and it shows through their smiles and willingness to make you feel at home.
The architecture and design of the hotel are stunning, as a marble decor gives way to a tropical jungle setting, all within the confines of this refined oasis. The swimming pool is located on the edge of the vast tropical flora, giving the sensation you're swimming in an ancient setting, surrounded by beautiful flowers and exotic trees. With a sharp eye, you can witness one of the many Iguanas that inhabit the grounds, probably released from the Resort's "Iguana Project".
There are a multitude of guides and tours that can be arranged through the Hotel, that allow for safe and educational, as well as adventurous expeditions into the myriad of wonders this beautiful and mystical place has to offer. The Resort's location is walking distance from the town district, which offers outdoor markets, as well as an insight into the local customs.
The Resort's restaurant offers a wide variety of foods for breakfast lunch and dinner, and the serving staff are pleasant and eager to accommodate your every culinary desire. The Resort has a tennis court that offers a way to keep up with your game, while miles away from home, as well as a neighboring casino if you're interested in breaking up the trip a bit, with a hand or two in BlackJack.
If you're planning on visiting or exploring the Mayan Ruins, and culture, the San Ignacio Resort is the most comfortable way to do it.

Room Tip: The Sweet overlooking the Pool is the way to go. If you're going to do it, do it right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH_Manager, Marketing Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Good afternoon John,

This is such an amazing and articulate review expressing your experience here at the San Ignacio Resort Hotel. Your review incorporates everything the hotel strives to achieve for every guest that visits us. Thank you for choosing us for your vacation getaway and have a Happy New Year.

Sincerely,
Trinity Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Waking up in the morning after sleeping in such a comfortable bed and a room with a wonderful view was just one of the great things about this Resort. The staff are some of the most kind and polite staff ever. They went out of their way to make our experience at their hotel and in San Ignacio a wonderful one. I traveled with 50 other people on a mission trip and we had many changes due to our hectic schedules and they accommodated us with each one. Their hospitality made the success of our mission possible! Many Thanks San Ignacio Resort Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a deluxe balcony room with 1 queen and 1 double bed. Originally booked at $250/night, the rate dropped to ~$200/night because of the holiday construction in 2013. However, even at $200/night, the value we got was significantly poorer than our accommodations in Placencia and Caye Caulker:

- No in-room fridge or even the ability to put one in there if requested
- 2 shoddy/old room carpets
- Very small
- Slippery floor after they cleaned
- No breakfast; not even in-room coffee

What ultimately led to my terrible rating however is how the staff + management handled an incident that involved entering our room to change the A/C unit and make up the room:

- After our first night, we had the room cleaned while we were out and found to our dismay upon returning mosquitos in our room. My husband is extremely allergic but we understood that getting the room cleaned meant an open door and the introduction of mosquitos. He basically spent that night hunting mosquitos and getting very little sleep. :( So after the 2nd night, we hung up our do not disturb sign and manually got our towels changed. After the 3rd night, we planned for the same, but while we were out, the staff came in and changed out the A/C unit and cleaned our room - despite the Do Not Disturb sign.
- This was a big problem for us beyond the mosquitos. I am 6 months pregnant and the smell left by the paint caulking and chemicals was very bad. The A/C unit swapping also left a few holes in the inside wall.
- The staff in the beginning suggested we had authorized the entry (they realized later they were incorrect), offered to patch up the hole (which they never did), offered to spray down the room (more chemicals), and then said they could move us to another room. We declined this last one because we were already very tired after a long day out but in retrospect we probably should have moved out of concern for breathing in the bad fumes.

I then asked for some kind of compensation because we were very very distressed at having to worry about mosquitos for the evening as well as the paint chemicals, on top of the hassle all of this caused on our vacation. This began quite a long back-and-forth with the front desk person who was playing intermediary with the decision-maker who was out running errands.

I was offered a 3-course dinner meal for my husband and me - unattractive because as a few other reviewers have indicated, the restaurant selection is mediocre for what it charges. We had already eaten breakfast 3x and lunch 2x there so this wasn't an uninformed opinion. This turned into a $40 US offer, or "equivalent to dinner", which I blatantly thought was wrong and indicated was not enough given their original offer for dinner. You can't have a 3-course meal with drinks at their restaurant for 2 for $40 US. The hotel would not budge on this and it is what I settled for.

All in all, I would never stay there again nor recommend it to anyone. Honestly a hotel such as this that markets itself as it does ("luxury accommodations") and charges what it does should never never come into a guest's room without prior authorization to change the A/C unit when we had offered NO complaints or comment about the A/C, and when we had a Do Not Disturb sign hanging. How they handled the issue afterward was extremely disappointing.

I understand that the town of San Ignacio does not offer much that is better - other travelers we talked to who stayed down the hill commented that it was noisy, etc. I don't know what the jungle lodges are like, but if I really wanted to visit the Cayo sights while staying in better accommodations, I'd definitely recommend staying somewhere other than San Ignacio.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIRH_Manager, Marketing Manager at San Ignacio Resort Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Good afternoon Traveller_0829,

I apologize that your stay with us was below your expectations and prior to this review a follow up email was sent and a credit issued to your credit card on file due to your dissatisfaction during your stay. I would also like to apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the unauthorized entry into your room. It is our hotel policy to never enter any guest room without their approval unless it is an emergency. Apparently there was some internal miscommunication and the Manager on Duty was informed that this entry was authorized.

I would also like to take this opportunity to address a few of your concerns mentioned during your stay:

-We currently do not have refrigerators in every room in the hotel however we do have a few portable units available and, at a guest request, will be more than happy to place one in the room.

-We also do not offer complimentary breakfast with the room type that you requested however complimentary breakfast is provided with another room type. The breakfast in our restaurant ranges between $5.00- $15.00US.

-Additionally, we are in the process of placing coffee machines in every room in our Resort Hotel however in the meanwhile, a complimentary coffee station is made available for our guests in our restaurant area between the hours of 11:00pm and 7:00am

Again I would like to apologize that this was not rectified to your liking prior to your departure. We are committed to providing all of our guests with an unsurpassed level of luxury service.

Sincerely,
Trinity Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: #18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. This year, the Resort was awarded with the title "Hotel of the Year" by the Belize Tourism Board;this title recognizes the top tourism establishments in the country.The Resort is located within a 17 acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, perched on hillside along the Macal River Valley and just a short walk from downtown San Ignacio, provide the deluxe 24 room resort its unique feature of providing luxury at "The Only Jungle in Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Ignacio Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.