We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Ignacio Resort Hotel to your Saves list
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   #18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Visalia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for one night prior to going to Tikal. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly and very helpful. We were going to spend the next night in Tikal and needed a place to leave most of our luggage and our rental car for the night. Flora at the front desk kept our bags for us in the office at no charge and our car was safe in the parking lot. They went above and beyond to make us comfortable while we were there and answered our questions about traveling to Tikal. Can't say enough nice things about this hotel. While in San Ignacio we ate at Erva's and it was great. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    106
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
111
215
21
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We could not have found a better hotel for our mother-daughter vacation in this area of Belize. The front desk hotel staff arranged tours that were beyond our expectations - all the guides we had were excellent! The pool and patio dining areas were lovely for relaxing and resting up for our next adventure! HIGHLY recommend it for anyone wanting to experience the jungle and Mayan ruins.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

For the money, this was the best place we stayed at in Belize. We loved the fact that we could walk around San Ignacio and then come back to a well appointed air conditioned room. The restaurant was quite good and we ate breakfast there 3 out of the 4 days. The pool was wonderful and we got in a game of tennis as well. Best bag for the buck in San Ignacio!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Belize
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

San Ignacio Resort Hotel really makes every guest feels like royalty. You can either be a guest of the restaurant, stork club even the pool and they treat you as if though you deserve all the attention in the world. Having had experiences with several resort being inefficient in making their guests feel welcome to their facilities especially when they are not staying at the hotel. We stayed at the hotel and was totally blown away by the professional service of the housekeepers, front desk, bartenders and restaurant staff. We chose to stay at this hotel not only because it's one of Belize's finest "Belizean Resorts" but also because they are pioneers in the Green Iguana Conservation project of which we are very concerned about. I would definetely recommend this resort hotel to everyone who wants to treated like royalty while giving back to the environment at the same time!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

San Ignacio resort exceded all of our expectations. We had a room with a private balcony (with it's own hammock) The air coditioning worked great. The bed was soooo comfortable, luxury linens and pillow. The room was a good size with a really nice bathroom. The grounds were lovely and the Iquana project was a highlight of our trip. Our Iquana guide Edmundo was awesome and we just loved Roxy and Gomez.
The food was great-if you have breakfast here definately order the fried jacks. The pool was perfectly cool and refreshing. The location was perfect- just a short walk out of town in our own private jungle. We even saw a Tucan on our last day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

These people are amazing. They were so thoughtful to make a big deal out of my 65th birthday while we were there.
The help setting up tours was flawless.
The staff never hesitated to provide, help, advise and made our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Ask not to be too near the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were in San Ignacio for 2 nights after a week of diving and wanted to treat ourselves to a some relaxing down time. We stayed in the master suite which had a gorgeous, sweeping view of the backyard rain forest. The room itself was spacious and luxurious, with a huge comfy bed and a jacuzzi on the balcony...not that you need it in the 90 degree heat. The entire staff was friendly, gracious and helpful. Restaurant (where we ate 4 of 5 meals) was pretty good and we especially liked the Cayo Bollos and rum punch. We saw several birds, including 2 species of toucan, from the balcony.

Only down side was the room smelled heavily of mildew when it didn't smell of the forest fire going on in Pine Ridge (weather stripping on the balcony door would help). For this reason, and this reason only, I would not stay here again and i would not recommend the $300 to stay in the master suite. :(

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Ignacio Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ignacio Resort Hotel

Address: #18 Buena Vista St, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Ignacio Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Ignacio Resort Hotel provides unsurpassed levels of luxury and Belizean hospitality. This year, the Resort was awarded with the title "Hotel of the Year" by the Belize Tourism Board;this title recognizes the top tourism establishments in the country.The Resort is located within a 17 acre private estate, 72 miles west of Belize City, perched on hillside along the Macal River Valley and just a short walk from downtown San Ignacio, provide the deluxe 24 room resort its unique feature of providing luxury at "The Only Jungle in Town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Ignacio Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ignacio Hotel San Ignacio
San Ignacio Resort Hotel Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Ignacio Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.