We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Maya Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maya Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3/4 mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here while in the Cayo. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is amazing. The food is incredible, don't go out to eat just eat in their dining room. The pool was great and our cabana was very private. We also went horseback riding and cave tubing, both great, well priced and easy to book.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    68
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
108
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff here at Maya Mountain Lodge are top notch. Our transportation, meals, and tours were expertly executed. In fact, our treatment there is comparable to feeling like a part of their family. We always had food ready for us because we had reserved our meals in advance, and even if the office was closed, the family that lives and works onsite always made sure we were taken care of.

My boyfriend and I opted to stay in the cottage and loved it! It had air condition, a fan, a fridge, multiple beds, and a bathroom.

The lodge itself is located in Santa Elena, the twin village of Santa Ignacio. You can walk (about 15 minutes) or you can take a taxi (5-10 BZ).

Gracias Diego, Elmer, Daniel, and everyone else that made our stay there very enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I found this lodge to be wonderful for what we were doing - going on tours. The people at the lodge were GREAT. They made a real effort to know our names and make sure we were having a good time. The meals were wonderful. $10 for breakfast and $20 for dinner. We ate in town and it was a little cheaper, and good but I found the lodge's food perfect and the service was GREAT. They accommodated our children's taste. The people at the lodge make this worth the stay. The tours (Cayo Adventure Tours) are on site and did a wonderful job. Once again the people at this lodge were wonderful to our family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Maya Mountain Lodge is up for sale, and the owners are no longer on site. The staff told us they moved back to the US. That being the case, this property has a feeling that no one really cares anymore. During our two-night stay only one other room was occupied. The staff we did come in contact with were very friendly.

The resort's website is very deceiving. It states that they are located in San Ignacio. However, they are actually located in Santa Elena and it is necessary to take a taxi to downtown San Igancio which is where all the action is. We arrived at the resort around dinner time and expected the resort to be open for dinner since their website stated they have a restaurant. However, the staff told us we had to reserve our meals ahead of time if we wanted to eat there. So, we had to take a taxi into town for dinner. We decided to reserve breakfast for the next two mornings. Well, we got breakfast the first morning, but the second morning no breakfast was served since no one showed up to cook. Somehow the staff failed to serve us the breakfast that we reserved for the second morning.

There was not a safe in the room, so we asked the front desk if we could store our belongings in their safe and they agreed. When we arrived back from a day of excursions around 4:00 pm, we went to retrieve our belongings and there was nobody there, everything was locked up. Finally a staff member showed up around 6:30 pm and we were able to get our extra money to take a taxi to town for dinner. Again, the restaurant at the resort was closed that night.

Our room was clean but extremely tiny and the bed was rock hard with hard, rocky type lumps in the mattress. There was no T.V. .A nice touch was that they supplied us with drinking water.

This could be a great resort if they had a full-time staff, a shuttle into town, a restaurant that is open for all three meals and a bar. The policy of this resort is no liquor is sold.

If you are considering the Maya Mountain Lodge, my advice would be to wait until it has some new owners who would improve the service. It has the potential to be something special, it just needs some new owners who care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bart1919, Owner at Maya Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
-The Simmons family has operated the Maya Mountain Lodge since Nov 1, 2012. They are a Belizean family who live on the property about 100 feet from the office and are intimately involved with its operation and with guests. They have over 20 years of experience in Belizean tourism and own and operate Cayo Adventure Tours (CAT), an award winning tour company. The lodge recently won the 2013 award for excellence from Trip Advisor as a result of its many wonderful reviews by guests.
-We are a jungle lodge located on the outskirts of the town of San Ignacio just outside the neighborhood of Santa Elena on a densely wooded property with lots of jungle. The lodge is small (15 rooms), has a dining room which serves guests and others by reservation, and has an informal and caring style which is more appealing to people who frequently stay at bed and breakfasts than to those looking for down town night life or rock bottom prices. With many of the features of a large full scale resort, such as a pool and fine dining, we are geared to a more intimate scale, like many small family run resorts in Belize and around the world. Notwithstanding our small size, our highly trained Belizean cooks provide delicious, safe, appealing dishes, and a diversity of ethnic meals that have earned us wonderful reviews for our food. We encourage our potential guests to visit our website to assure that we are the type of lodge they seek.
-The Simmons family and staff regret that this guest was inconvenienced on the day of the staff’s annual trip. The management and staff went rock climbing and left maintenance staff in charge during the entire day. The trip returned later than expected causing the delay of a couple of hours for access to the safe. We realize that it shouldn’t have happened. Hopefully potential guests who read the many positive posts will realize that this type of incident is obviously not a regular occurrence.
-We, the owners of Maya Mountain Lodge, live close by and continue to provide support and training for Michael, Maria, and their wonderful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself and 2 others stayed 3 nights at the Maya Mountain Lodge. The hotel itself is great. The rooms were large, showers were nice, and the AC worked great. The pool was very nice, and helpful during the hot June afternoons. Overall the staff was incredible. They really make your stay enjoyable. My only complaint is the dining area. The food was ok, but incredibly expensive when compared to restaurants in Santa Elena/San Ignacio. Overall a great hotel, just take the time to explore the restaurants in the nearby towns. It'll save money, and the food is better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Maya Mountain Lodge for the first two nights of our Belize vacation. I chose the lodge based on location and previous reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. As others have commented, the staff - especially Elmer and the caretakers - are amazing. They are friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in making sure you are happy and having a good time. Elmer promptly picked us up from the airport - and he provided us with a wonderful introduction to Belize and the Cayo Region as we drove to the lodge. Throughout our stay he was extremely helpful in setting up our transfer to Tikal, Guatemala and making sure any question or request we had was met without delay. We had most of our meals at the lodge and we were blown away by the delicious food. They were happy to accommodate my dietary restrictions and shared recipes with us. We did not stay in one of the cabanas, but our hotel-style room was simple and clean with ample hot water and an A/C. We enjoyed the refreshing pool surrounded by the beautiful jungle vegetation. The proximity to San Ignacio was convenient as we could walk to town if we wanted, and it's also convenient for exploring other parts of Cayo. We highly recommend Maya Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Mountain Lodge

Address: 3/4 mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Mountain Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Mountain Lodge is a small family run eco-jungle lodge located 3/4 Mls. On the Cristo Rey Road, only five minutes from downtown San Ignacio, Belize. Offering 15 air conditioned units varying from family cottages equipped with kitchenettes to our standard rooms. We also have economy rooms for the budget conscious. Weekly and monthly rates are available for up to 70% discount. We are famous for our dining service which features cultural meals of the different ethnic groups in Belize. Dining reservations are required. We also offer cooking courses when booked in advance. We have an on property tour company which provides safe, reliable tours of high quality and which are fun as well as educational. There is a pool, nature trails, tropical gardens,conference room, spa, and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Maya Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Mountain Hotel San Ignacio
Maya Mountain Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.