We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service, room ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Maya Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Maya Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   3/4 mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, room ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We didn't realize that MML was in Santa Elena instead of San Ignacio... once we figured that out, it wasn't that hard to find. The staff is FANTASTIC and the food is exceptional. We saw the menu and immediately signed up for dinner and breakfast. MML is a great place to use as a base for all the local "adventures" because many of the lodges in this area are so far out of town it takes ages just to get back to the main road. I went horseback riding at MET while staying here and it took 45 minutes to get down a bumpy, dirt road - probably about 15 miles. Crazy!

When we arrived, we needed lunch and they recommended Hannah's in San Ignacio, which was a GREAT suggestion. Terrific food!

One recommendation - pay the extra $$ to get a cabin. The rooms in the main building are tiny and outdated. It was still clean, etc. and the "common area" porch was a real treat with hammocks and chairs.

Xunantunich is only about 20 minutes away - don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    68
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
61
109
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Even after reading dozens of reviews you never know what you're going to get when you travel to a place you've never been before, especially outside the country. Maya Mountain Lodge is definitely a great find; my girlfriend and I spent 3 nights there and absolutely loved it. Even before we showed up Elmer, one of the managers, emailed back and forth with me multiple times answering questions and getting us set up for a tour to Tikal (Elmer rocks and so did the tour!) We opted to pay a few extra bucks to get picked up at the airport to save time and headache getting to the lodge outside San Ignacio - I would definitely recommend this if you're short on time or took a red-eye like we did. Once we got to the lodge we realized that we could have the jungle experience and "roughing it" in a thatched roof hut while still having some of the comforts that we enjoy when we travel (i.e. A/C and our own bathroom). After a long night/day of travel we opted to have our first meal at the lodge to try it out and wow, we're very glad we did. The food was excellent and they adjusted everything to fit both of our dietary restrictions. We immediately signed up to have dinner at the lodge for the remainder of our stay - we highly recommend this since the food is delicious and the closest restaurant/food stand is a taxi ride away.
Since at first I wasn't sure if booking the tours through the lodge would be a good idea we only signed up for our Tikal trip before arriving. After a fun and educational day trip to Tikal though we had no hesitation signing up for the ATM tour the following day. We would highly recommend this tour and especially if your get Martin as your guide. Maya Mountain Lodge is now managed (relatively recent change) by the same family that owns and runs Cayo Adventure Tours so you have a reputable tour company onsite.
All in all, if you're looking for a comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price you have found it with Maya Mountain Lodge - we would definitely stay there again if we're lucky enough to make it back to Belize.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Thank you, Maya Mountain Lodge for making my first trip to Belize such a delight. From the time that Adrian, from CATS, picked us up on time at the airport, the service has been better than that of a four star resort! Everyone here is great; Daniel, Landy, the cooks, Michael and his CATS crew have helped us to have some real great adventures. All are professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. The food was great! The ceviche was wonderful and the papaya cream pie was the best! Thank you sooo much.

Room Tip: Planning ahead is always a great idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our only advice is to pay a little more and stay at the cottages if you need. The service at this location is just outstanding. Melody runs administration - like a true professional. Her husband Damian is is such a sweet guy who looks over the traveler and their families very lovingly, They have a beautiful son CJ. His father in law Landy (sp ?) and another manager Elmer (most especially) are great people and gave us superb service and assistance, We became friends with their extended family. The hotel is also connected with Cayo Adventure Tours to access different local tours e. g. Caracol, Xunantunich and Che Chem Ha Caves which were very informative. From CAT (very much in particular) the guide Adrian was just outstanding. We highly recommend this location for a family vacation. We already miss this place. Grimfly

Room Tip: Our advice is to pay a little more for the cottage. The service at this location is just outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Maya Mountain Lodge is neither a lodge nor in the mountains, but it is a cute palapa-style motel with great food. The one-room cottage where I stayed was very basic—comfortable bed, lumpy pillows, table, and dresser. The room was clean and smelled of disinfectant. The windows in the room were shuttered, and I was unable to open them. The fact there was a small porch with a hammock made up for the lack of view. MML's best feature is its food, which is all homemade on the premises, including the very tasty fruit juices.

It is located in San Helena, which is just across the river from San Ignacio and considered its twin village. The cottages are close to the dining room and parking area. Because of that and its proximity to town, Maya Mountain Lodge is not the quietest place, especially if there are festivities going on in town. If you are sensitive to noise, bring ear plugs.

The staff is extremely friendly and eager to help arrange tours to the many attractions in the vicinity, including Caracol, Tikal, ATM, Barton Creek, and Xunantunich. I found it a great base for touring and good value for the money.

MML is selling off two parcels of its property for medium density development. It is also looking for a buyer for the motel portion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Jungle setting with hiking trails, lush vegetation, and lots of birds a mile from the heart of San Ignacio. Cab rides are $5 US each way from "downtown". Food is expensive but wonderful. Staff is friendly and will Gchat with you before your trip. Cabins were renovated but the rooms are shabby. Overall, a great place to spend some time if you're on a budget and want to get out of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and son had the privilege of staying at Maya Mountain Lodge. The new owners were very welcoming and attentive. The staff very friendly. The breakfast was great and fulling. We love the casitas. One of the most unique thing about Maya Mountain Lodge is the location. It's a five minute drive out of town but yet your accommodation is in the rainforest. Can't ask for more. Would stay here again for sure.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maya Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Mountain Lodge

Address: 3/4 mile Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maya Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maya Mountain Lodge is a small family run eco-jungle lodge located 3/4 Mls. On the Cristo Rey Road, only five minutes from downtown San Ignacio, Belize. Offering 15 air conditioned units varying from family cottages equipped with kitchenettes to our standard rooms. We also have economy rooms for the budget conscious. Weekly and monthly rates are available for up to 70% discount. We are famous for our dining service which features cultural meals of the different ethnic groups in Belize. Dining reservations are required. We also offer cooking courses when booked in advance. We have an on property tour company which provides safe, reliable tours of high quality and which are fun as well as educational. There is a pool, nature trails, tropical gardens,conference room, spa, and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Maya Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maya Mountain Hotel San Ignacio
Maya Mountain Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.