We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Little Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windy Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windy Hill Resort to your Saves list
Windy Hill Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Little Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights, Dec 2 - 6. Windy Hill arranged all our transfers and tours. Everyone should experience Market Day (Saturday) in San Ignacio, and we went to Che Chem Ha Cave, Tikal and Caves Branch, where we ziplined and cave tubed. All our tours and guides were awesome, and the staff at Windy Hill were great also. Our cottage was spotless, the grounds were beautiful, and the food was fantastic. Windy Hill also arranged our hotel at San Pedro, everything went without a hitch. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    55
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
50
83
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas City, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had the chance of coming to beautiful Belize; was in San Ignacio visiting the marvelous Chechem Ha anda Caracol. Stayed at Windy Hill and was a lovely experience. Pool is just great after the daily activities. Food is good and the staff is fantastic. Enjoyed thw timber cottages. TV´s are rather small. No phone in the room. But enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Liked the rooms right i front of the pool Number 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I found out about this place on Trip Advisor and decided to book because they offered all of the adventures I wanted to do. It was a little more expensive than the places we stayed at along the coast but I think the price was fair compared to other resorts in San Ignacio. The food was good, our adventures were amazing, and the privacy was great. Maybe it was just the down season but it felt like we had the whole resort to ourselves, which was great. They even upgraded us to an air conditioned room. The property is beautiful and so is San Ignacio. Book at Windy Hill for a wonderful stay on the east side of Belize. Book in the down season for a better value. PS: If you plan of staying a few nights the pool is a great way to relax on a day off from adventures.

Room Tip: AC was sweet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I took this trip because we wanted to visit the Mayan ruins. We had not really investigated Belize. We were surprised to find out that they speak English as their first language. It was very safe and we had so much to do, we couldn't do it all. I highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going. The Windy Hills team were very helpful and made the trip unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

From both the side-by-side rooms to the stand alone cabins, you cant go wrong. It was a fabulous location with all you could ask for. A restaurant, bar, pool, and access to San Ignacio is everything you should look for in a hotel. The view from the pool is amazing, they have beautiful landscaping, and all the necessary ammenities. Staff was friendly. Amin is an amazing server and bartender, working tirelessly to make sure that the guests have a great time and fabulous service- with a smile. Thank you Amin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver,Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had to flee Cahal Pech and found this by chance, we have chosen the economy room, compared to C P luxury, simple, could be upgraded somewhat, the cabanas are very nice as we have seen. Excelent staff who like to please and are very helpful. Nice pool and bar& restaurant to relax. We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed longer. We had hot water, but who needs hot water by 85F?

Room Tip: check availibilty and check out the rooms on arr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Our 8 day trip turned into 10 days while airfare shopping and we needed to find a place to stay for the extra 2 days. Since 8 would be on Ambergris Caye, we located chose Windy Hill in the Cayo district to get a different experience and be close to the ruins at Caracol. My husband and I have traveled in Central America frequently. We were traveling with our brother and sister-in-law who had never experienced the area. We were all thrilled with the location, friendly service, and reasonable prices. We took a trip to Caracol with a very informed guide that was arranged by the office. Caracol is quite a trip up and back, so no the way back, the guide stopped at the pools in Rio so we could take a swim. We went from bustling busy life to rest and relaxtion in less than a few hours upon landing. We will indeed stay at Windy Hill again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windy Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Hill Resort

Address: Graceland Ranch | Mile 2 1/2 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#7 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windy Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle Rivers, Maya Temples, Gentle Mountain Breezes...Service Extraordinaire! Located in the foothills of the Maya Mountains, the most diverse and beautiful area of Belize, Windy Hill Resort & Tour Company provides all the modern conveniences in a lush tropical setting and just minutes away from the archaeological sites and other popular attractions in Belize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windy Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windy Hill Hotel San Ignacio
Windy Hill San Ignacio
Windy Hill Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windy Hill Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.