We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Paradise Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Paradise Resort to your Saves list
Crystal Paradise Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Macal River near Cristo Rey Village | PO Box 126, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
RDU
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great family run establishment. Food was wonderful. Truly enjoyed our stay here, wish we had added a few extra days here. We were on a planned Birding vacation, hosted by the Brothers of the family. They run many different tours throughout the country. The Birding trip was a huge success, 180 species seen, 45 new life listers. The birds on the property were amazing also. Nice short walk to the river. Dogs were a little loud one night but did not hear them other nights. Great family doing an excellent job in their part of paradise. Accomodations were nice with a ceiling fan and private bath.

Room Tip: They do have a honeymoon cabana. More private as others are duplex cabanas. It has nice wrap-aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    37
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
77
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent five days at Crystal Paradise and had a great time. We signed up for some of their tours and did some of our own and all were great. My friend is a big birder and am not but it worked out great. She was able to go on some bird-specific trips while I enjoyed the grounds and relaxed and there were other tours we did together that combined interests. I loved canoeing, Chechem Ha Cave, and the long day trip to Tikal! The Tut family are great and so welcoming.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms are quite rustic. It can get humid and warm through out the night. They do have great showers but make sure you take shower shoes. The mattress we had was thin and sheets didn't fit properly. We ended up using both sheets on the mattress and using the blanket to cover with. The food was good over all. The tour guides were amazing. Selmo and Omar have a passion for what they do and it shows. The vehicles they drive however good use some work. The roads they have to drive explains the reason the SUV's are in the shape they are. You should be warned that in Belize the driver's don't waste anytime getting around. They are fast and it can be hair raising. Over all it was still amazing and a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and, I, our daughter and son-in-law all had a wonderful stay at the Crystal Paradise, thanks to the warmth and care of the Tut family, with a special thanks to Julie! We would love to revisit soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Crystal Paradise based on the recommendation of our tour guide. We were met at the airport by Eric, who was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at Crystal Paradise, we were shown the grounds and brought down to check in. While we were there, we mentioned that we needed to call our tour guide to make arrangements for the next day, and since we had no phone, they placed the call and helped us confirm everything. We were taken to our cabana which had a screened in porch with a big hammock, and a modest but comfortable queen bed in an ample sized room with fresh flowers on the desk. While they are converting the cabanas to be air conditioned, we were comfortable with the ceiling fan on and windows open.

Meals are served in a fairly large open air dining room. We were served traditional Belizean foods in plentiful portions. The meals were reasonably priced and the food was varied delicious, and the service was very good. The resort is a good distance from town and markets, and you would need a car or a taxi to go to a restaurant, but we never felt the need.

Victor was always around somewhere, listening to the radio, making sure guests were being taken care of, talking, asking how our visit was going, and offering advice.

Room Tip: not all rooms have screened in porches or air conditioning, make sure you ask if you want that kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, Vermont
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were in Crystal Paradise Resort for 3 days and 2 nites. Dorita was extremely helpful in planning our stay and answered all my questions and concerns before the trip and arranged to get picked up at the airport by Eric, one of the siblings.
In reviewing the other comments, all I can say is ditto to the positive experiences.
We interfaced with Jeronie and his father who created the property.
We did 2 side trips, one with David, who took us to the Barton Cave. That was one of the most amazing experiences we have had.
We did joke with Jeronie about his signage down on the Marcal River......my wife and I were taken by jeep up river about 20 minutes and Eric and his associate helped us launch the canoe. They said it would take about 30-45 minutes to get back to the resort. "LOOK FOR THE SIGN" they said.
An hour later, we were still looking for the SIGN. Finally we found a tiny sign, pulled the canoe out of the river and proceeded to walk up to the Resort. Well the signage was absent. We walked for quite a while and came into an upscale residential neighborhood. Obviously not the Resort!
We were thinking we would have to relaunch the canoe and continue down river.
Suddenly, I saw an unmarked gate and thought we should explore this to see if this path would get us back. Sure enough.....found out later there were 2 beach heads we could stop at to get to the resort.
Later, laughing and picking on Jeronie about the lack of signage, he exclaimed " I have the signs, they are in the shop"!
We picked on him quite a bit about that during dinner and in the evening.
We would give the resort a score of 99 out of 100.
If Jeronie put up his sign at the river, "100".

Room Tip: We stayed in the cabana that was not attached. Very nice with a screened porch, hammock, large bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our experience was similar to most of the reviews of this resort. Our cabana was airy, clean, and comfortable. The restaurant is in a very pretty setting, with a big deck looking out over the attractive grounds. Food is tasty and plentiful, and guests are encouraged to sit with others, which is fun. Watching the birds come up to eat the fruit they put out in the morning is a treat. The staff is very friendly, and owner Victor is a hoot to talk to. I would just say to keep your expectations in check about the overall setting of the resort. This area is not really In The Rainforest, but rather a few miles down the road from a fairly sizable town, among other farms, ranches, and vacation properties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Paradise Resort

Address: Macal River near Cristo Rey Village | PO Box 126, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Belize jungle lodge is located in the lush jungles and along side the beautiful Macal River. Owned and operated by the Tut family, using the ancient art of palm-thatched roofs that blend with the natural beauty of Belize. Combine this exotic atmosphere with genuine Belizean family hospitality and the result is a rare encounter between culture and adventure. . We provide our guests with the opportunity to explore the country's many wonders while staying in comfort that reflects Belizean culture. Your base for all your adventures in Belize whether it be caving, birding, visits to archeological sites such as Caracol, Tikal Xunanunich and many other Belize Maya ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Paradise Hotel San Ignacio
Crystal Paradise Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Paradise Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.