We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarissa Falls Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clarissa Falls Resort
George Price Highway | Mile 70, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in San Ignacio
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Clarissa Falls is a little piece of heaven. The cabins are kept up nicely, and having access to a private bathroom is wonderful after a long day. Chena is a fabulous cook and gracious hostess; all the employees and Chena's family made me feel right at home. It's far enough outside of town that you don't feel the need to go party every night, but close enough to San Ignacio and Succotz to go for a quick trip into town. Cell signal--both Belize phones and American phones--was excellent, so I was able to keep in touch with home very easily. After a long work day, I enjoyed going and sitting by the Falls or just walking around the resort among all of Chena's beautiful plants. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
25
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Best deal and experience on the Mopan River! If you are looking for adventure, tranquility, wildlife, excercise, water sport, naps, great belizean food and hospitality, it's here or not far away from Clarissa Falls. Hand feed the toucan, get up close with the monkeys on your way to or from the airport and enjoy Guatemala, just a few miles away or Mexico a few hours by bus. I enjoyed kayaking the river, sleeping peacefully in the hammocks and my very clean and modest accomodations. The food is excellent belizean fare and there are plenty of mayan ruins to explore, a butterfly house and shopping too. All this in the middle of the Jungle! Great family, couple or solo experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have stayed at Clarissa Falls multiple time. We have gone both as a family and as a couple looking for a romantic getaway. Chena and Mark make you feel like family and the cabanas have all the comforts of home. Chena's cooking is amazing and we always look forward to what she has made us! My husband loves her homemade hot sauce and brings home multiple bottles each visit. Our only complaint is that we always plan too short a stay!!! Looking forward to another visit next year!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

We spend three nights at Clarissa Falls Resort. The grounds are beautiful and the garden is well kept. The animals that live there (dogs, cats, chicken, tucan and other birds) make sure the insects and reptiles stay away. We had no bugs in the room at all, which was great for such a remote place. The restaurant had a menu, and also a main dish for groups. Enough to choose from, even for vegetarians. The dishes taste good and that is what matters the most. The lady and her family will make sure your stay is great. Pick a spot for a hammock and they will place it there. They will help you on the tours with the most experienced guides for a proper price. Overall we liked this place a lot.. And we have been to many great places before. Probably on of the best options for budget/midrange travelers like ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Clarissa Falls in the Cayo District is a place you'll return to. I took my 8-yr-old granddaughter for a week, so that we could be with her mom who was working on a nearby dig. A lifelong memory for all of us. Use taxis to go into town (San Ignacio) and back, or rent a car for travel in the region. About 90 minutes from the airport in Belize City, straight west. It is a real Belize experience -- gorgeous, not fancy, comfortable, and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

It is such difficult where to start... You are not going in the hotel when you pick Clarissa Falls, you're going to visit the most friendly belizean family... you are really feeling like a part of it and trust me, that is something you have to experience...

Villas are a bit rustic, but their location near to the river is fabulous. You have everything you need inside and you still feel like being in the nature. You live on a giant ranch, but don' t be afraid, bulls won' t come to give you good morning :-) Bus stop is about a mile away and all trips can be negotiated through your host family. Their choice of travel companies and ways of transport to area around was simply excellent and I totally recommend to get their advice, especially when going to Guatemala.

Food - simply WOW... You won' t taste a restaurant food here however the place calls itself a restaurant. You will have a great possibility of tasting a belizean and partly a mexican home cuisine and that is something you don' t want to miss. Escebeche and Relleno Negro soups are a must-try! Traditional belizean meal like rice-beans-meat is also perfect to fill your stomach and feel the place well. When you want to have a rest from a central-american food (never happened to me in Clarissa Falls) you always can pick some pasta or even a small pizza. Fresh juices, lemonade and Belikin beer were a necessary company to all those foods. And I had almost forgot - choice of breakfasts with freshly made home tortillas is just what you need after a good long sleep.

If we ever manage to get to the Cayo area again (from Central Europe it' s quite a long way) I am SURE, we will come and visit Chena, Mark and Linda again... our special thanks go to the permanent canadian guest Gary, who helped us a lot with the final part of our trip in Mexico. Thanks to you all, you made an unforgettable experience for us! Who knows, maybe one day we will join Gary and Rodger :-)

Room Tip: Riverside huts are all perfectly placed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I just confirmed our trip to the Cayo District of western Beliza with Chena the hostess at Clarissa Falls and I can't wait to go. Our Church has been doing mission work in this part of Belize for the last several years and half of the experience is Clarissa Falls. Chena, the Hostess and her family are the most accommodating folks that I have ever experienced. You come as a guest and leave as friends. This small resort probably only holds about 45 people and our groups average 20. You stay in thatched cabanas that are rustic but very adequate. There are 4 to 5 star resorts in the area but Clarrisa Falls is a simple genuine experience. It is situated on the Mopan River that always offers a bubbling roar. Tropical birds are eveywhere, toucan and parrots. Belizian food is a cross between Caribbean and Mexican. Chena's food is extraordinary and all homemade. The fresh tropical fruits and juices top the breakfast table. Our groups eat family style and every meal is an experience. This is a great launching point for all of the Maya archaeological sites in the area as well as day trips to Tikal Guatemala, river tubing and caving runs.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarissa Falls Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarissa Falls Resort

Address: George Price Highway | Mile 70, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarissa Falls is to the West of the Belize. It is 4 miles past San Ignacio town, and 2 miles from San Jose Succotz village, we are on the heart of a Private working cattle ranch with beauiful lush green pastures with rolling hills. Our thatched roof huts are hugged by the mopan river with the natural beauty of Flora and Fauna. The laid back setting combined with the existing peace creates a feeling of your heart meeting your soul to the sound of the cascading clarissa falls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clarissa Falls Hotel San Ignacio
Clarissa Falls Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarissa Falls Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Clarissa Falls Resort to your Saves list