We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service, peaceful and well-maintained.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Rock Lodge
Save
You added Black Rock Lodge to your Saves list
Negroman Road, San Ignacio 00001, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIAL 15% OFF!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Caye Corker, Belize, Belize
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Exceptional service, peaceful and well-maintained.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We came to canoe, ride horses and relax - we didn't quite expect to be pampered that much! Everyone was incredibly attentive, sweet and knowledgeable. Guides, bar and wait staff, office, everyone was equally friendly, providing personal and efficient service throughout. The whole place was impeccably clean, the grounds beautifully landscaped, with a natural, tropical jungle look and plenty of birds and wildlife. The food was nice and plentiful (ok, so we could have used a bit more of the salads - but the gorgeous desserts made up for it!). There were always two options for dinner, and a great many choices for the a la carte breakfasts and lunches. There are a lot of tours or activities offered on site and further afield, and the engaging staff will make it easy for you to pick the best ones. They will take you out just as a couple, no need to wait for a large group! There is a lot of staff on hand and you can decide and book just the evening before. Unfortunately, there are no more horses! This put a bit of a crimp in our plans, and I was not overly impressed to learn they had been gone for months and months - without updating the website! Horse riding is still offered with Hannas' Stable which is quite good, but it is a 30 min drive there (you will be picked up) and it's not the same tours. Oh well - no flour camp cave, but we really enjoyed our canoeing tour to Belize Botanical gardens, which was much larger and more professional than we had expected! Again, though, please BRL, update your website! Unaccompanied canoeing trips are not available anymore. On the other hand, if you're not as sure about your paddling skills as we were, you may appreciate the fact that now every single boat has a guide (and chief paddler) on board to guide you through the gentle rapids. All hiking trails were impeccably maintained, the night hike was a thrilling experience, and the tubing equipment is all new and safe - you get helmets, watershoes, and a life jacket. Our Deluxe cottage was incredibly large and tasteful, but missing some little comforts like a clothesline for wet bathing suits, a pitcher or cooler for water and a bit more light. It was conveniently located and quiet, but did not have a porch. Its' walls are mostly windows, and so this one may not be the best choice for honey mooners ;). We loved the quiet beach area, it is ideal for swimming, loafing, relaxing, there are hammock chairs and a nice new raft to drift lazily in the current and listen to bird song. The yoga platform is stunning, and there are mats provided for you. All in all, an amazing place for relaxing OR soft adventures, and we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    70
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
129
310
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmot, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Black Rock Lodge is in all ways wonderful, from the beautiful cabins and location to the unbelievably friendly staff and guides. Our adventurous family stayed an extra night and easily could have stayed more. The staff was amazing with our 8-year-old daughter (she came home and named her new pet hermit crab after one of the waiters), and she loved making friends while swimming in the river on the floating dock and rope swing. We recommend that everyone take advantage of the hike up the mountain behind the lodge, including the cave. We stayed in two of the cabins, and I couldn't haven chosen a favorite. We left Black Rock with amazing memories and a desire to return for more adventures (and a little girl who wishes she could have taken home the foal in the pasture down the hill from the lodge, Pancho, the lodge's German Shepherd, and the toucanet that was nesting outside our cabin). Thank you, Black Rock Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This review is VERY late, but I must share that this was one of the best travel experiences ever! The lodge is in a beautiful canyon overlooking a river, the restaurant and food were amazing (served family style and each night we were seated with different guests - great fun meeting other travelers) and the staff made me frozen coffee drinks - what a treat! Rooms were very romantic - loved the fresh flowers on the bed and hammocks outside on our private patio. Can't say enough good - hope to return someday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved Black Rock Lodge! The rooms were clean and beautiful, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the food was impeccable! Unfortunately, we only stayed for three nights. Wish we could've stayed longer. Great location in the middle of the jungle, yet not many bugs. Amazing hikes and swimming in the river that runs through. If you're going to Belize I would highly recommend Black Rock Lodge.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a beautiful toucan living in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I had my expectations really high for this place after reading about the reviews and they were truly met. I am very happy that i picked this place. The lodge was located in a perfect spot and with the best surroundings. The rooms were great and the service was even better. My fiancé was a little skeptical about the rooms because they were located in the middle of the forest and she was worried about geckos, and they completely took care of the situation and made us feel very comfortable. The dining and the bar service was excellent. People out there were very friendly and this would be a perfect getaway for hiking enthusiasts.

Room Tip: All rooms were similar and had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Writing from Caye Caulker after spending only 3 nights in Black Rock. Wish we had stayed longer! (Would have skipped staying at another Cayo place if I had known). Superb location in jungle with the best views and way off the beaten path. Though in jungle nearly no Mosquitos. A+++ customer service and I mean that! As a veteran traveller this was one of the best places I've ever been with regards to attention to your needs. Food was outstanding. I already want to return!

Cheaper to have them transport you to and from anywhere in Belize since they are off the beaten path. Other drivers will charge extra to get you there and back.

You can see much of Cayo from this place as your base. Isaiah was our guide for a couple of days and was wonderful. All their guides are professional and their tour prices are comparable to the other well ran tour companies. They use PACZ tours with Juan Carlos for ATM (I'd also highly recommend them when not staying at Black Rock).

It's really a nice blend of doing stuff on your own and at dinner getting to know other guests as you share meals. This and their Eco-friendly solar and wind power generated energy adds other special dimensions.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Incredible lodge, definitely worth staying here a few nights. Amazing grounds and location. Extremely helpful staff who go above and beyond helping you with whatever you need. Breakfast and Lunch are al la carte and excellent. Dinner is a choice of Meat of Vegetarian and is always delicious. Cabins are private and comfortable. The lodge is upscale, but you have to remember that you are staying in a jungle lodge. There are some great on-site activities and plenty of day trips to local sites if you are interested.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Lodge

Address: Negroman Road, San Ignacio 00001, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rock Lodge's stunning rainforest location offers unmatched opportunity for adventure. Whether canoeing the Macal River, horseback riding to Flourcamp Cave, or touring nearby Tikal & Caracol, guests are inspired by the diversity of the local wildlife, including over 320 bird species sighted on the property. Our commitment to environmental stewardship is evident in every aspect of your stay and our knowledgeable and friendly staff go above and beyond to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Rock Hotel San Ignacio
Black Rock Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Rock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.