We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great jungle lodge... If you can get there in one piece!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Rock Lodge

Save Saved
You added Black Rock Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Rock Lodge
Negroman Road, San Ignacio 00001, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER SPECIAL - 25% OFF!
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in San Ignacio
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great jungle lodge... If you can get there in one piece!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed for nearly a week in Nov/Dec 2013 and really liked the eco-friendly accommodations, family-style meals, delicious cuisine, beautiful scenery and warm personable staff. The road from the highway, however, was in atrocious condition. Like riding a bucking bronco. Six long miles of deeply rutted, relentlessly bumpy rocky road made bearable only by the pretty scenery. Our itinerary was packed with excursions, so we ended up traversing this road twice daily at 40 minutes a pop. As a result, it felt like every car trip took twice as long as it should've taken. I'm guessing this road discourages repeat customers, and that's too bad because it's a really nice place - once you get there!

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center but there is river tubing, hiking trails and mountain bikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    385
    63
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
242
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My boyfriend stayed here the last week in November.

Getting there/location: We flew into Philip SW Goldson Airport and a driver from the lodge was there to greet us. The lodge was about 2-2.5 hours from the airport (if you fly into Maya Flats airport, the lodge is only about 6 miles). On the way to the lodge we stopped at a grocery store (to pick up some snacks and drinks) and a restroom stop. Anastasio was our driver and so kind and very knowledgeable about Belize. He pointed out sights along the way and handled the last 8 miles to the lodge gracefully. The last 8 miles to the lodge is a rocky dirt road which you need an SUV or motorbike. It's a bumpy ride, but beautiful. The lodge is out in the jungle and you need transportation if you want to go anywhere off site. The lodge can provide transportation.

The property: It is absolutely stunning! The views everywhere are amazing! We stayed in a deluxe cabin (cabin 10) which was clean and comfortable. There was only one electrical plug in the room (they tr to stay eco friendly and run mainly on solar and hydro with a back-up generator). The cabins are completely screened in so large critters/bug won't make their way in. We only had a few ants which was normal. the beds were comfortable and the cleaning staff was nice and very prompt. The only suggestion for the room is to maybe some thicker curtains. Ours were made of sheer material so people could see in if they were walking by, but the cabins are private enough that it's not that big of an issue. We woke up to the sounds of the Macal River and birds chirping in the mornings.

Food: Delicious. Breakfast and lunch is ordered from a menu. For dinner two options are mainly available (a meat/fish or vegetarian dish). I am a vegetarian so I really enjoyed that a vegetarian option was always available. I am obsessed with their plantain curry soup--it was soo good--black rock lodge, if you read this, i would love your receipe :)

Activities: We did a day trip to Tikal, Guatemala through Pacz tours (it was booked before arriving at the lodge) but note that the lodge can also arrange a tour.--Note, if you have an early morning tour and want breakfast, let the kitchen know the night before. The rest of our days we hiked to Vaca Falls and a Cave (on the way to the Summit) both of which are on their property. We were going to tube (which is complimentary), but both nights there was heavy rain and the water seemed a bit rough.

Staff: EVERYONE was nice, helpful, and knowledgeable. If you want to know anything about birdwatching ask Elvis. Everyone seemed to take great pride and respect in the property.

I would DEFINITELY recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
457 reviews 457 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Unfortunately, we had only booked 3 nights and 2 full days. We used one to go to ATM and one for Tikal so we could not enjoy the location all that much.
This is not just a hotel. They are located in a remote area and the road to get there is not easy (7 bumpy miles). Once you get there you are in a different world. You really need to take time to take advantage of what nature has to offer. So many birds. Luckily you can observe many just off the deck while having a meal or drinks.
The room was good quality and large enough. The shower was warm. The only issue is the humidity due the environment. Clothes all become damp.
The food from the restaurant is very good and not expensive. At dinner there is a set menu and you eat with other guests which I found interesting.
They have wifi but not everywhere and the speed is excellent.
But the best aspect of it all is the staff. At any time and whether they are supposed to do it or not, they will point you any bird or animal that flies by. They are very enthusiastic about their work. Even as we were given a ride to Belize City, the driver spent the whole trip pointing some birds, telling us about Belize society and the geography of the country as we drove different part of Belize.
If ever we return to Belize, we need to return there. And it is quite amazing that the room rate as only US$75.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The transfers to and from the Belize City airport went smoothly. The staff for our 3 excursions, ATM, Tikal, and Caves Branch River tubing, were all very helpful, courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable! We didn't have to worry about a thing, even crossing the border for a day trip to Guatemala!
Staying out in the jungle with limited internet, no A/C, and the wildlife surrounding you was a great experience! Just make sure to bring repellent.
Meals were also good, especially meeting other guests at the family style dinner.
Big thanks to Peter and Beatrice for giving us a home away from home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was certainly one of the many highlights of our trip to Belize but certainly at the top of the list. Outstanding birding, staff, food and accommodations. It is quite a journey to get to the place but well worth the effort. All of the guides at Black Rock were very knowledgeable.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with Room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We booked the Lodge on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and we were glad that we did. We stayed longer than originally planned because so many people wished they'd had more time - again that was the right decision. As soon as we got there we loved everything about this place. The setting is stunning, the dining area has hummingbirds and toucans flying around it, and the friendly staff use telescopes to hunt out monkeys and other wildlife in the nearby trees. Unfortunately it rained before we arrived and a lot of the trips we planned were not possible due to floods - it didn't matter, we found plenty to do at the lodge and in San Ignacio. I was initially slightly put off by the "family style" dinners - guests are allocated to mixed tables every night. As it turned out that was the best bit - we spoke to so many interesting people from all sorts of countries and backgrounds and had a really enjoyable time. We stayed in one of the more basic cabins, but it was still beautifully put together and had everything we needed. I really can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a couple of nights. In total, we reserved 4 rooms for 13 people, and they mixed up one of our reservations when we arrived so that room got upgraded for free. The staff was super friendly and accommodating; we made a last minute decision to do a night hike and they worked with us to fit it in after dinner.

The lodge sits in the middle of a rainforest, and every one of our rooms had a gorgeous view that overlooked the river. You'll find one of the best spots to view the river is on the communal dining patio.

If you're looking for a swimming pool or a place free of bugs and geckos, you won't find it here. However, if you're looking for something that's a bit more adventurous and outdoorsy, this is the place.

Overall, the food was good for its price, the resort was beautiful and operated sustainably, and the staff was phenomenal. I would definitely go back to this oasis and wish we had one more day there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Rock Lodge

Address: Negroman Road, San Ignacio 00001, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Rock Lodge's stunning rainforest location offers unmatched opportunity for adventure. Whether canoeing the Macal River, horseback riding to Flourcamp Cave, or touring nearby Tikal & Caracol, guests are inspired by the diversity of the local wildlife, including over 320 bird species sighted on the property. Our commitment to environmental stewardship is evident in every aspect of your stay and our knowledgeable and friendly staff go above and beyond to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com so you can book your Black Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Rock Hotel San Ignacio
Black Rock Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Rock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.