We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jungle adventure not to be missed...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Chaa Creek to your Saves list
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Tehachapi, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jungle adventure not to be missed...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This was our first trip to Belize, and we wanted to experience both the jungle/inland culture as well as the ocean scene. I'm very glad we picked Chaa Creek for our stay on the mainland!

We were picked up at the airport & driven the 2 hour trip to the resort by private transport, which after a long day traveling was quite appreciated. It was nice to have a knowledgeble & friendly driver telling us about the countryside during our ride.

Our suite was quite large - we stayed in the Garden jacuzzi room. It was very nice after a long day visiting the Mayan temples to be able to relax in the tub in our room. My only complaint was the lack of hot water - while it was very warm there, it would've still been nice to take more than a military shower. Be prepared for the noise of the jungle - the sounds of birds, insects, and such was a bit to get used to, at first!

The staff was helpful, friendly, and professional. Our tour guides to Xunantunich & Caracol were well educated about the Mayan culture as well as the specific sites we visited. One guide told us the philosophy of management is that this resort is an ends, not a means. Most staff we talked to had worked there for 10 years or more, which says a lot about the people there.We also enjoyed the butterfly farm (what an experience to watch a butterfly emerge right before my eyes!) & small natural history museum. On our way to our next destination, we visited the Belize Zoo. It's a nice little place to spend an hour or so seeing some of the local wildlife rescued & rbeing ehabilitated there.

The restaurant menu was a bit limited for dinner, but what was offered was quite good. The lunch menu was much more varied & quite good, although we only ate there once in the mid-afternoon.

A lovely pool is located at the center of the resort - I really admired the beautiful blue tile work as well as the infinity-type waterfall cascading off one side.

Chaa Creek prides itself on it's ecological background, and it shows. We didn't take any of the nature hikes or tours, but I'm sure they're just as informative as the temple tours we enjoyed.

If you want to experience the jungles of Belize and stay at an upscale spa/resort, I would definitely recommend Chaa Creek!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    99
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
246
335
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Six traveling friends just got back from 6 nights at Chaa Creek. We stayed in the Orchard Villa which was lovely. The decor was nice, the bathrooms great. We had a porch for evening get togethers and drinks. The staff were all incredible. Also the naturalists and excursion staff made our stay extra special. We especially enjoyed Tikal and ATM. The food was wonderful including the cook to order breakfasts and the home made breads. We were fortunate to tour some of the other rooms and even the standard rooms were beautiful. The new pool was quite enjoyable but a bit of warning that the travertine tile is quite slippery. Free internet is available via two computers which are a bit slow but provide connectivity back to home which was great. Several of us enjoyed the spa and I was pleasantly surprised that my "coma" massage was excellent. The only possible negative is the majority of the offsite tours are quite a ride away. Sometimes hours on not so great roads. But it was still all worth it. Can't say enough good things about Chaa Creek and the staff. I will definitely be back some day!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We went here for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon and everything about this place was outstanding. The rooms, the setting, the food, the staff. It was the best experience I have ever had..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Spent 6 nights in Chaa Creek at the beginning of May....and loved it! We had four nights in the Spa villa and 2 nights in a Treetop Suite, with the rest of our party staying in Orchard Villa. As a large party (11 people), we were treated amazingly by the staff at Chaa Creek. They were always courteous and made sure that we were enjoying ourselves! When one of the party was ill, one of the staff went out of their way to make a special ginger tea and take down plain food to help her feel better.

As we had our own minibus, we spent several days out in the surrounding area so did not partake in any of the trips offered by the hotel. We experienced the canoeing which was great fun and saw a lot of wildlife, including massive iguanas!

The accommodation was beautiful. Towel and flower decorations were in each room. Whilst we were lucky enough to have air conditioning in the spa villa, the ceiling fans in the Treetop suites kept us cool enough, especially as there are no windows as such, but simply mesh which allows the air in, and the bugs out!

Bar prices were not too expensive for a private hotel and the food was beautiful. There is a good choice of food for breakfast and an extensive lunch menu. We only dined in the hotel one evening but the food was magnificant and although slightly expensive and with a set menu, it was well worth it!

I would not hesitate in going back to this hotel.... as long as I could afford it!

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a week in Chaa creek for our honeymoon. We had a grand time, and armed with some knowledge from this trip, we would definitely return again...and again.

The Best Parts:
The staff - always had a smile, were knowledgeable on every topic we questioned, and went above and beyond to accomodate all of our needs
The cottages - The Macal Cottage -- beautiful and lavish in everyway (but a little close to the other cottages), and the Spa Villa was like a home away from home with much better views!
The variety - Their website tells you of all the things to do, so I won't reiterate, but make sure to take a private horseback ride through the property... absolutely breathtaking, relaxing... and just bliss.
The location - two hours out of Belize and into the jungle wild! You are surrounded by nature and all its hidden treasures. The bird call in the morning is just about the coolest thing I've ever heard, and the night sky filled with stars will take your breath away.

The very few, minor minuses :)

The food - it was hit or miss...the quality of food was awesome, fresh and homegrown, but the preparation of the food ran the gamut from extraordinary to pedestrian. This was only an issue because you don't really have any other options for food unless you want to pay a $50 round trip into the city for alternative dining.
The price - I don't really have a complaint about the price, more of a just pay attention! and prepare your bank account. Chaa posts the prices for all the tours and extras, including the Spa and food...so there are no surprises, but the pricetag for the tours can be a bit hefty after a week of excursions. We booked as many tours as possible with other guests to get a break on the transportation costs, and saved some money (about $200).

All in all, our experience was joyous, and will be duplicated in the future. During our week we went to the ruins at Tikal and Xunantunich, cave tubing at Jaguar Paw, horseback riding through the jungle, canoed into San Ignacio, enjoyed a lovely Spa visit, and ended with some time off for rest and relaxation. We didn't even come close to partaking in all Chaa Creek has to offer, and hope to return soon to try again.

The Flemings have created a beautiful oasis with a warm, friendly, inviting atmosphere that feels like an alternate universe in which only peace and serenity are your constant companions. For this, we thank you!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Great time at Chaa Creek. Must say that the beautiful views and accommodations were only eclipsed by the wonderfully helpful and pleasant staff. Fantastic on site adventures to be had including day and night tours, kayaking, bird watching, butterflies and more. Rides around town and to local attractions are no problem-cave tubing, zip line, Mayan ruins, name it.

Let's get back to the staff. Picture sitting on your casita deck, lounging in a hammock reading a book, and out of the blue, the bartender appears with your favorite beer and a drink for your wife. And best part, he came back with round 2. Special calls out to Amir, Miguel, and Joe.

Note - we had our 3 year old with us, and he loved it. Couldn't have been safer and more kid friendly. There weren't any other toddlers on site, and he got the royal treatment from staff and other patrons alike.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

My husband & I spent a week at Chaa Creek and can't wait to return. It is worth the two hour drive into the interior of the country!

The staff is so pleasant and customer-service oriented. We were greeted at the airport by the driver that we arranged through the resort. He was helpful and informative on the drive to the resort. Upon arrival, our bags were taken to our room as we checked in. The front desk clerk personally showed us to our cottage and gave us a brief tour of the property.

Our cottage was what I describe as rustic luxury. Very nice, but don't forget you are in the middle of the rain forest! You will see geckos and ants and other critters. We loved hearing the sounds of the birds each morning waking us up and the private outdoor shower was amazing. There are hammocks for each cottage and we enjoyed our time in those!

The concierge is wonderful. Willing to help with any request. They arranged several activities for us and the arrangements were flawless. We spent a day at Mayan ruins at Tikal in Guatemala (highly reccomend this!), a day at the spa (outdoor massage was wonderful!) and cave tubing at Jaguar Paw (so cool and fun!). It is pricey to arrage it through the resort and I'm sure you can do the same things for cheaper, but it was worth the additional expense for the days off the property to be so well organized.

The staff makes an effort to get to know you and we really enjoyed our servers at dinner (Selbin and Salvador) as well as the bartenders (Saul & Amir). The food ranged from good to wonderful. They have a nice wine selection (except by the glass) and have a featured drink of the day that was always delicious.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the new pool is wonderful. I overheard a staff member saying that they plan to install a huge palapa poolside in the near future. That will be a great addition! It did get quite hot at times, but with the breezes and the ceiling fans, we were never truly uncomfortable. I can imagine the cooler months are heavenly!

There is so much to do, you will never get bored, but the best thing to do is relax! It is the best place I have ever been to go "unplug". No phones, no tvs, no cell phones! They do have computers for guests to use if your are desparate for internet access. :)

I had a ton of photos that I was going to upload, but unfortunately, I lost my camera on the flight home. That was the only bad thing about this trip. I guess we will have to go back so I can get more photos!

Get there as fast as you can...you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.5 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
9.3 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
4.0 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#3 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Chaa Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.