We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure - UnBelizeable!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Chaa Creek to your Saves list
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure - UnBelizeable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I started our honeymoon vacation with a 3 night stay at The Lodge at Chaa Creek. I could not believe how beautiful this resort in the rainforest was. The room we stayed in was a wonderful retreat, despite the no air-conditioning. The fans sufficed :) The staff was incredible. Everyone was knowledgeable about anything and everything, they were very helpful and professional. The salt water pool was beautiful and felt amazing. The food was excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer, and we long to go back! Thank you Chaa Creek - we LOVED our experience entirely. :)

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Garden Suite. It was the perfect location, slightly away from others and sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    98
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
243
335
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The staff at Chaa Creek are wonderful, actually everything about our trip was outstanding. Miguel who picked us up at the airport and took us on one of our day excursions was
excellent. We stayed in the
macal cottage, it suited us very well. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Awesome location. Could of stayed longer. If you do the ATM tour, ask for Hugh as your guide. Awesome experience. Canoe into town and hike the trails. Get up early. There are many birds on site and we heard howler monkeys everyday. Indoor showers were great but we also had an outdoor shower. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

From the time we got picked up at the airport to the day we left we felt very fortunate to have planned a trip to this little slice of Heaven !
It is a Eco Lodge that is run very well !
The food was over the top good...using local ingredients!
Our trips off property all went smooth and never had a worried moment.
Like a trip to Tikal was a wonderful experience to see the Mayan Ruins...a must!
Cheers to you all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was our third trip to Chaa Creek and we have never been dissapointed. It is a stunning place and meticulously taken care of. The staff are friendly, prompt and there to help. We stay in the casitas at the Macal River Camp for a more rustic experience. The host and his family are wonderful. They provide great food and anything else you need to make your experience more comfortable. The restaurant and pool are first class. I recommend Chaa Creek to anyone looking for a great Rainforst Experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I visited The Lodge at Chaa Creek last week – June 5-9th. We were picked up at the airport and we received a warm welcome upon arrival with a delicious drink and an aromatic cold towel. We felt the moment we arrived the serenity of being in the rain forest and knew this was going to be everything we expected. And it was and then some…
We stayed in the treetop suite, which was large and comfortable. King size bed and two pull-out sofa’s so plenty of room for families. Equipped with a blow dryer, plenty of towels, soaps, shampoo, coffee and water. The suite is screened in, with a large ceiling fan that was perfect. We were given complimentary metal water bottles. We had a wraparound porch with an outdoor Jacuzzi, umbrella, lounge chairs and an incredible view of the river and the rainforest/jungle. We actually slept better than ever. No TV. For those TV junkies, I can tell you that I quickly adapted and did not miss knowing what was going on around the world. It was actually a pleasure to be able to reflect at the end of the day all the things we enjoyed; as well as being able to spend a little time catching up on a good book. And yes, there is wireless internet connection if you must tweet, check emails, FB, etc…..
There are many pro’s to this lovely eco-friendly award winning resort, if you are looking to enjoy incredible scenic views of the forest, nature in its natural habitat, and extremely warm, accommodating staff that their goal is to treat their guests exceptional. We walked around the resort when we arrived to get acclimated, and to our delight, saw beautiful hummingbirds and other species of very active birds everywhere, a troop of howler monkeys and iguana’s. They all become your friend after a while..
We had no rain, and no problem with insect bites the whole time there. We did spray some deet on us just in case depending on what we were doing.
I noticed there were people from every walk of life staying here; including families with children, couples, photographers and single people. So this is a place to be visited by everyone. Expect to do a lot of walking which certainly helped me to sleep like a baby at night!
We did the horseback riding through the forest (so much fun even if you are a novice rider), a 7-mile canoe ride down the river into town which led you into the little village. You will enjoy the beauty and wildlife as you go down this gentle river. That day was market day so we enjoyed walking and learning the culture. We ate food from one of the street vendors, and not only was it delicious and fresh, but the gentlemen was endearing and kind. Although everyone speaks English here, Spanish is another language spoken of course, and I enjoyed talking to him in my broken Spanish. He was so appreciative of my effort too. We did the night creature walk, which was a blast; and saw tarantulas, scorpions, owls, foxes, and other creatures of the night. Another must do. There is a medicine trail where you will learn about plants and trees and how the Mayans used these to cure people. There is a lovely butterfly sanctuary you can visit as well up near the Spa. All activities are on the 350 acre natural reserve property so you never have to leave.
Things to bring: hiking shoes or sneakers, tank tops, shorts, bathing suits, sunblock, sun dress; but nothing too fancy, t-shirts, cap/hat, flip flops/comfortable sandals, deet just in case, light windbreaker with a hood, light long pants if you are going to horseback ride or do the night creature walk.
We did most activities with a Chaa Creek Guide which was educational; and they pointed out things you wouldn’t see if you did it on your own. Just schedule with the folks at the concierge’s desk.
The Spa. We did a 90 minute Coma massage; an appropriate name which totally relaxed us like a mind eraser. Done outside with the sounds of nature; birds of all kind, and the gentle wind blowing; we went back for a second one before we left! We also did a facial and a manicure. These lovely ladies greet you with water or a delicious tea; beautiful flowers are the décor around the Spa placed artistically in different places. You may climb up the 144 steps in you’d like a good workout (the second treatment I asked the front desk for a ride up the road to get there!) Again, a must do while there. They do not sell product like other spas, so no one pushing you to buy anything.
There is a very nice large salt water pool, where you can have lunch brought to you as well. We enjoyed the pool at the end of our day of adventures which was just perfect. There is also a nice outdoor bar where you can chat with the other guests, having an inviting tropical drink made with indigenous fresh fruit and listen to some music.
The food was great; breakfast, lunch and dinner. We enjoyed on Sunday the traditional beans, rice, stewed chicken and potato salad. You must try the Dragon Fruit too. I couldn’t get enough of this.
I want to end this with the staff and thank them. I tried to remember everyone, and they made us feel like family. Bryoney runs this resort for the most part now, and is an owner/owners’ daughter. First day we were there, she came over to us and welcomed us, and gave a first account history of how the resort started and grew. I greatly admire her and how she truly cares about how her guests feel during their stay. Genuine and endearing; I enjoyed talking with her throughout our stay! Going down the list, Rosanna/Restaurant Supervisor, Jessica/Waitress, Jesus/ Operations Manager, Emmel/ Horseback riding guide, Goldburn/ Medicine Walk and Night creature walk, Shenny/Concierge Supervisor, and Alan/Canoe guide. Each of them and the others I may not have remembered their names, were at the top of their game, and also one of the reasons to want to go back; which we will…..

Room Tip: All rooms are good with unique qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Chaa Creek's Macal River Camp. The camp is a fraction of the price of the lodge, but you get all the same services and use of the resorts facilities. It's quite a deal! We arrived in San Ignacio by bus from Belize City and took a taxi to Chaa Creek. The taxi cost $50 BZD. The lodge is about a 15 minute drive from the town, part of the way is on a dirt road.

When we checked in we were given cool towels and juice. We let the friendly and helpful receptionist know that we would like to take the medicinal trail, butterfly farm and natural history museum tour (free for guests) that afternoon. She arranged for a guide to meet us at the camp. Shortly after arranging our tour, the man that runs the camp picked us up and drove us to the camp. Our cabin was fairly large and clean. It had 4 beds and a balcony with a hammock and chairs. The bathrooms, showers and dining hall were a very short walk away. Our guide met us at the camp and took us to the medicinal trail, butterfly farm and natural history museum (see separate review). The guide was very knowledgeable about the local plants. We were amazed at what some of these plants can be used for. The medicinal trail runs between the camp and the lodge. It takes about 10 minutes to walk between the two. The guided tour takes about an hour. The guide walked us up to the the butterfly farm and natural history museum. He explained to us about the morpho butterflies, then let us browse the museum.

We decided to do the early morning bird walk (free!) and canoe trip to San Ignacio our second day at Chaa Creek. The guide for the bird walk was very passionate about birds. He knew every bird that we saw and also had a bird book available. We were provided binoculars and the guide had a large scope that he used to show us the birds. We saw a wide variety of beautiful birds including a toucan! The bird watching lasted a couple of hours. The guide was so passionate about birds that he went past the end time for the tour. After the tour finished, we arranged with the lodge to take the canoes from Chaa Creek to San Ignacio (approximately 6.5 miles). The canoes, paddles and life jackets were in good condition. The river is fairly calm with a few sections of small rapids. We did have to paddle most of the time since there wasn't much current in the river. Being on the river was beautiful. We were surrounded by the jungle and saw lots of birds, a turtle and insects. We were pretty tired by the last mile or so. Just take it easy and enjoy. Upon arriving in San Ignacio, we were met by the Chaa Creek staff. They took the canoe, life jackets and paddles from us. Prior to our canoe trip we arranged a pickup later in the day so we could check out San Ignacio. We visited the Iguana Conservation Project (see review). The Chaa Creek staff member picked us up from there at the designated time. After returning to Chaa Creek, we went swimming in the beautiful pool. Definitely use the pool at least once during your stay. It's quite nice.

The last day at Chaa Creek we took a transfer from the lodge to Belize City. We booked the transfer through the lodge that included a stop at Xunantunich and the Belize Zoo. Our driver/guide for this transfer was really good. We assumed that he was only our driver and we would explore the ruins and zoo alone. However, we were pleasantly surprised when he gave us a very good private tour of both. We arrived at Xunantunich as soon as it opened. We were the only tourists there for a few minutes. It's a beautiful place and worth a visit with an excellent Chaa Creek guide. The driver/guide was kind enough to let me shop at the craft stands next to the entrance of Xunantunich for about 45 minutes. We continued on to the zoo and enjoyed our visited there too. After the zoo, our driver dropped us off at the water taxi station.

The camp was sufficient for us, but if you are looking for luxury the lodge is the best option for you. There is no electricity in the cabins, but oil lamps are provided for light in the evenings. I recommend bringing a flashlight since it can be quite dark once the lamps are blown out. There are no locks on the door so take your valuables with you or bring a lock for your suitcase. There are lots of cool insects around the camp and a few in the cabin. The mosquitoes weren't too bad. The man and his wife that ran the camp were great cooks. The wife makes very tasty cakes for dessert. Breakfast and dinner were included in our rates. We never went to bed hungry. If you decide to stay in the lodge, you can eat at the camp for a cheaper rate than the lodge restaurant.

All staff that we had contact with at the lodge were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The staff that we talked to all liked working at Chaa Creek and had been there for several years. From what we heard, the owners treat their staff well. For example, the man who runs the river camp had to take his daughter to the US for medical treatment for several months. Once he returned to Belize, his job was waiting for him.

We only had one minor issue when booking our trip. I had emailed Chaa Creek our credit card information, but our card was never charged and we didn't receive a confirmation email. A few days before we were to leave on our trip another lady contacted us stating that our reservation would be canceled without payment. We quickly emailed her back and she fixed our reservation.

Overall, we loved Chaa Creek and will definitely be back if we visit Belize again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.5 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
9.3 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
4.0 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#3 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Chaa Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.