We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family retreat, away from it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lodge at Chaa Creek to your Saves list
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful family retreat, away from it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Tranquil, yet family oriented. Felt like we were almost all alone although there were many other families, couples, mother/daughter pairings, this place is for everyone. If you want to be adventurous and go cave tubing, zip lining, canoeing, hiking, etc, you can. On the other hand, if you care to be more quiet, sit by the pool, visit the butterfly farm and generally relax, this is ALSO the place to be. We are a family of 6 and stayed in the Orchard Villa which suited us perfectly! Two queen beds and a loft upstairs with 2 more twin beds. Bathroom upstairs and also down making it convenient. We did our share of relaxing at the pool which the kids loved but we also took advantage of the great concierge at Chaa. Touring the Mayan ruins, day tripping to Tikal, Guatemala, zip lining and tubing through the caves and more. And the nice part about the end of each day, was coming back to the lounge and bar area to relax, use the wifi, have a drink and unwind. Food and drink at the Mariposa, along with all of the servers, was wonderful! All in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    86
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
183
276
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our family stayed at the Macal River Camp March15-17 in a tent with 4 comfortable twin beds. The tents, separate bathrooms, and showers were all clean. Breakfast and dinner were provided and were good. Purified water was also provided, so we regularly filled up our water bottles before our adventures. We went canoeing, hiking, swimming, and visited nearby Mayan ruins. Night time is interesting: I'm a light sleeper and so felt a little sleep-deprived by the time we checked-out. I packed ear plugs but decided not to use them because I wanted to experience the jungle and all it's nocturnal noise. Everyone else slept pretty well. We could have easily stayed at Chaa Creek, but I wanted my children, ages 16 and 21, to have the camping experience. They loved it! It is nice to have the amenities of Chaa Creek a few minutes away. We all would have liked to stayed longer, but we can always go back again. I would highly recommend staying here, particularly if you are active and love the great outdoors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Lodge at Chaa Creek is beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. The grounds are well kept with plenty to do. Trails to run and hike, a butterfly farm, canoes and a spa. The cabana's are spacious and the food at the restaurant is delicious. Also, the tour guides are knowledgeable, professional and fun. I'd recommend going to ATM and Xunintentchal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Beautiful, relaxing, perfect combination of resort and jungle adventure. The guides were very knowledgable and personable. Staff were courteous and helpful. Lovely pool area with wait staff. Perfect for Mimosas by the pool after an adventure trip to the ATM Caves or the waterfalls.

Room Tip: Really can't go wrong but be aware if you choose the "camp" lodging, it's very rus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

It was my second time there. The environment is beautiful and peaceful. The staff is wonderful. Everything was just magical. Be aware there is no air conditioning. It was 106 degrees (April) but they turned on the air conditioning in the conference center for us during mid day. And the weather cooled off nicely at night and in the morning. This was a heat wave, I think it was very unusual. We did Barton's Creek Cave and that was awesome. Also Xanantunich was excellent. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Thomaston, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Macal Camp Casitas at Chaa Creek is a very good value. We loved it. You get the best of both worlds- access to the high resort of Chaa Creek including the pool, bar, restaurant and tours but instead of sleeping in a fancy hotel you get to "glamp" in the jungle. It's like a summer camp sorta. The hospitality that the manager, Dosio offers and the food that his wife (and family) Fran cooks is the very best in Belize. These are amazing people and an amazing place. We spotted howler monkeys, a kinkajou, parrots, toucans and a blue crowned motmot right there at our camp. If you enjoy camp fires and summer camp atmosphere this is the place for you and so inexpensive for what you get! Do know that the short 15 minute hike up the medicine trail that connect Macal Camp to the rest of the Chaa Creek resort is rather strenuous with lots of steps.

Room Tip: All are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Rooms beautiful and clean! Service excellent!!!! Surreal environment. Very knowledgable guides. Friendly staff. Luxurious pool settings. Wide range of family activities. Prince Harry stayed here. Next stop Matachica Resort.

Room Tip: Didn't know there was a fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Chaa Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.