We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Jungle Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Chaa Creek to your Saves list
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Hidden Jungle Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I arrived at Chaa Creek after an exciting 2 hr ride from Belize City and we were very impressed by the grounds and the friendliness of the employees. Our room was very nice and with the ceiling fans made it perfect for sleeping at night. The bar was well stocked and the bartenders were very nice. Had many new rum drinks. The food at the restuarant was limited but delicious and the wait staff, beautiful Belizean women during the day and men at night, were very efficient and friendly. We took the Mayan tour to Xunatunich and it was amazing. We also did the medicinal plant tour and it was very informative. The rain forrest is beautiful and a world of its own. We swam in the over the top infinity pool, and had excellent pool side bar service. We met the owners, Mick & Lucy Fleming, and they were very gracious and friendly. Their story of how they started with nothing and created this paradise on earth is one to hear. We were there only 3 days, but will be longer next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    86
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
182
276
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Lodge at Chaa Creek is a luxurious gem hidden in the jungle of western Belize. The food was outstanding. Not a huge selection, but very good. All vegetables come from their own organic garden. I recommend the limeade which comes from a neighboring lime grove! Our cottage had a verandah, with hammocks available. And we also had an outdoor shower in addition to the regular indoor shower.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Kudos to the concierge staff who helped us organize day trips and activities.

Love being awakened to the sound of howler monkeys and toucans!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our family of 6, as well as our friends (total 12 people) spent 4 days at The Lodge at Chaa Creek in March 2013. The grounds are spectacular and the rooms (casitas) are done in a simply beautiful Belizean design. We cannot say enough about the pool, we just loved unwinding in it after a day of jungle excursions. The food? Incredible. Some of the best meals we as family have ever had...our table was always ready and waiting for us. We really enjoyed our excursions - canoeing down the Macal River, tubing the Caves Branch System, ziplining over the jungle tree tops, walking amongst the 'Creatures of the Night', and going to the markets in San Ignacio. But we especially enjoyed our tour into Tikal, Guatemala - that was a day we will never forget. And the staff? So kind, so helpful, and so much fun! Especially ERRIN, who looked after our every need, always seemed to know just what we needed, and the kids thought he was just 'the best'. Thank you, Errin, you made our stay even better.
We highly recommend The Lodge at Chaa Creek!

Room Tip: Book a treetop room for your kids - they will love sleeping above the jungle tree tops :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent a lovely week at Chaa Creek lodge as part of our honeymoon. The staff could not have been more accommodating, knowledgeable and friendly and both the cottage and food were truly first rate. The onsite activities were well organised and it was easy to arrange offsite activities. A visit to Xunantunich is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our stay at Lodge at Chaa Creek was a wonderful experience that I will always remember. We had a very active vacation... each day we were waking up early for either a tour or bird watching, but the time that we did spend at the lodge was incredibly relaxing. The rooms have large screened windows that don't have shutters, so you hear all the sounds of the jungle each morning and throughout the night at times, and that adds to the very unique experience. Waking up each morning to sound of the birds (although loud!) was a very cool experience! We participated on the on-site activities; sunset canoeing, early morning bird watching, horseback riding, the spa, as well as 2 off-site tours that included Xunantunich as well as the amazing Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM Cave) Tour. All the guides that we had whether on property, or off property were really, really great... (Hi Ricky!) They are all so knowledgeable and passionate about their country, that it just makes me want to come back to Belize and to the lodge again and again. The staff at Chaa Creek were all so unbelievably friendly, kind, and accommodating - I've never been to a place like this and I can't recommend it enough! Thank you Chaa Creek!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Chaa Creek was an oasis of luxury in the middle of the Belize jungle. The accomodations were very nice, the staff very friendly, the food good for a resort and the guides very knowledgeable. Our family of 5 (parents and 3 30 somethings) were very happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our family just spent four amazing nights at the Macal River Camp. At night we were fed wonderful dinners and went to sleep hearing howler monkeys, birds, frogs, and more. We awoke to a delicious breakfast each morning. Dosio was the person in charge of the river camp and he was the most caring host you could wish for. He said that when he leaves he is constantly thinking of his guests and what they may need, I believe that is quite true. Our first day we paddled the canoes down river to San Ignacio and walked through the market. We went to Tikal and ATM, both easily accessible from Chaa Creek. When we came back we would take the medicine trail over to the higher end part of Chaa Creek and swim in the gorgeous pool. A perfect balance for our family, rustic yet easy access to amenities. We did a Night Crawler walk with a naturalist on staff and saw all kinds of animals. I would highly recommend staying here if you are wanting a more authentic and adventurous stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Chaa Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.