We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belize Highlight !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Chaa Creek to your Saves list
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Belize Highlight !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's all been said. This place set's the bar. Our only complaint is we only had 3 nights here. The river camp casita's is where it's at if your on a budget - middle of the road traveler. We got spoiled with 2 nights we had the entire camp to ourselves ! Felt like a true King & Queen ! The value at $55 u.s. p/p is really incredible when you see what you get for it. The setting alone is worth double but then add the 2 incredibly, authentic meals that in our opinion were better than the lodge's restaurant. (to be fair we never ate big meals at the lodge - we had no reason too) Dosio & his lovely wife make you feel welcome. Included is amazing early morning bird watching tour from the most skilled guides in country. We highly recommend you get your butt up early and do this tour. The also included inner tube down the river was worth doing once. This time of year the river is shallow and slow moving, so have patience. We didnt see as much wildlife by the river as we expected but still a fun included activity. For $45 u.s. a beautiful horse tour to the Maya organic farm was certainly a value added experience. Well looked after horses, and again first rate guides made this tour a winner. Quality of sleep was unmatched. Hot water showers and running water even ! We cant say enough about the staff at this paradise. No one expected or seemed like they even wanted a tip, which is all the more reason we tipped 20% everywhere and were happy to do it. These people make you want to be better people and are a joy to be around, pic's & vid to follow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    86
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
183
276
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My new favorite hotel. It was so relaxing. I love that they only have 23 villas and are committed to providing top service to their guests. You mention that something needs to be done and go to say your name, and they say 'we know who you are'. Such wonderful personal service. So professional. Also liked the way that meals were handled where by a menu was set for the day and you ate within the time frame that the meal was offered, at your own table. No worry of turnover. Much like a cruise. The food was FABULOUS!! We also booked tours through them and they were great, complete, and the guides were well educated. The pool is gorgeous. Just wish we had more time there.

Room Tip: Theres no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Macal river camp and absolutely loved it! The balcony of our casita faced into the jungle, and we spent hours in the hammock and on our porch chairs watching the birds and listening to the howler monkeys. Dosio and his family prepared wonderful local meals twice a day- we felt like we were practically guests in their home. We loved having the amenities of a fancy hotel (sitting by the infinity pool, sipping drinks), but the experience of jungle camping. We joined the bird watching one morning at the lodge, and we enjoyed going to the butterfly farm and nature center (we planned to spend 15 min, but we were there for more than an hour!) The family style dinners and hanging out at the campfire allowed us to connect with other travelers. If prices at the lodge and the camp were the same, we would still have chosen the camp!

Room Tip: We thought that casitas 6, 7, and 8 were the best locations. They all feel fairly private and face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

For 8 days I wasn't sure what planet I was on - it was so "outta this world". From the first moment after landing these folks took fabulous care of you without making you feel the slightest bid odd. While a long trip to the lodge from the airport, the number of birds sighted by our driver and guide (actually I think he has a Ph.D. in ornithology) was nothing short of awesome - scissor-tailed flycatcher, all the colours herons come in, chacalacas and kiskadees - and many more (toucans- keel billed and parrots!).
Then the bugs - which I usually don't care for. Amazing. Glow-bugs 10X the size of fireflies at home - darting so fast and so bright. Tarantulas all over the place. Big Blue butterflies (morphos). Caves and rivers and botanical gardens and organic farms (where the compost gets up to 150 degrees!).
And then there was the eats. You have NEVER had coconut goat's milk yogurt like this anywhere. The menus where overwhelmingly imaginative - and organic. Even the vegetarian grand daughter was thrilled with her choices (NOT easy to do!).

We did do all the tours and that was fabulous too. I learned a lot about Mayan culture and dispelled many myths. And the jungle plant medicine walk was a super eye-opener.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside shower. The howler monkeys are unavoidable in any room - and why wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a unique place and a good value for this area of Belize. Screened platform tents are basic and comfortable, showers, sinks and toilets are a short walk down a path from the tents. Eating is at a covered area in the middle of the camp, you get 2 meals a day (breakfast and dinner) included with your rate, drinks are a bit extra but they do have a basic bar (rum & cokes are fantastic!). There's a fire pit which is a lovely place to hang out after dark, gazing at the stars and enjoying the warmth of the fire. A short hike down a steep path takes you to the river and canoes, and a longer hike up the path takes you to the luxurious chaa creek resort, with gorgeous pool, decadent spa, and internet available in the computer lounge. The restaurant there is so-so (I like the food at camp way better!), but the bar is great. All the concierge-arranged excursions are available as well. Perhaps the best part of the camp is Docio and his family, who take such good care of all the guests. They are treasures. This type of lodging is really only for active, able-bodied folks who are not afraid of jungle life. If you don't want the occasional spider in your room, stay somewhere else. But, if you can hack this wildlife, this is an amazing experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Chaa Creek and in Belize! The staff at Chaa Creek made sure every want and need was satisfied during our stay and the facility was beautiful! My husband and I and our 7-year old daughter ALL loved every part of our experience. We purchased a family vacation package but decided not to do some of the tours because we had so many things to do right from or at the Lodge that we didn't want to journey too far afield (who knew a 7 year-old might prefer the beautiful pool to a 2 1/2 hour drive to Mayan ruins :-))! Unless you know for sure you will do the tours it is not economical to purchase the all-inclusive package - but it did save a lot of hassle since everything was included that we wanted to do! We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: We had been hoping to be in the Treetop Suites but booked too late so ended up in a Cottage Room - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Starting with 108 degree temperature on arrival was not the way to start our stay at Chaa Creek since we stayed in cabins about 10 minutes hike from the main cabins and grounds. Since the cabins do not have electricity, it wasn't the most comfortable in the heat. The Mayan family served very nice breakfasts and dinners at the camp each day and were very friendly and accommodating. Staying in the cabins gave us an opportunity to get to know other travelers who were seeking a similar experience. Chaa Creek is a beautiful place with incredible birding led by terrific guides. I loved the on-site tours that were offered as well as the opportunity to use canoes to go up or downriver. The 3 hour nature tour of the grounds was very informative, and we had the guide to ourselves. There is a nice pool on the main grounds. Food in the restaurant is good, but a bit expensive for our budget. Our complaint was that it is expensive transportation to get to and from Chaa Creek and it seemed that drinks and meals were on the high end. Also, it was not easy to organize transportation as Chaa Creek wanted a signature to charge transport to my credit card even though we had paid our room in advance, and since we had been traveling for several weeks, we were unable to do that. It was not made easy for us and was confusing on both ends. It was just a bit unnerving for us. Overall, it was a good experience.

Room Tip: If you want to feel like you are camping, then Macal River Camp is for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Chaa Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.