We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start for our first to Belieze!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Chaa Creek to your Saves list
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Deer Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect start for our first to Belieze!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by warm and friendly people. The grounds were beautiful and we instantly felt like we were in a jungle paradise. The service oriented staff was fantastic. Miguel provided transportation and fantastic tour guiding services. Erin at the pool, Alan on night tour, Jessica and other restaurant staff were superb. Drinks and food were great, with drink specials and a variety of menu choices each day. Our children enjoyed the grounds and seeing lots of wildlife. Our biggest surprise was the huge salt water pool. Spa was tranquil and the butterfly farm was worth seeing. Research timing of your visit as it can be very warm during dry season.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    99
    25
    9
    4
See reviews for
245
335
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was our first stop in Belize.. and we didn't want to leave! The resort is incredibly beautiful, totally peaceful and serene. I can't say enough good things! The staff was very friendly and felt almost like family by the end of only 3 days. The food was delicious! Our room was spacious, open and really set the tone for our trip- beds were super comfy and the tall thatched roofs were really unique and airy. We enjoyed several excursions while we were there including a cave tour, horseback riding to the ruins and canoeing down the river. The open air restaurant and bar were the perfect spot to relax before and after our adventures. Dwane makes some of the best drinks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our second visit to Chaa Creek was like coming home. We saw familar faces of people who work there and felt comfortable. Our first day, we lounged by the pool. it is warm, all the same depth, for swimming and the children's pool is the water fall caused by the overflow. We had lunch poolside and felt like we were in heaven with all the birds and howler monkeys in the distance. The second day we rode horses and saw so many birds .Thanks to Robert, we saw a mother Howler monkey up in the trees with 2 little babies. Robert could not have been more attentive to this senior citizen who has never rode a horse. The third day we embarked on a fatastic day with Lazarius to his home on Vaca Lake for the pontoon ride. I can't praise Lazarius enough for the memories he gave me and my husband. The day was filled with laughter and surprise and the waterfalls and the walk up the last one was the dessert. Thank-you Lazarus from the bottom of my heart for literally helping me "every step of the way" and providing the walking sticks. You said we were "pioneers" as this is a new venture for you, and I know that with your help and guidance many more people young and old will enjoy your backyard and want to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here in August 2012. Stayed in both the campsite for one night and upgraded to a cottage for another two nights.
The food is great. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the bartenders are a lot of fun.
All areas of the lodge were clean. It is not overly manicured. The landscaping was perfect and when I wanted even more of a jungle feel I took to the various paths or took a canoe trip.
Had a great time lounging out on the hammocks both at the campsite and cottage, drink in hand, gazing up at the stars.
And there is nothing like having breakfast at camp with howler monkeys overhead!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Chaa Creek last November and had a wonderful time! The cabanas are gorgous and comfortable with your own private patios overlooking the beauty of the mountains and hearing all the birds...We went horse back riding and stopped to visit the organic mayan gardens, which was really interested and the horse back riding was so much fun! The spa sits on top of the mountain and the views are amazing and having a massage outside hearing all the birds in the fresh air was the best experience...The bar is very personal and the restaurant is great. Since they have there own farm the food is so fresh and yummy! The staff was wonderful and very helpful! I am going back in May with a friend so we can do the mayan ruins which are only 20 min away and to just relax....I highly recommend Chaa Creek if you are looking for relaxtion, beauty and lots of things to do from trails to butterfy farm, horse back riding, ruins, night hikes, spa, medicinal trails...really a great resort!

Room Tip: Only stayed in the one room, but the views were gorgous! So relaxing to just sit and grab a glass of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited Chaa Creek for three nights as part of a long trip around Central America. Room 19 was large and well equipped with two indoor showers and an outdoor one.nd

Meals were excellent. We liked the idea of a daily breakfast special and the lunch menu had lots of tempting snacks. Once we'd got our head around the pricing of the evening meal ($8 each for soups, salads and deserts with mains at $32), we were able to chose. Beware, unless you are very hungry portions are huge. We were full with a shared salad and main (staff were happy to either bring two plates or have it divided in the kitchen).

The bar was the focal point: it was well stocked with a very good array of drinks. In particular, Duane the barman who was there on all of our three evenings, was brlliant. He was very friendly and welcoming, willing to suggest a cocktail or drink if we felt uninspired. You must try his limoncello either as a shot or in a lemon drop martini.

The lodge was responsible for transferring us to the Guatemala border and we must thoroughly commend our driver for helping us through and dealing with the situation when there was no one to meet us at the other side. He really went the extra mile for us.

You don't need to spend a fortune on excursions: we enjoyed the complementary ones, but also took out canoes and hiked the property. However, we would recommend the nearby Belize Botanic Garden which we loved and the self guided trail with booklet was very interesting and informative and written in an amusing way (time your visit so you can follow it with lunch).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Most of the reviews are for the lodge itself, but we stayed in the Tent Camp at Chaa Creek, and LOVED it. Yes, it's rustic, budget, jungly, communal eating, toilets and hot showers away from the tents. But it's also cosy, friendly, clean, laid-back and a happy place.
We checked in at the Main lodge, and they radioed for the manager of the camp, Dosio, to come and take us and our luggage to the camp. He showed us round the camp, to the electrically lit hot showers and flush toilets, to the communal eating area, round the kitchen where his wife and sister-in-law were preparing supper, to our cosy tent on stilts, and to the river and pathway to the main camp.
There were wooden pegs for our clothes, comfy beds with plenty of blankets for the coolish nights, and a little deck where we could relax with our own wine or beer. Supper was chicken, veggies, rice and salad, with homemade cake for dessert. Plenty of coffee and tea and nice, and beer for sale if you chose. Breakfast were fruit, eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee. My wheat insensitivity was catered to with corn tortillas.
Whenever we took the path to the main lodge because we needed to hook into wifi or wanted to swim in the pool we found everyone there just as gracious and accommodating as if we'd been paying 'lodge' prices. We took in the morning bird watching walks, and toured the butterfly farm, and were thrilled with our experience. We canoed from the main lodge to the tent camp dock which was easy and peaceful.
This place is for those who are comfortable with the outdoors; we definitely would classify it as 'glamorous camping'. We had an amazing time.

Room Tip: You're in the jungle....go with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.5 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
9.3 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
4.0 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#3 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Chaa Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Chaa Creek

Address: Macal River, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#2 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Chaa Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years Chaa Creek has been providing a comfortable base for exciting inland adventures for thousands of visitors, from explorers, scientists, filmmakers, research groups, students and people of all ages looking for intellectual and physical stimulation in Belize's vibrant rainforest - the heartland of the Maya. We also realise that any rewarding adventure is enhanced by comfortable accommodations and excellent food. Our 23 palm thatched cottage rooms ensure a good night's sleep and delightful mornings accompanied by the sing song of a rainforest waking up, and guests can choose a Complete Garden Suite, an Orchard and Spa Villa, Macal Cottage or Tree Top Suite, all equipped with a Jacuzzi for even extra comfort. As one example, under our Chaa Creek Cares program, 10% of all accommodation revenue goes straight into environmental and social programs, and in supporting Green and community groups. We sleep better, and you will too, knowing that your stay at Chaa Creek has a positive effect on Belize and our very special pristine natural environment. Families share some of life's most cherished moments - and memories - during a Belize family vacation. And to guarantee a family vacation that everyone will enjoy, multi award winning Chaa Creek is the only Belize destination you'll need. Our affordable, all inclusive family friendly adventure holidays are absolutely stress free and bring everyone closer together through sharing a variety of amazing adventures along with quiet moments to reconnect - all in a stunning rainforest setting. Nature and romance bloom year round in the stunning beauty of Belize. Our all-inclusive romantic vacation packages allow lovers of all ages to immerse themselves in nature and each other. An exquisite rainforest filled with colourful tropical birds, canoe trips down the meandering Macal river with the misty Maya mountains in the background, unwinding together in your private Jacuzzi surrounded by a tropical garden, couples massages, candlelit dinners and sharing once-in-a-lifetime experiences create the perfect conditions for love to flower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Chaa Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel At Chaa Creek
At Chaa Creek Hotel
Chaa Creek
The Lodge At Chaa Creek Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Chaa Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.