We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You better Belize it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belize Magnificent Mayan Tours

Belize Magnificent Mayan Tours
#16.B.San Jose Succotz, San Ignacio, Belize
+(501) 621-0312
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 Activities in San Ignacio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "Let us at BzmTours start your Belize Adventure" is the motto of our company. We strive to do our best and our friendly service is top-notch. Helping you full-fill your Belize Adventure Dream! Come along for the adventure of a life-time! Our knowledge is your learning!
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You better Belize it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a truly magnificent honeymoon in Belize thanks to BZM! This is a family company, and we felt like family, not just customers or tourists. Maybe it was because of the off-season, but Albert & Odelia (the owners) made us feel like their top priority from the minute we landed until they dropped us off back at the airport.

Say what you will about up-front costs, but for a young and broke pair of newlyweds, it was worth every penny! Imagine trying to get a cab or take a bus from Belize City into Guatemala, to say nothing of finding attractions along the way, restaurants, suitable rest stops, potable water, etc! We never had to worry about any of this—admission into attractions, border crossing fees, lodging, even meals! Whenever we were with them, BZM made sure we had our bellies full of either home cooked food, or they took us to a restaurant and paid for us... it was all part of our package. They even took us out an extra time just to congratulate us on getting married! It was so sweet.

Our experience with the guides and drivers was also quite positive: although roads in Belize and Guatemala are narrow and bumpy by USA standards, and speed limits are mere suggestions, we always felt very safe with Albert, Odelia, and the driver they contracted for getting us around Guatemala. They each provided useful and interesting information along the way. The guides were specific to each site, which meant that we made a new friend at every attraction, and that all guides had extremely specialized knowledgeable of their site. Again, we had the off-season advantage of mostly private tours, which meant we could ask about anything and our guide would cater the tour to our interests.

If you're reading this, Albert & Odelia: don't change a thing. We loved your positive attitude, your spirit of adventure, and your timing is impeccable! You provided us a perfect balance of physical activity, amazement, and relaxation. Thank you!

For potential tourists: always bring a little extra local currency. Even if you paid for the whole tour up front, and most places take plastic, you never know when you're going to see a cool souvenir, or have an AMAZING tour with an EXCEPTIONAL guide, only to reach into your pockets and find a crumpled $2 and some cool bottle caps. You're on vacation, and you're being pampered, SO TIP WELL!

Above all, always think two steps and half a gallon of water ahead. We really learned not to take potable water for granted on this trip (Belizean tap has too much chlorine to drink). We didn't plan well enough once, and luckily Albert had our backs, but it taught us that being out of water is too late to do something about it!

Be cautious, but never afraid, and have fun! Life is beautiful! Belize is Magnificent! Thanks BZM!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    6
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Expensive Booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I have not taken this tour. But when I went to book 3-4 hrs trip to Altu Han- $ 585 US was quoted for 3 adults. I know private tours are expensive. Just be aware. Reviews are however good. I wish the costs are posted upfront so we can compare and save time. But I wish them well and have no complaints !

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Good Vacation Thanks to BZM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We visited Xunantunich, Che Chem Ha Cave, and Tikal in the span of two days. It was an amazing experience, and mostly because Albert planned it efficiently, timely, and communication was prompt via email. I like how a lunch was prepared and Albert went out of his way to provide a better trip by allowing us to visit a lake and gift shops, which were not part of the itinerary. Rudy, our tour guide for the first day was literally a walking encyclopedia and can answer anything from Mayan Ruins to an obscure plant in the jungle. I definitely recommend BZM!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

BZM was truly outstanding! The owner, Albert, was our driver - very nice, prompt and attentive. When he found out we were interested in birds, he went out of his way to build opportunities for birdwatching into both days we spent with them (Barton Creek Cave and Caracol/Mt. Pine Ridge). This meant a very long day when we went to Caracol (from San Ignacio), but he was very cheerful about it. Our guide, Rudy Neal, has incredible birding skills. Not only is he incredibly good at birding by ear (essential in thick forest habitats), he was able to conjure up the birds he heard by reproducing their calls - way beyond pishing. He also had an excellent knowledge of Mayan culture. Both Albert and Rudy made both excursions so enjoyable and unforgettable. It was like spending two days with two good friends. At both Barton Creek Cave and Caracol we felt like we'd won the lottery with our guide, Rudy. Both Caracol and barton Creek Cave were amazing places to see, but even more so with BZM. The other guides we observed seemed to be far less engaged with their clients -- simply putting in the time and reciting scripted material. Not so with Albert, Rudy and Belize Magnificent Mayan Tours!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

What should have been a highlight of our trip was just a so-so experience. While Albert was timely in email communication, pick-up and crossing of the border, Luis was lackluster. I had read wonderful reviews for Luis but the day he was with us at Tikal he was very limited in his communications regarding the site and the culture. He notified us immediately when he got into the van that he was no longer licensed and needed to pick up a local guide that he was currently training. We did not mind this because of all of the positive comments (and we were already a captive audience in the van in Guatemala) that have been written. However, he spent most of his time walking ahead of us with the other guide speaking in Spanish (which we only have a limited vocabulary in). When we overheard other guides with their groups, we realized exactly how much we were missing.We had also had another guide, Tall Edgar, the day before at Xunantunich that we could compare to. When he was asked to please provide more commentary, he acted insulted and became even less communicative. Being in a foreign country and dependent on others for transportation, left us with few options but to finish our day with Albert and Luis. I'm just sorry we ever started our day with them. Not only did we lose a day of vacation but it cost us a whole lot of money (that was paid up front).

I'm sorry I can't report a better experience. Albert certainly seemed very nice and I think his experience at Caracol provides him with the background for ruins. However, he is unable to be a guide for Tikal since he is a citizen of Belize and not Guatemala and must rely upon others for the guide services.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Magnificent Mayan Tours also viewed

San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Belize Magnificent Mayan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belize Magnificent Mayan Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.