We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best! Book with them!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rat Expeditions - Private Day Tours

River Rat Expeditions - Private Day Tours
Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
011-501-628-6033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Activities in San Ignacio
Type: Tours, Adventure
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best! Book with them!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had no idea what to expect when we booked the ATM tour and cave tubing with River Rat in Belize. Without a doubt, both tours exceeded all possible expectations and were simply fantastic! First, as the other reviews say - DO THE ATM TOUR! Gonzo is incredibly knowledgeable and made our ATM trip absolutely unforgettable. We also went cave tubing with Israel. Israel was personable and fun. He shared great information with us all along the road and on the tour and was very kind. He even stopped by his house to provide us with aloe vera plants for our sunburns! He was GREAT!! Book now. You won't regret it!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
loopgrl5
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guides!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We did two trips with River Rat and wished we had time to do more! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend River Rat to anyone, they were just so great to deal with from booking via email, ease of payment, to fantastic and knowledgable guides.

We did the ATM tour with Rafi and it was incredible. He's an archeology student finishing his PhD and was obviously so passionate about the site and the history behind it. We took our time getting there and were the last group into the cave so we had it all to ourselves at the end. It was truly amazing and I hope everyone has that caliber of experience there!

We did the cave tubing and ziplining with Israel and that was also really fun! Again we took our time getting there so that all the cruise ship groups would be ahead of us so we had the river to ourselves. Israel was a lot of fun and another great guide, also very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area. There were just 2 of us on this trip with him but it never felt awkward, he was just a great person who obviously loves what he does. On these trips where so many companies take people, a good guide can make a HUGE difference!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO THIS TRIP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was the highlight of our trip.
Exploring ATM with Gonzo our wise and warm and humorous leader.
He made the tour fun and educational for all of us (2 adults and 2 elementary school kids).
He learned and saw so much.
Fabulous!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gonzo is the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife & 2 teenage kids and I did the ATM tour with Gonzo and Mr. Bols (?). Unbelievable!
Honestly, I can't believe the privilege I felt at the opportunity to view such an amazing and recently discovered Archeological site. And its hard to believe there could be a better guide than Gonzo with River Rat Tours. He is not just a tour guide. He is a native Belizean and University trained Archeologist, who grew up in the area and is sincerely inquisitive and experienced in the history of the region.
The tour is amazing. It is hard for me to believe that this tour will be available to the general public for too long. I would strongly encourage one to take advantage of this opportunity while it is still available, That being said it is not just any old archeological tour, One must swim into the cave, climb boulders throughout the tour, and the cave is long and dark (although everyone wears headlamps). It doesn't;'t take incredible athletic skills, but it isn't just a walk in the park either.
Unbelievably amazing tour, by a top-notch guide!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing sights, with a guide that made all the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We were referred to Gonzo directly by Vitalino of Vitalino's Cavetubing.bz - we had done a great cave tube trip with them the day before, and we felt very fortunate to get this recommendation. Gonzo's passion for cave archaeology, combined with his wealth of knowledge made this trip even better. My wife visited in 2011 with a girlfriend, and was so moved by the experience that she was adamant that I get to see it with her this time.

Having Gonzo to lead us through this time made it easily the better of the two trips for her. We highly recommend seeking him out to take you on this do-not-miss experience. You will be glad that you did!

The included meal of chicken, rice and veggies was very good, and the ice cold Belikin beer was a welcome surprise when we got back to the vehicle

Thank you Gonzo!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rat Expeditions - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to River Rat Expeditions - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rat Expeditions - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.