We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to keep searching for a tour company... you've found the best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hun Chi'ik Tours

Hun Chi'ik Tours
Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
670-0746
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$45*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Break away from the beaten path and experience adventure and Belize’s cultural natural beauty in a whole different way – the Hun Chi’ik way! We offer an array of tours and activities for all your different interests. Whether you are looking for fun, educational or adventurous tours we guarantee you a safe and most unique and memorable experience. Hun Chi’ik (Yucatec Maya) refers to the solitary coati which breaks from the pack to make its own path. It represents the philosophy of our business. We stand out through our extraordinary tours, quality service, professionalism, safety and commitment to social, cultural and environmental responsibility.
Vacaville, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No need to keep searching for a tour company... you've found the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had an absolutely thrilling time with our guides from Hun Chi'ik. Rudy and Glis were especially knowledgeable, helpful, and fun to travel with. We did both Actun Tunichil Muknal Cave, (ATM Cave) and Crystal Cave, (Mountain Cow Cave), and they were completely different experiences.

While TripAdvisor is awesome, it does not allow us to post our entire review and dozens of photos, so check out our review of ATM on our website: http://www.bloomingpassion.com/bz-atm-cave/

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy A, Manager at Hun Chi'ik Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed the tours, we enjoyed reading your review on blomingpassion.com/bz-atm-cave/. Thank you for your kind words.

From the management and staff of Hun chi’ik tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    1
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Good price. Good service. Knowledgable guide Abraham. Must see attraction. Too bad no cameras allowed. They should at least let the guides take pictures.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy A, Manager at Hun Chi'ik Tours, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Taras,

It was our pleasure hosting you guys on one of the most spectacular tours in our country. You can download pictures of ATM Cave from our facebook page (Hun Chi’ik Tours).

Best Regards,

Management and Staff of Hun Chi’ik Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved Hun Chi'ik Services and Guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Awesome tour of ATM caves with Abraham--what an experience! He was fantastic. There was high activity in the cave the day we were there but Abraham sized us up and took us down slightly more adventurous paths from time to time to escape the other groups--awesome. Loved the lore and the exploration and the swimming and the climbing....Just an overall incredible experience for our family. They also helped us with a guide for Tikal a few days later--Pablo was wonderful. tailored to the ages of our four kids, also took us on some off-the-beaten path hikes to get to various sites within Tikal, which the kids really enjoyed. Higly recommend--they helped us with information on border crossings as well--and I got to meet Luis by chance in San Ignacio--A+++

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy A, Manager at Hun Chi'ik Tours, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello

Thank you for visiting our Country, it was a great pleasure hosting you and your family and sharing with you the experience of ATM cave. We are glad that we could be of assistance in organizing your visit to Tikal also.

Management and Staff of Hun Chi’ik Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Crystal Cave Tour is the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I did the crystal cave tour. I heard there was more skeleton remains on the ATM tour but decided on the crystal cave tour because unlike the ATM one, you are allowed to take photos. Really professional guides, who keep everyone's safety in mind. They really know their stuff about Mayan culture. I made a little video of my tour http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tb2o1EfTi8c

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved Hun Chi'ik, loved Abraham!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Emma from Motorbike Adventures in Hopkins set us up with Hun Chiik, and we couldn't be gladder. Abraham was our tour guide, and he was absolutely fantastic. We kept walking by other groups who were listening to lengthy diatribes while Abraham was able to tailor his tour to us, picking out the best information without overwhelming my husband and I or the great couple we met on the van. There are many difficult parts of the tour, and it would be impossible to handhold everyone through, even in a small group, but Abraham kept checking on us the whole way through, pointing out the best footholds and even keeping a keen eye out for spiders for me (I'm quite allergic). My only wish is that I had known I could take a bag to the clearing before the cave entrance. Some bug spray would have saved me the 20 mosquito bites I got on the trek back. But that wasn't their fault, it was mine for not asking ahead of time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hun Chi'ik Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hun Chi'ik Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hun Chi'ik Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.