We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of J & R Guest House

J & R Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
J & R Guest House
Save
You added J & R Guest House to your Saves list
20 Far West Street, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely location and very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Great place to stay. Very friendly girl working there, lovely clean rooms and 2 minute walk to town centre. They have WIFI and use of the kitchen with fridge until 7pm, but you can't cook after that. Cheaper rooms have clean, shared bathroom. We paid $22.50USD (45 Belize) for a double room with very nice bathroom and cable TV. The smaller rooms with shared bathroom are $15 USD.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The staff are all very sweet and helpfull and the fan cooled rooms are clean. Miss Rose, the owner boiles water every morning for your cup of thee or coffee and thoughout the day she and an other lady are around to help you with anything. Besides some braking dogs that are all around town it is also quiet at night and still a less than 5 min walk to the center.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The accommodations at J & R are simple, but very clean and comfortable. There are two shared bathrooms in the main part of the house, and the room that is separated from the others, on the other side of the patio, has it's own full bathroom. There is also a shared kitchen which is well stocked with utensils and pans, etc. The beds are comfortable enough, which for me is saying a lot. I am a finicky sleeper, and I was able to sleep on these beds just fine. We also liked this place because it is far enough away from the center of town that it is relatively quiet. San Ignacio has a very active and noisy nightlife. Any closer to downtown and I would not have gotten any sleep.

The owners, John and Rosa, are also another reason for staying there. We felt very safe and well taken care of during our stay. John is an open and friendly man, who is known and loved by everyone in town. He was fun to talk with and readily shared information and advice about San Ignacio, the surrounding area, and how to cross the border in to Guatemala. We stayed here on two separate occasions on our trip, and both times we needed somewhere safe to leave our packs either before we checked in, or after we checked out. John let us leave them there, piled up in the living room, and we felt completely safe in doing so. If you are looking for someplace inexpensive to stay, and you are not looking for luxury, I recommend J & R.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This place isn't perfect... Our room was tiny and the bed was horribly soft (they had done that strange thing that seems to be common in budget places in Central America where they put a new mattress on top of the old worn out one).

However, it's cheap ($15 for double room with shared bathroom), it's clean, simple breakfast is included and you can use the kitchen. John is like your Grandpa and will give you advice on your travel plans and he also gave us a lift to the ruins up the hill for free.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed fews nights, was really good.
This man is very friendly!!! If I will return in San Ignacio, of course I will return here!!! ;)))
And the breakfast is really good. It was a pleasure to stay in this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed for two nights and the owner did anything he could to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He drove us to the ruins, organized a horsebackriding tour (spontaniously), got us another room when he was fully booked and much more! The hostel is just 200m off the city center, but it's already a bit quiet which is very nice. On the porch there are hummingbirds and nice flowers. The rooms are simple but clean, the breakfast is also simple but with good maple sirup and the prices are good too! We were totally happy with the hostel and the owners who where just so nice people!

BTW: It's only a 30min walk to the nice maya ruins of Cahal Pech up the mountain --> go there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

J&R has a nice price--$25 usd for three people which includes a suite of two rooms (double bed in each) and private bathroom. But our room (at the front) was underground slightly and very dingy. One of the rooms didn't have a window. The beds were too soft and everything just looked old and worn out. I'm a backpacker so I'm not accustomed to luxury but this place was really not nice. The so-called hummingbird-filled garden out front (thanks, guide book) was just as tired. Breakfast was included and even though it was just instant coffee and rolls it was a nice touch. There are better places in town at a similar price (Pacz guest house!).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#13 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#4 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#8 of 26 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J & R Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J & R Guest House

Address: 20 Far West Street, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
J & R Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J & R Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.