We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People, Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nefry's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nefry's Retreat
Save
You added Nefry's Retreat to your Saves list
#2 Paslow Lane, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great People, Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I made a last-minute reservation at Nefry's intending to stay one night but ended up extending our stay to 3 nights. It is a small, intimate location and the owners live on site with their family. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds, an in-room hot and cold water dispenser with free instant coffee and plenty of hot shower water in the in-room bathroom. It was fun being in an actual neighborhood near downtown rather than right on the strip. We met the family's children and saw them getting ready for school all dressed up their uniforms. What really made our visit though, was the level of care and attention we recieved after my wife experienced a medical problem during our stay. The owner called his brother and got a recommendation for an excellent private doctor he had used in Belize City then called and made a reservation on our behalf and arranged a taxi ride for us to the doctor's office! The level of concern displayed made us feel like we were staying with friends. Highly recommended for an authentic friendly experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belize City, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at Nefry's Retreat for two nights and I must say the place was exceptional. When I arrived I was greeted by the manager with such a warm welcome. The room was very clean and spacious and I loved that it felt like my own home. The family are very nice people and within the 2 nights I was there I felt like they were my family too. The location is great as well; it's just a 3 mins walk from downtown which made my stay even more accessible. To add even more good news, the family has a tour company that can take you to the most fascinating places in Belize. My trip to San Ignacio was long overdued but my stay at Nefry's made everything worth the while.

So my advise to other travellers planning on visiting our beautiful country Belize, stay at Nefry's Retreat and I can guarantee a good time for a good price :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stay at nefrys was very much worth it. I loved the environment and the homey feeling it has. I love the fact that its attached to the owners house that to me showed concerned and felt very homey. The price was very much worth it for the rooms, I love how natural the place was..they have stones with paintings of fairies and butterflies on them that adds a very unique touch to the atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay at nefrys and will recommend them to any traveller or student on a budget!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nefrys was a good choice for our trip - room 2 was clean and spacious, but dated furniture and A/C wasn't very good. Better than nothing though, and having such a big bottle of water was really helpful - more places should do this!! The courtyard was lovely, the location very quiet and the prices were reasonable. I'd like to see the cats and kittens looked after more, and the water feature etc finished.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I loved Nefry's! Nefry and her whole family treated me like family. They made my buddy and i feel super welcome in San Ignacio. I saw quite a few rooms in the san ignacio area. Nefrys had the best rooms with AC, water, wi fi, and cats!!!! Super affordable too!
Thank you Nefry!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

There are no words that could really describe how nice it was to stay at Nefry's Retreat. Jimmy, his wife and his son Aaron treated us like family from the very moment we met them. Their hotel was clean, had all of the amenities we needed and we couldn't get a better price for the amazing service we received. We arrived very late at night from an ATM tour with Aaron and our room was available and in perfect condition. The room was very big, the beds were cozy, the bathroom was clean and the shower was huge! They provide a water cooler with fresh water, towels, soap (the soap smelled so good!!) and free wifi. I wish we could have stayed there another couple of nights because the time we spent there was remarkable. Thank you Jimmy for treating us like your daughter's. It truly felt like my home away from home. We wish you the absolute best life has to offer and look forward to visiting Belize again. We would definitely stay at Nefry's Retreat again and again!!

hugs,
~Yomaris, your friend from NYC~

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

we arrived to San Ignacio around 9PM from an all day bus ride from Playa Del Carmen. When my boyfriend and I got there we just wanted a hotel room with a shower and sleep for the night and was planning to stay at one of the out of town cottages style accomodation. We went to Maya Walk offcice and was greeted by the owner Jimmy. he showed us pictures of Nefry's retreat and the price was right so we took it and we just needed it for the night. Stanley who works for Jimmy helped me with my back pack and drove us to Nefry's and waited for us so he can drive us back to the main town to eat dinner.
The only room available when we arrive was the family room, so we took it... the next day we had decided to stay because the room was airconditioned, the bathroom was big and shower is working fine. What i like the most is the rooms were clean, i didn't see any ants or other insect, beside the mosqitoes outdoor, but non indoors as the rooms had screen to keep bugs out.
We end up staying for 4 nights and I can't thank enough Ninfa and her family for welcoming us and for treating us just like family. Everyday when we come back to our hotel from excursion we find new towels with soaps, bathroom cleaned and bed made...
Nefry's services exceeded our expectations for the price that we paid... Thanks to Ninfa for lending me knife to cut the fruits i buy at the daily market. and thank you for teaching me to cut pineapple properly.

What highlights the trip was our experience in San Ignacio and stay at Nefry's ... When we left we felt sad and we knew we will come back someday...A lot of people had touch our hearts, San Ignacio community was just so warm to us tourist that we are thinking to go back soon.
Many thanks to Jimmy, Stanley and to Ninfa and to all the people we've met for that short 4 days in San Ignacio...

Room Tip: we didn't book anything as it was low season and we weren't sure how long we wanted to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.0 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#10 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge
#2 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rumors Hotel
Rumors Hotel
#8 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#4 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefry's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefry's Retreat

Address: #2 Paslow Lane, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Nefry's Retreat, we offer a spacious yet intimate home away from home that will satisfy the needs of every kind of traveler. We take great pride in our accommodations and are pleased to be located just a quick 5 minute walk away from downtown San Ignacio. Owned operated by a local Belizean family who lives on site, we make sure you feel like one of the family when you stay with us at Nefry's Retreat. We offer you the privacy of your own room, as well as the opportunity to socialize with our family and our 4 young children if you choose to. A stay at Nefry's Retreat is like an authentic Belizean homestay! Nefry's Retreat is a great base for travelers looking for a leisurely escape or an adventure-filled vacation. We have many suggestions on local activities and connections with trusted tour operators. Please inquire with us directly about booking vacation tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nefry's Retreat Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefry's Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.