We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family owned and run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nefry's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nefry's Retreat
Save
You added Nefry's Retreat to your Saves list
#2 Paslow Lane, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Houston, Tx
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great family owned and run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Nefry's is great for a few reasons. 1. Price - cant beat it for a clean, air conditioned hotel room in San Ignacio that has free wifi (which works best on the great patio). 2. Location - its close to 'downtown area', but far enough removed to be very very quiet. 3. Ninfa - she runs the place, and although she is very quiet, she is a fantastic hostess that will make sure you are well taken care of.
San Ignacio has a lot of small hotels, but if you are lucky enough to get one of the 4 rooms here, you will be happy! I recommend to book via email - like I said, only 4 rooms. They are working on making this a green hotel with rainwater collections and other things. The family is great and makes you feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Email her!! All 4 rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

By Far the best `hostel` I`ve ever stayed in. They picked us up at the airport,nice new arcon van for the drive, had our airconditioning running for when we arrived! The rooms was very big, two double beds, water cooler ( it was worth it just to have free cold water) coffee and tea, private shower with hot an cold water.

The court yard is super cute, nice for eating outside, drink or my fav reading in the lounge chairs.

The place is run by a very nice young woman and her family, they were very friendly and helpful! The hotel is just a few streets off the main downtown which was perfect for us. I would definetly stay there again!

only thing was that the mattresses seems a little old. Other than that our stay was PERFECT.

Thank you Ninfa

www.nefrysretreat.com

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed at Nefry's in San Ignacio and it was great for the 15 dollars a night. It was a couple blocks out of the downtown area, but it was quiet. They had air, we didn't need it. Hot water ofcourse. In room coffee and great hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This past Christmas, I went to Belize for my Christmas vacation. I traveled all over Belize, staying a week in San Ignatio. While I was there I was blessed to stay at Nefry's Retreat. It was an experience I will never forget. After enjoying the night life and bars in town or going on numerous outdoor adventures, it was always a pleasure to come back the Nefry's to relax and chill. The beautiful gardens and spacious, cozy rooms are very inviting and I always felt at home. The courteous and helpful staff that made my stay there an unforgettable one! I hope to return to Belize in the near future and I will definitely be staying at Nefry's Retreat!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Loved staying here, if you book daytrips with their tour company you can usually get a better deal on the room. Suggest ATM trip and Caracol. Excellent hot and cold showers, VERY clean, have water cooler in room which is so nice in Belize as you have to buy A LOT of bottled water while there. Also have a kitchenette with fridge. Very nice grounds, felt very comfortable and welcome staying here. Laundry service available too!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nefry's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefry's Retreat

Address: #2 Paslow Lane, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Nefry's Retreat, we offer a spacious yet intimate home away from home that will satisfy the needs of every kind of traveler. We take great pride in our accommodations and are pleased to be located just a quick 5 minute walk away from downtown San Ignacio. Owned operated by a local Belizean family who lives on site, we make sure you feel like one of the family when you stay with us at Nefry's Retreat. We offer you the privacy of your own room, as well as the opportunity to socialize with our family and our 4 young children if you choose to. A stay at Nefry's Retreat is like an authentic Belizean homestay! Nefry's Retreat is a great base for travelers looking for a leisurely escape or an adventure-filled vacation. We have many suggestions on local activities and connections with trusted tour operators. Please inquire with us directly about booking vacation tours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nefry's Retreat Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nefry's Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.