We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the large groups and go with Luis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belize Nature Travel

Belize Nature Travel
P.O. Box 136, San Ignacio, Belize
+501 824-3314
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the undiscovered with Belize Nature Travel and our team of experienced guides and reservationists . Lets not forget our amazing cook .We aim to give our guests the best experience of our Beautiful Country of Belize .Come and feel at home with Belize Nature Travel only the Best for you !
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Skip the large groups and go with Luis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Luis Godoy runs a small business focused on a great a customer experience. We used him for our trips to both ATM and Tikal. Luis has great guides, bi-lingual, years of experience, all licensed, and with good vans that can handle the rough roads. ATM is an amazing experience you'll never forget. Adventure, archeology, Mayan ritual, wading across 3 river crossings, and wading/swimming through a cave all in one day. Luis only takes small groups and I'd recommend paying a premium if you can to keep the group at a minimum of 4. (It's easy for the group to get strung out in a cave. Our group only had 2. ) Bring only a small bag with a change of clothes which will stay in the van. Don't bring money or anything else. (ATM no longer allows cameras, but Lois emailed us over 50 fantastic pictures of the place, which are better than I could have taken.) Water shoes are a must and you have to take them off and wear socks while in the sacred area at the end of the cave. Your guide will pick you up at your hotel and supply lunch. At ATM he provided a great sack lunch. For Tikal, we left early (7AM) to avoid the crowds and had a great Guatemalan breakfast near where they did "Survivor Tikal". Billie (our guide to Tikal) stopped often at our request to take pictures of the Mayan villages along the way. (Grinding corn, washing clothes in the lake, woman carrying jugs on their heads, kids gathering wood. You won't want to miss it.) If you only go to one Mayan site, Tikal is the best. You'll easily see why it’s both a cultural and natural World Heritage Site. Lunch is at a beautiful restaurant on the grounds of Tikal park. On the trip to Tikal, Luis took us from San Ignacio to the Guatemalan border, where we went through customs/immigration and were picked up on the other side by Billie, our guide. The transfer worked flawlessly in both directions.
Tip: If you easily get cold, my wife recommends a 3 mil long sleeve scuba top for ATM, which worked great. I was fine in a polyester T-shirt.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you go to Belize you must use Belize Nature Travel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have traveled to Belize 3 times with Luis Godoy and his team. Not only are they excellent guides for birdwatching, ruins, caves, coral reefs, etc., but they will plan your entire trip including hotels, transfers, picnic lunches, whatever you need. We were lucky enough to be escorted by Luis himself but since we were a large group we met several of his expert team members. Even if you are on a budget you will get first class service. Belize is not a country that is easy to navigate by yourself. Roads are poor as are signs to attractions. Belize Nature Travel is the only way to go!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Nature Tours. Great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We just finished a 4-day pre-arranged tour of the Cayo district in Belize. Our guide, David was awesome. He was friendly, outgoing, an expert on everything we did. He let us set the schedule each day and took care of everything. Very professional. He got really into birding with us and knew so much. He knew where to look for specific birds almost on demand! I would recommend this to anyone and suggest you get David as your guide.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Foothills
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The Perfect Guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We want to thank Luis for his expert team of guides that helped us to learn about and explore the many excitiing things to do in San Ignacio. David was our guide for the Mayan Caracol ruins and the Rio Frio Cave and Pools. He was so knowledgeable and respectful. One of the members of our group was not as strong & had to sit down more and David always made sure he was communicated with on what he was seeing and went slow so that he could keep up. Danny was our guide to the Barton Creek Caves. He was the cave expert of San Ignacio and one of the few guides that are certified to guide tours of ATM. I highly recommend Belize Nature Travel for any of your excursions in Belize.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Money very well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had spent a week on a catamaran sailing from Placencia and only had three days afterwards to see the best of Belize. On the advice of a friend, we contacted Luis at BNT. This was the first time we've ever hired a private guide and we weren't sure what to expect.
The whole process of planning our itinerary was fun...suggestions were given that were realistic and relaxed. Kerry and Luis were very attentive to our sense of adventure and culture and made recommendations that were great.
We were originally booked to fly back to Belize City from Placencia but it was suggested that we get picked up from Placencia and drive up to Cayo. Best decision! We got to see more of the country and we learned sooo much from Luis.
We picked up David, who took us cave tubing in the afternoon on the way to our resort (Crystal Paradise! will write a review on that!).
We stopped for lunch at GJ's ...a roadside stand that looked a bit sketchy. The food was amazing, well presented and inexpensive! Boy, were we surprised!!
I will write reviews on our cave tubing experience, Caracol and ATM separately. For this review I want to stress the professionalism of BTN, the deep knowledge that Luis, David and Daniel have and the flexibility they showed us. It was sooo worth it to do a private tour. They also made us feel like friends rather than customers and joked and were very accommodating.
All in all, every recommendation made, from the drive up to Cayo, to the eco-resort, to the three activities we did, were just the right thing to end our trip! We will definitely be sending our friends to Luis and company! Thanks Luis and Kerry!! Diane and Paul

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belize Nature Travel also viewed

 

Been to Belize Nature Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belize Nature Travel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.