We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, and Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Western Guest House to your Saves list
Western Guest House
#54 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place is so comfortable and welcoming. The HUGE common kitchen area is spotless and charming. The rooms are simple; very clean and comfortable. The owners are very nice and accommodating. We especially liked the location since they are down the street a block or two from the main part of town so it is very quiet. The wi fi works beautifully - well enough to support a flawless Face Time call to the states on my iPhone. They also have a bottled water dispenser so you can fill up your water bottles before heading out for the day, and they had coffee ready for us when we got up in the morning. We felt safe leaving our things in the room because the rooms are on the second floor above street level and there is a metal locking gate to get into the premises. The owners live onsite, too, which helps with the security factor. If I ever return to San Ignacio, I will come back to the Western Guest House for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I had a great time staying at The Western Guest House in San Ignacio. It was very clean, had nice beads, hot private shower and Internet all for a really good price. You can even have use of their kitchen and cook your own meals if you prefer. There is also a washer and dryer for a fee which is nice.
It is away from noisy streets but still close enough to walk to everything. There is a store across the street, and many restaurants close by.
There is also a nice big balcony and a common area inside which are great places to relax.
Owned by really nice and helpful people.
This place is highly recommended and we would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

An expat living locally recommended the Western Guesthouse to me, and I'm so glad. It was a great introduction to Belize! My room had a comfy bed, spotlessly clean linens (towels changed daily), and an excellent shower. The WGH provides safe, chilled filtered water ad lib and a delicious cup of coffee in the morning. Guests may use the fully equipped, huge kitchen and dining area to prepare their own meals.
Wifi is available in the common area and has worked perfectly in my room. It's included in your rate. There are, as they say, "no hidden extras."
The rates are very reasonable, and they're posted.
I would come back here any time I was in Cayo.

Room Tip: All rooms are in the rear of the building and you may pay extra for AC if you desire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband was a little nervous about staying at the Western Guest House in San Ignacio as he prefers the anonymity of a larger hotel when we travel. He has changed his mind!! Julia and Rodolpho are the perfect hosts - they made us feel welcome right away!! The location is excellent - just a short walk to the restaurants and bars - and the rooms are quiet, clean and cozy! There is a large balcony with a swing on it where we relaxed after a long day of excursions and the common areas, kitchen and living room, are clean and comfortable. I would recommend the Western Guest House to both family and friends and anyone else interested in a great deal at a great price. Say hi to Julia and Rodolpho for us - we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This really is a perfect place to stay in San Ignacio. It's a few minutes stroll from the buzzy hub of San Ignacio and yet it's very quiet and peaceful. Proprietors and staff are delightful and the bedrooms and communal area are ultra clean. If you don't want eat at the restaurants then everything you need for self-catering is here. Turn left and it's a 40 minute walk through tranquil countryside to a lovely river where you can swim or have fun wobbling across the suspension bridge. Couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A great place, clean, tidy, good size rooms, excellent communal areas, amazing kitchen and decent location. They have a nice big balcony as well as some comfy chairs inside which are great places to relax.

Julia and Rodolfo are lovely hosts and make you feel right at home.

Highly recommended....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I concur with all the positive reviews that have been expressed. I would add that Julia and Rodolfo (P) made us feel like we were friends/family during our stay. Julia was so kind to feed us (a family of 7) leftovers from their Christmas dinner on Boxing day. Rodolfo and Julia also were kind enough to spend an afternoon with us, and drove us to the nearby town of Spanish Lookout and a local hotsauce factory that we had mentioned we were interested in seeing. They made us feel comfortable, safe and welcome. I truly felt like we were staying in one of my best friends home. No matter were you are in the world the good people you meet make the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.3 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainforest Haven Inn
Rainforest Haven Inn
#8 of 26 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rumors Hotel
Rumors Hotel
#8 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Guest House

Address: #54 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Western Guest House is a nice little hotel located at the far end of Burns Ave. The Owners live on site, so security is never an issue. They offer free WiFi, a kitchen for guest use, and fully furnished room with private bath and A/C. If you are looking for somewhere to stay and feel like you are home - this is the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Western Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.