We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Suites

Sunshine Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunshine Suites
#5 Fourth Street, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
HAWKESTONE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in May 2011, the beginning of off-season. Randolph was warm and welcoming, providing us with the best of care and more. We loved his dog too, aka our 'guard dog' who was really just a big suck. We were able to contact our loved ones from his home, via email, to let them know we made it safely, and he even invited us to dinner and sent us away afterwards with the leftovers on our first night. Randolph gave us great tips about places to go and see in town. The suite itself was very well provisioned, with a unique safe for our valuables and it was very spacious and well decorated. As I had some food allergies, the ability to go to the local market in town and cook for ourselves was great. It was the best provisioned place we stayed in the whole of Belize on this trip. We loved to sit on the covered porch when it was too hot in the middle of the day. The place is situated atop a hill above town (maybe a 5 to 10 minute walk away), and also convenient to the buses, the market and the tours. I never felt unsafe there. I would highly recommend this place and would certainly go back to stay again if I should go back to Belize in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had an excellent 4-night stay at Sunshine Suites in San Ignacio. The suite is bright, clean, very spacious, and had all the required amenities.

The location of the unit is a 5 minute walk from the main street in downtown San Ignacio, away from the noise. We enjoyed the short walk into town every day, it was not inconvenient in any way. Most importantly, we felt incredibly safe at all times at the guest house. There is a front gate that is locked at all times, and Dexter the dog who is very friendly but would visually scare off any would be intruder.

Robert, the unit owner, is very well connected in town and has established relationships with tour guides/companies, shuttle drivers, restaurant owners, and resort staff. Robert helped us immensely on our trip and we owe our great time in San Ignacio in large part to him. We had some rainy weather that forced us to reschedule our ATM cave tour (a must), but thanks to Robert's connections and desire for us to have a great experience, we were able to reschedule our activities with the tour companies after hours so that we did not miss our on anything that we wanted to do. Without Robert, this would not have been possible.

I would certaintly recommed Sunshine Suite to anyone traveling to San Ignacio. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Great location close to everything in San Ignacio. Very friendly and helpful owners.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Sunshine Suites offers a nice, clean, modern, roomy apartment in which we felt completely safe and comfortable. Situated in a residential neighborhood, it's still within a short walk to downtown, the market, Cahal Pech, restaurants and plenty of grocery stores. Every modern convenience is provided, and although there is AC, we never needed it - the apartment stayed cool even in the hottest weather. The landlords went to great lengths to make our stay happy and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belize
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

my friend and I were taking a sampling tour of the area and decided to stay in San Ignacio before heading out to one of the more distant resorts. We stayed here and booked with one of the tour operators in town for one of the cave tours. it's less drive time and a less expensive way to do these tours. The suite was wonderful, clean, roomy, comfortable, lots of extras to make things like meals easier if you're planning on staying for a few days, and a great central location walking distance from most everything in town. A real deal and a good find.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Whether you stay in San Ignacio for just one night or plan several nights, Sunshine Suite guesthouse is ideal. The central location makes it easy to find and just blocks from the local marketplace, restaurants and shops.
The suite is immaculate with every ammenity including full fridge, stove and microwave as well as many thoughtful touches to make your stay comfortable.
Great bed and excellent reading lights!
There is a large outside patio where a breeze constantly wafts through.
The owners are extremely informative and helpful.
Without a doubt, the next time we are in Cayo, we will be staying at the Sunshine Suite guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Suites

Address: #5 Fourth Street, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only upscale guesthouse in San Ignacio Town. Only three blocks from the town center, half block to bus stop and groceries. More than just a guest room. Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunshine Suites Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunshine Suites to your Saves list