We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly, and Clean!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mallorca

Hotel Mallorca
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mallorca
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mallorca to your Saves list
12 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Grand Forks, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, and Clean!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were looking to stay 2 nights,, but stayed 4 nights, 5 days. The hotel hostess's were very nice, friendly, and informative! They have laundry service on site,,a kitchen to use if you wish. We enjoy relaxing happy hour on the balcony with new friends, and stories of their adventures and ours. We would highly recommend this affordable hotel at $30.00 a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
16
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fronteras, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

i stayed two nights at hotel mallorca in san ignacio march 3rd and 4th, 2013. it's in the middle of downtown. yolanda is an excellent hostess. the hotel is very clean - i never saw a bug, though i understand they are included for free.. the noise level was far below the noise i was making all night so, of course, i heard nothing. i slept like a baby. i would definitely recommend this hotel to people like me...WAIT... there ARE no such people.

just try it. you'll like it.

it's walking distance to any of the places you'd like to walk to.

-dustyboy1

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hot water and fabulous lady running the front desk made this place bearable.

The room, with two double beds, was very clean and cost my US$22.50 per night for a single person.

I could not sleep here, though. There were no screens on the windows, so bugs could get in. The slamming of the doors at night at the electronics store on the ground level woke me up. Someone in the hotel decided to turn Jay Leno up on the tv very loudly, and, perhaps, fell asleep with this tv blaring. The cat in heat was also making noise. It was not a restful two nights. I checked out without knowing where I'd stay next, just knowing that I needed to get some sleep.

The lady running the place let me use her personal phone to call other hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are right above an electronics store that is on the ground level. The garage-lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our first choice was the Hi-Et which was full but the Mallorca turned out to be a good alternative. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the owner very accomodating. We had use of the fridge and the microwave to do lunch and snacks (they don't include use of the stove for real cooking) and all restaurant recommendations were excellent. It was a little noisy at night as it is near the main streets. If I went back, I would try something a little further back, but everything is just a few blocks away at the most--good restaurants, internet cafe, market, tour operators.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have no complaints other than the fact that visitors should know that San Ignacio is a very very busy little town and this hotel is right on the busy street. So, it gets noisy at night. The rooms are not very sound proof. However it is very clean. Bedding is clean.
But for the value, you get cleanliness but lose out on quiet. it is a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had read the reviews on this place and was a little concerned when we read a prior review about the place crawling with bugs!
We stayed a week and have to say we saw no evidence of bugs......... in fact this place has to be the cleanest we have seen in Belize so far. Bed and pillows were comfy and room was big and clean. We had room # 6 two double beds, ceiling fan, private bath with hot and cold.
This is not a fancy place and that is reflected in the price, they are centrally located which does make for a lot of noise. Let me state here that San Ignacio is not a sleepy little village it is a busy town with big trucks, buses, motorbikes, dogs and discos! Which of course makes for noise!
If you are looking for a quiet nights sleep you will be better off staying outside of town!!!

Yolanda (owner) and Marelly are really what makes this place, they are super friendly and very helpful, they can even arrange a very reasonably priced Taxi for you. You also have access to the kitchen, which means you can use the fridge, coffee maker and microwave, plates cups etc.
certainly helps if living on a budget!

For location, cleanliness and friendliness this place can not be beaten! We were originally going to stay 2 days and ended up staying a week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is centrally located, the owner is nice, she gave us a deal for 50$ Belizean during slow season for 2 big beds and a private bath. I slept so horribly on the first night we were there because there were itty bitty things crawling on me all night. We gave it a second chance because we went on an early morning tour and didn't have time to find a different place, but the second night was just as bad... And the fluorescent lighting in the room was the opposite of charming..We ended up moving on our 3rd night to J&R Guesthouse for smaller beds and a shared bathroom, but a lot more charm, a cheaper price, and it had no bugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mallorca

Address: 12 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hotel Mallorca Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mallorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.