We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serendib

Serendib
27 Burns Ave, San Ignacio, Belize
+501 824 2302
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 57 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Price range: $1 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Right next to the mall and by Polly? Pizza restaurant. I am Indian and not a huge fan of Indian food -- but randomly this was the BEST SOUTH INDIAN food I have ever eaten!!
Danville, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Truly delicious food and excellent prices! The taste and spices they use are superb. Really nice portions too... We ate here several times and also order food to go one night and it was so delicious and generous. Very reasonable prices!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    56
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sri-Lankan restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was a unique restaurant in belize because it's making sri-lankan style food.
we ordered the traditional curry, rice and meat dish. It was ok tasting, not awesome but not bad. Price is ok. Customer Service was very good. The place was a bit too dark at night. hard to stay awake.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice little place, good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved eating here. We sat inside, nicely decorated, candlelit. Good cocktails !! Because one ingrediënt was missing we discussed with the bartender an alternative and that worked out very well ! Good job. And the food is very tasteful and inexpensive. We would go there again when i te neigborhood

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best meals I had in San Ignacio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This isn't a foodie destination, but Serendib was a nice find: I ended up eating there three times in four days. Good Sri Lankan food, nice servers . . . I definitely recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is a pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We wanted to try this spot because it was well reviewed here and because it took on new ownership and we were very excited about it, but sadly it was not a great spot.

The Food: The appetizers were OK. The vegetable soup was decent and the lentil chips were tasty.

However, the mains did not stack up. We both had the chow mein because it was highly recommended but it turned out to just be ramen noodles with flavorless chicken, so salty it was almost tasteless. The food also took over 90 mins to arrive, despite us asking several times (as we were starving after just getting back from hiking Carocal).

The cocktails were really the nail in the coffin. They sounded great but were so sweet we could not finish them.

The service: OK, so we are from New York and I know we can get impatient :), but we waited for 90 minutes for our entree which even given the fact that we were in Belize was way too long. They offered us a round of drinks to make up for it which may have been a game saver..... but of course they never came until we paid our check and they realized they forgot.

Overall, don't go. It seems there are better places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendib also viewed

 

Been to Serendib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serendib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.