We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great People, Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge
Mile 59 Western Hwy - General Delivery, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BUCKY BADGER PHOTO
New Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food, Great People, Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Lower Dover was the best part of my stay in Belize this time around. I was apart of the BVAR archaeology field school and we stayed multiple places in San Ignacio as well as Lower Dover. I get to spend the most time at LD and it was the best part of the trip. The swimming hole, the food and the community 'hang-out' huts were what put this place at the top of the list. Thank you Bill, Maddy & Justin for your service during my time in the jungle!
-Ryan

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
65
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
skillman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

The food was amazing and fresh. The hosts were very accomdating and friendly. This is the true jungle experience, with luxuries.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Lower Dover is an amazing site. The rooms are about a mile from mayan ruins, and not even a 2 minute walk from the swimming creek. The jungle is purely amazing. There are a plethora of various animals you will experience. I definitley reccomend it.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Bill, Maddie and Justin are the perfect hosts who were concerned making sure we were taken care of. They are excellent cooks using foods to create fabulous menus. They take care of the cabanas and rooms so I could feel clean after a day of hot jungle work. I would recommend this place to anyone, or maybe not- I would like to keep it a secret!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

When I arrived in San Ignacio, Belize I had a very hard time adjusting. I went to Lower Dover 2 days in and I ended up having the time of my life. Bill and Maddy's food has yet to be topped after a week and a half in Cayo, and their hospitality was the perfect remedy for my home-sickness. I would recommend Lower Dover to any traveler's who are looking for a little bit of adventure, there's no better way to experience the jungle than one of their cozy well kept clean cabana's. I think Lower Dover is especially ideal for students. If I come back to Belize Lower Dover is the first place i'm staying!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I just spent a month at Lower Dover, (June '10) and I plan on going back for another month next week. I have been working at an archaeological field school there, the Belize Valley Archaeological Reconn Project, and the Maya site we worked at is right on the field station grounds. The cabins are typical jungle accommodations, but the food cooked by Bill and Maddie is amazing, the rates are very low, and the creek is great for an afternoon swim. I will be back every summer for the next 3 years at least. If you are in Unitedville, check it out. It's great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I went here for an archaeological dig program, BVAR, and this was a typical day. Everyday we would hike through the jungle to work hard at our digging units to uncover the secrets the Mayans have painted their unknown history with. Our friendly dog friends would religiously accompany us without fail. When the sun peeked we would head in for our two hour break which we then jumped into the swimming hole. This place you can only describe with two words. Forest Fairy. It's like a scene right out of a fairy tale and you can feel the utmost serenity here. My personal favorite in all of Belize. Then it's lunch... I can't even express with words how amazing the food was.The food is HEAVENLY! Absolutely wonderful food, compliments to Bill and Maddy who were phenomenal hosts. Then we would swim some more and head back to our units. We dig til early evening, shower, change and wait impatiently for delicious meal time. Night falls and the games begin. Since town is very unsafe Bill and Maddy provide our source of liquid courage and have ourselves a good time. We wake up and start the whole lovely amazing cycle once more. I love this place with a passion and it will always be in my heat <3 I recommend it to anyone with a sense of adventure. Three thumbs up

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 59 Western Hwy - General Delivery, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Dover is your Cayo District base camp * Hostel & private cabanas*River & creek swimming*On-site Maya ruins (currently being excavated)* Pristine jungle & hiking trails* Family style dining* Adventure advise(Tikal, ATM Cave & more)* EZ access via bus or rental car....."Lower Dover is like a summer camp for adults!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Dover Field Station And Eco Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.