We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge
Save Saved
You added Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Mile 59 Western Hwy - General Delivery, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My experience at Lower Dover was wonderful. Maddy is a amazing lady and she thought of every comfort you would require and supplied it simply and efficiently. I stayed in the dorms and they were well set up. I would recommend this to anyone travelling to San Ignacio and the ATM caves. Additionally, we were completely spoiled regarding food. For the value, we were 200%.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
63
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sfaulkner24
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Lower Dover is an amazing place to stay! The property is great with plenty of things to do. There are fruit and vegetables growing everywhere, animals roaming around (you have to like dogs if you wanna stay there) and so much history.

Maddy the owner is so much fun and by the end of our stay my friends and I were calling her Mama Maddy. She's a great cook and loves to share her knowledge of the area. I loved having dinner with Maddy and the other guests in the dining room, swapping travel tips and stories.

We stayed in the bunkhouse which was perfect for our group of 4. The outdoor shower was refreshing and there's filtered drinking water for everyone's use. I would recommend this place to anyone that's looking for a place to call home while traveling through Belize.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

All the good things you're reading about Lower Dover are true! We stayed in the comfortable Red Cabana for two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. We were tired upon arrival, and the owner, Madeline, knew just what we needed: a relaxing swim in the lovely river just down from our cabana. After cooling off in the river, we enjoyed a fantastic meal (and several more after that) with Madeline and fellow travelers. Between the rainwater shower, medicine trail, fresh fruits, puppies who walk with you, mayan ruins on the property, EXCELLENT meals, your own river, proximity to the best excursions (ATM, especially), and an accommodating host who will teach you a thing or two, why would you stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Lower dover is a paradise. On a bend in the Belize river, it is located in Unitedville, half way between St Ignacio and Belmopan, so both towns are easily reachable by local bus, as are both the Belize Zoo and the St Hermann cave in the blue hole national park (great for cave tubing). And even better, it is just 30 minutes from the ATM cave which is a must-do for those who are into mayan artifacts and history, natural beauty, adventure, getting out of the heat for a while, or a combination of all of the above. The property is just beautiful and you can easily while away your days walking, swimming in the river, or checking out the ruins of a mayan city which they just happened to find one day when a bushfire burnt out some of the jungle! As if all that isn't enough, there are 6 gorgeous friendly dogs (who will accompany you on walks, lie at your feet or leave you completly alone, as the situation demands) some of the best food you will encounter in Belize (served 'family style' in a convivial atmosphere), handy pool table, darts and a plethora of board games, a well stocked library complete with ergonomically perfect reading hammock, a mayan medicine garden and Madeline - simply the finest and most obliging hostess in Belize - possibly anywhere else too.

I stayed in the dorm bunkhouse which was super clean and homely with matching 'Belize theme' curtains and bed covers, internal loo and a lovely outdoor shower, but the property is also dotted with super-cute brightly coloured cabins. I was lucky enough to see a toucan, a tapir and and an agouti while I was in residence, and one of the dogs was unlucky enough to see and interact with a coatimundi. Nice cute little racoony type of creatures...except if you decide to go play with it. Not an experience she will forget in a hurry!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great home base for checking out ATM and Mayan Ruins. The hostess and owner, Maddy was great. We were served meals that were wonderful, giving the experience a summer camp like feel. The rooms are cute and comfortable. If you like animals and especially dogs, its the perfect place to get your fill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I took a trip with 3 other gals and we stayed 3 nights with Maddy, the owner and wonderful hostess. She prepared our meals, chatted with us about the area, shared her wealth of information regarding plant species and ruins and gave wonderful recommendations on tours. She went above and beyond in taking care of us. The property is clean and beautiful. There are quite a few dogs who are a part of the experience. They were really cute and slept on our porches, making us feel safe and protected in the jungle. I highly recommend staying here. I will probably go back one day.

Room Tip: There are little cabins and each one is different. You just have to talk to Maddy about what you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you have any inclination to check out the Belize jungle, the caves, or Mayan ruins on your trip, I really don't think you could have a better home base than Lower Dover.

This place amazingly sits right on top of a Mayan city (now being excavated), is surrounded by water on three sides (you can swim in the Belize river - a wild experience), covered with awesome/well-maintained hiking trails through the jungle (for which you get your own Lower Dover guide dogs!), and filled with beautiful trees, birds, sounds, smells... the real deal for sure.

The Lower Dover setup is most particularly cool because the grounds and the vision for the place are immaculately kept and held by the family that owns the property. The Reynolds family has been in Belize for decades and has an understanding and respect for Belizean and Mayan culture and the ecosystem of the area and will teach you a lot.

We walked the grounds with Justin who gave us our own little mini-tour of the area, explaining the jungle medicinal plants, the history of the area, and a glimpse into the Mayan civilization that once lived there.

And - the lodging is awesome. We stayed at all the "bargain" lodging in Belize - on Caye Caulker, Placencia, etc. and this was the BEST value for the money by far - clean, cute, individual cabins with nice outdoor showers. The dinner was awesome and you gotta love having the honor-beer system handy while you sit on your porch and just watch the birds fly by, listen to the frogs, and soak it all in. (PS, we saw toucans!)

VERY cool experience - thank you to the Reynolds family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 59 Western Hwy - General Delivery, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Dover is your Cayo District base camp * Hostel & private cabanas*River & creek swimming*On-site Maya ruins (currently being excavated)* Pristine jungle & hiking trails* Family style dining* Adventure advise(Tikal, ATM Cave & more)* EZ access via bus or rental car....."Lower Dover is like a summer camp for adults!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lower Dover Field Station And Eco Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.