We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge
Mile 59 Western Hwy - General Delivery | Pobox 346, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Homemade Rose Wine
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the bunkhouse which is a bargain. Very comfortable and clean with toilet inside and a hot shower outside. The grounds are beautiful. You can swim in the river and there are lots of nice trails through the rainforest. We saw toucans from our balcony every afternoon! The owners are really nice and helpful. They lent us shoes for the ATM cave tour and gave us lifts to the bus stop etc. The free tour they give of the Mayan ruins on their grounds and the Mayan Medicinal plants was great. One of the most informative tours we've done. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
71
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Camped on site for two nites in the beginning of February. Easily Accessible via bus (costs about 1.50 to 2 usd) then a little hike down a gravel road with signs pointing you in the right direction. Good meals, good hosts, chill guests, low-key. Great first stop in Belize.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Rasta Suite in January and were greeted by Maddy the owner. An incredible ray of energy who was so informative about everything in the area, medicinal plants and also one awesome cook.. Justin her son gave a guided tour of their property where they have been excavating mayan ruins for the last couple years. very informative and eductional.. I would recommend this place to anybody who wanted to stay outside of San Ignacio.. Located very close to the ATM Caves.. Maddy can also arrange tours from lower dover... Loved it here... Super laid back and relaxing cabanas with some having hammocks for your personal lounging experience..

Room Tip: all rooms were nice.. i heard the bunk house was nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights in the Rasta Honeymoon Suite in January and LOVED every minute. We could have easily stayed here for the entire month of our trip.

Upon arriving, we were greeted by the owners son, who was very informative and gave us a tour of the grounds. The property is incredible. Each cabana/cabin is unique and equally amazing. All separated and private. The grounds are beautifully kept and the "guard dogs" are the cleanest, most well trained and pleasant dogs in all of Belize.

The following day, we were given a nature tour around the properties trails be the owner. I had no idea there was actual mayan ruins on the property and were just starting to be excavated. The tour was so informative and the owner has planted every type of native tree and plant to Central America on her property. I was very intrigued by all the different fruits and medicinal purposes that the different plants provided.

For meals, all the guests gathered in a common dining cabin and sat together at one big table. The owners cooked home made Belizean meals, which were incredible! The place also sells beer and pop on an honour system. You take drinks out of the fridge and place the caps in your rooms cup. At the end of your stay you pay for all the caps in your cup. This was such a breath of fresh air, that in a country full of scammers, here is this family run lodge putting full trust in it's visitors.

All in all, my boyfriend and I loved this place and we look forward to returning for a much longer stay next time and would absolutely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Lower Dover for two nights at the beginning of February. We LOVED our stay!! We felt right at home with Maddy, Justin and their staff. Maddy is such an unbelievable cook...dinner there was a favorite meal of the whole trip!!

We stayed in the Rasta Honeyroom Suite which was situated up on stilts for a great view! There's a small screened in porch with chairs for star gazing with a few bugs. There are lots of bugs....THIS IS THE JUNGLE! Bring lightweight long sleeve shirts and tube socks....helps so much.

We had a mini fridge that kept our beverages ice cold and air conditioning thought we didn't really need it.

The grounds are amazing and immaculate....make sure you get a tour of the Mayan ruins on the property. Loved the wild turkeys, roosters, etc. - keep in mind the animals rise early...you may want ear plugs =)

Such a great time!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley springs sd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we spent 2 days at lower dover and wish it was more! Great cabana, great new friends, awesome family style meals. My favorite of all time was the "shower with a view" Madaline is a great hostess and is very enganged with her guests. Don't forget to take a swim in the river!

Room Tip: any cabana is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have a list of places we wanted to review on Trip Advisor based on our most recent travels and Lower Dover was number one on the list. The property is beautifully kept and rooms are spotless with a rustic charm. There are rooms that will cater to all budgets and varying levels of comfort. We stayed in Coco Cabana which has an indoor toilet and outside shower- the outdoor shower added to the jungle element! The location is perfect. Set enough off the road to avoid traffic or town lights but still conveniently located close enough to San Ignacio to make excursions easy.
Madeline and her son, Justin were extraordinary hosts. They helped recommend which day trips to do, they sat and chatted with us in the evening and taught us much about the property and Belize in general. Lower Dover sits on some unexcavated Mayan ruins and Madeline was gracious enough to give us a Mayan ruin/medicinal plant tour on the property. So interesting!
The food was extra delicious (my boyfriend is still raving about the beans for breakfast) - they are fabulous cooks.
For fun Madeline showed us how to hunt for tarantulas which made for some interesting evening entertainment.
The starry night sky was gorgeous, the hammock outside our cabin was comfy, the watch dogs are incredibly sweet and friendly, and the company was lovely.
Lower Dover is the whole package, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
7.9 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
8.2 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
9.9 mi away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 59 Western Hwy - General Delivery | Pobox 346, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Dover is your Cayo District base camp * Hostel & private cabanas*River & creek swimming*On-site Maya ruins (currently being excavated)* Pristine jungle & hiking trails* Family style dining* Adventure advise(Tikal, ATM Cave & more)* EZ access via bus or rental car....."Lower Dover is like a summer camp for adults!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lower Dover Field Station And Eco Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Dover Field Station and Eco Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.