We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-visit if you're in San Ignacio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Erva's

Erva's
4 Far West Street, San Ignacio, Belize
824-2821
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A must-visit if you're in San Ignacio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went here for dinner because we heard it had great Belizean fare at low prices. It's not right on Burns Ave, but to me that is a feature, not a bug. The food we had was fabulous, and our server (Norman?) was really friendly and great.

We ate outside at nice tables and had a special chaya nachos appetizer which was fantastic. I also got the creole with conch, and it was delicious. I would order the same thing next time, but with a different protein.

I probably would not recommend the dessert unless they're cooking a banana in some way. We had the bread pudding, but we regretted it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    81
    28
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Check out the daily specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Most of the locals told us to check out Erva's for dinner so we did. The spinach appetizer was absolutely delicious...one of the best dishes on our entire two week holiday! The waiter was attentive, and obviously took pride in the dishes the kitchen was preparing...particularly the specials.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place, decent food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went here for dinner after I got into town. It was nice, but I wouldn't call it amazing. I got a burrito which was good, but not great. The staff was friendly. Overall a good experience. Sure, eat here, but I personally wouldn't call it ABSOLUTELY AMAZING or anything. Not sure what all the fuss is about :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambergris Caye, Belize
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Eat here, great food and great customer service. The food was presented well, restaurant was very clean and most important, you were able to use the bathroom and the bathroom had the necessary items: toilet that flushes, water, soap, toilet paper and paper towels for your hands!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The BEST restaurant in San Ignacio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The food is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! Great flavor and EXCELLENT service! Everyone was very nice and attentive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erva's also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Erva's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erva's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.