We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic River Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic River Resort to your Saves list
Mystic River Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 000000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in a Sapodilla room for 3 nights in March 2013 and could not have had a more perfect experience. The whole grounds were beautiful and peaceful and a wonderful introduction to the San Ignacio area. The owners could not have been any nicer or more accommodating. Anything we needed or any excursion to be planned were taken care of by Nadage. The whole staff made you feel welcome and special.
We had drinks in the outdoor bar each night before dinner in the lodge restaurant and never even felt like leaving or going anywhere else.

Seeing the baby goat and the 2 week old pony were extra special. We used the complimentary canoes to take a trip up the river. I got the best sleep listening to the birds and cicadas each night.

For the small number of rooms this place has, the meals were diverse and fresh each night.
Ben the guide that Mystic Rivers uses was amazing on our ATM tour and the packed lunches were really just perfect.

I plan on returning here the next time I come to Belize and recommend to all my friends. If you want to get away really feel what its like to live in the jungle, have your every need taken care of, whether its just sitting in a hammock or going on an adventure, Mystic River is the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us and for letting us know what a great time you had at Mystic River Resort. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Take care and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    27
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
96
296
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everybody does the beach in the Caribbean...try the jungle. Two hours from Belize City is the most customer oriented vacation, tube, ride horses, explore ruins, hike, cave, canoe, or sit in the sun and read as exotic birds chatter in the trees. Nadege and Tom with their staff do everything in their power to insure a perfect vacation. It felt like Cheers, everyone knew your name. Loved it, want to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear what a great time you had with us! Thank you for taking the time to let us know and we hope to see you again in the future. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our family loved this resort! The owners Nadage and Tom are very hands on, and help you plan each day's excursion. They have an excellent staff that anticipate your every need. We were so impressed with their customer service-nothing is any trouble for them! As an example, when my son got a sunburn, Nadage personally escorted us to their garden to cut fresh aloe vera to soothe his sunburn, and one of the guides (Lloyd) cut a piece of special tree bark that has healing properties. It worked beautifully! The staff is so friendly that we felt they were old dear friends. It was hard to leave! We just loved the bartenders ( Leo and Steve-O!) -- they were a riot! At the end of the day Isaiha will put your photos on a TV screen. It was fun to view them, talk about your day's adventures, and have a cold drink at the bar. The food was great-- not sure why a previous poster complained about the food. Every meal was delicious and the menu had nice variety. It really was gourmet. Their meals are prepared using fresh, organic ingredients from their garden. But here's the best part about Mystic-- their excursions! They have their own guides, and each tour is private. That makes a huge difference in the tour experience when it's just your family. (When we saw groups from other resorts, there were typically 8-10 people). Lloyd and Ebar were the *Best. Guides. Ever.* I can't emphasize that enough. They were so knowledgable courteous. They will point out every animal, insect and plant, also describing medicinal uses. Ebar showed us a water vine and showed us how to drink pure water from it--refreshing! Lloyd knew so much about birds, plants, and Maya history, that he could have been a professor in a university. He also speaks fluent Maya, and will even teach you a few words! We had such a lovely time, we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great view of the Macal River
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My friend and I just got back from Belize and had the best time. We stayed at Mystic River for the first 4 nights of our trip. Tom and Nadege were the most amazing hosts. Nadege met us as we checked in and then went over our adventurous itinerary. That night we went to the bar and had drinks and met Tom. After a lengthy discussion, Tom let us know that he thought we change our adventures and that he knew exactly what we should do. The first day we went to the cave ATM with Ben and had a great time, he was very knowledgeable. That afternoon we checked in for our next day adventure and found out that Tom (the owner) was going to take us zip lining, to see butterflies, and to climb a waterfall. Tom met us right after breakfast and off the three of us went in his new Polaris (like an ATV). He was extremely knowledgeable and we had an amazing day. The following day we went to visit the Mayan Ruins with Lloyd. After talking with him, he changed the itinerary and we went to an amazing waterfall to go swimming. Later that night, Tom found us and took us on a Polaris ride around the property. We ended our trip with a beautiful horseback ride around the property.

The food there was fantastic. Everything was made fresh on the premise and cooked fresh to order. They were very accommodating with likes and dislikes.

It is remarkable to level of service that Tom and Nadege and their staff provide. The service was some of if not the best service I have had at a resort. The staff made us feel extremely comfortable.

If you are looking for some adventure or just to relax by the river, this is the resort. They are able to accommodate all your travel needs.

Thanks for an awesome trip Tom and Nadege

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and i spend 4 nights here in February, we were delighted. Our hosts Nadege and Tom were very friendly and accommodating , and were at hand to make sure everything ran smoothly. The setting was spectacular and the grounds tranquil and lovely. we stayed in the Cabbage Bark cabin, it was wonderful and we had a lovely view of the River.
The restaurant was special and the food superb, the staff being friendly and very attentive, most of the food is made, grown or sourced on the property.
We did a range of activities,horse riding, yoga, birdwatching, canoeing,river tubing and a fantastic trip to the ATM caves, during or after each day there was still plenty of time to meander down to river, wander around the beautiful grounds or relax by the small pool.
All in all, a brilliant experience that comes highly recommended .
Tracey and Keith from London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

When we finally found a travel guide that even listed this wonderful resort, the author stated, "this new jungle lodge helps raise the bar on dining and stylish luxury on the Macal". What an understatement.
The experience began with a brand new van picking us up at the ferry in Belize City and taking us on a pleasant two-hour drive to the Lodge. The driver was both friendly and informative and the time went quickly.
When arriving at the lodge, we were struck with both the natural beauty of the property as well as the detailed landscaping. The owners have obviously taken great time and effort in planning an exceptional facility that uses the natural surroundings as well as their meticulous attention to detail.
We were given a quick tour by Gina who sensed our need for a bite to eat. We were shown to our room and were in awe as to its location, design, construction and construction materials and general appearance. This was far from our first experience at a resort and not our first jungle lodge experience. However, we have not stayed at a facility better than this. The attention to detail is amazing.
We began meeting the staff members; Leo, Adolfo, Romel just to name a few. They were professional attentive and quite helpful. Having spent my career in hiring personnel, I was impressed with the staff that the owners, Nedege and Tom have assembled. They are first-rate and reflect both the philosophy and commitment of the owners.
We decided not to take advantage of the tours on the first day. Instead, we stayed on the property. We found plenty to do. With the nearly 600 varieties of birds, over 30 acres of trails on the grounds, a pool for soaking, canoeing on the river or just sitting on the deck of our room overlooking the river, we could have stayed at Mystic River for two weeks!
We made arrangements to have a guide take us on a bird-watching tour the next morning. We met Ebar for the first time. Ebar is a knowedgable young man who was able to find the birds that were most elusive to the naked eye. In addition, he taught us about local plant life, animals and a history of the area we would be unable to find in most travel publications. We were so impressed, we requested that he take us on a tour the next day.
Ebar planned a tour in an open, four-seater Polaris ATV. It was one of the most pleasant days we have experienced in many years. We are a couple in our 60's and Ebar could not have been more professional and understanding. He is a most impressive young man and would be reason enough to return to the resort.
I would be remiss if I were not to praise the on-site owners, Nedege and Tom. We have experienced stays at resorts with absentee owners. This was the antithesis of such an experience. They have assembled a wonderful resort and love being there as much as guests enjoy visiting. During our visit, my wife developed a slight bug (in no way related to Mystic River Resort). Nadege called Tom on the radio and Tom brought back medication on his trip back from town. In addition, Adolfo had the chef squeeze a lime and then brought it to our room. It just doesn't get any better than that.
The dining room was always open, the variety of food was perfect and the staff quite accomodating.
On our last night, Nedege and Tom invited us to the pool for fine wine and good conversation.
It was so difficult to leave. I did not feel we were "checking out" of the resort, I felt that we had just visited good friends that we could not wait to see again. This was reinforced as Tom, the co-owner, drove us to the airport! How can this resort not be ranked #1?
If you have an opportunity to do a Surf and Turf package, or just want a wonderful experience in the jungle of Belize, this resort should not be missed.

Room Tip: All of the cottages on the river are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello Tom. Tom and I are so so happy that you had such a fabulous time with us and we just cannot wait to have you come again for another visit. It was truly an honour to meet the both of you and we are glad you chose Mystic River Resort. I let our staff know about the wonderful job they did for you and they all said "THANK YOU". Take care and have a wonderful day.
Nadege
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a good week at the excellent Turneffe Island Resort, 35 miles off the coast from Belize City, we swung the pendulum to the jungle and loved the experience even more! The setting is gorgeous, overlooking a lush forested river (which we happily canoed our first afternoon), the food is excellently prepared and served in the open-air dining room, the villa was especially great with the fireplace which we used for cool evenings. And we appreciated the small, intimate size. But the best part of the experience was the excellent guides. All the guides are very knowledgeable: ruins, birds, caves, trees, even yoga! And they were so very engaging and caring about us. Nadege and Tom have a real treasure in their staff! People make the experience, and the memories. And they did! We took the many of the popular tours (Caracol is fabulous, especially with howler monkeys moving and howl/growling thru the trees overhead!) but I want to add a good word for Laini who gave me a solo 2 hour yoga class on the gorgeous wooden platform along the river while the birds serenaded us. I am a beginning, but was invigorated by the gentle yet challenging yoga we did. Excellent!

Room Tip: Room choice? We like the one-room arrangement with the fireplace across from the bed, where I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mystic River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic River Resort

Address: Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 000000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic River Resort offers the discerning traveler luxurious suites overlooking the Macal River, all featuring king size beds, private patios and fireplaces. The view from our restaurant will leave you breathless. Come join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our chef will treat you to some of the best food in Belize. Free WIFI at dining room and bar. Relax by our new “Lilly Pool” overlooking our beautiful grounds. Canoe, tube, visit ruins and caves… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mystic River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic River Hotel San Ignacio
Mystic River Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.