We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent a wonderful weekend with my friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic River Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic River Resort to your Saves list
Mystic River Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spent a wonderful weekend with my friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

we booked the complete resort to celebrate a birthday's friend. we had the resort only for us. The staff was fantastic, they were really accommodating. As we arrived the reception was very warm and they took our luggage to our cabana overlooking the Macal river. Our room was very spacious, well appointed and with a fantastic verandah with River and jungle view, you can almost touch the trees. Then we moved to the open palapa bar where our bartender kindly served us all different kind of drinks and some complementary snacks all of this while enjoying the view of the river, when we were ready for dinner they setup a huge table for our group at la ranita restaurant, the food and service was very good. At night the sounds of the jungle are magical and in the morning at 7am we received our coffee basket and while we were enjoying our fresh cup of coffee we sighted at least 5 Toucans and different type of birds :) After a wonderful Belizean breakfast (fryjacks included) we walked down to the river and floated down river (tubed) and had our first drink by the river. The staff was so accommodating, they setup a bar for us at the river bank..that's what I call service! Lunch was really good also, I had the blackened fish sandwich along with the wonderful birthday cake that they kindly prepared for the birthday girl. Thank you to all the staff!! we had a wonderful and magical weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
111
334
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I took my two adult sons to Mystic River. It was tranquil, secluded and beautifully landscaped. Our accommodations were well done and tasteful and the bathroom was elegant. We rode horses, tubed in the river and went to ruins and the ATM cave. Amazing. Our balcony overlooked the Macal River and we were surrounded by natural beauty. The staff was friendly, and the stay was perfect. The on sight restaurant had a view that was breathtaking. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had an amazing adventure in the jungle complete with a hurricane. Nadege and Tom bent over backwards to assist us when the hurricane threatened to hit Ambergris Caye our next destination. They made numerous calls to check when the airport would reopen and made new reservations for us.They kept us constantly updated on weather reports and communicated with our next hotel. A state of emergency closed all the national parks but they managed to arrange an incredible adventure for us. They have the most excellent guides we went on several tours in other parts of the country and none of the guides were as good. The food was great with a nice variety of dishes, they also would pack lunches for us to take on our all day tours. Our room was clean and spacious with a huge shower. It was hard to believe we were in the middle of the jungle with how nice everything was. We left a credit card in the room and they made a huge effort to get ahold of us and return it. Excellent staff and service, we had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 6 days at Mystic River Resort. It is a nice resort with beautiful grounds. It is really clean and there are no mosquitoes! The property offers horseback riding, hiking, tubing, canoeing. The staff is amazing, very friendly. The food was good but a little expensive. The resort is located in a secluded area far from town. I would have like to be able to walk to town to mingle with the local and try other places to eat. Overall we had a very nice stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel was ok, but definitely doesn't deserve a 5 star rating. I was very surprised at all of the 5 star comments. It makes me wonder what the people who gave it 5 stars are comparing it to?

The food was VERY AVERAGE! I love food and am always willing to pay a premium for it, but there is nothing worse then being stranded out in the middle of no where to pay top dollar for average food. We paid about $20-$25 US for one chicken drum stick and a small portion of rice and beans.

The decor of the rooms also didn't match the setting. They were decorated like a midwestern US style bed and breakfast or a Canadian chalet, not like a jungle retreat. The rooms don't have AC so you have to keep your windows open and bugs get in from the cracks, which I guess you are in the jungle so some of this is expected.

Some people made it seem that the owners were just fantastic to deal with, so maybe we caught them at a bad time. But I felt like I was dealing a car salesman, not someone at a nice hotel. We always felt like we were being sold to. Even just a trip to town cost $25 each way. They said they would take us if someone was going, but then conveniently no one was going so we walked and then saw at least 4 hotel staff pass us on our walk into town.

We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and this is definitely not one I would give 5 stars to, but maybe it is better then what's around in this particular area and that is way it's rated so highly. Lower your expectations and you might be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Tom and I were quite surprised when we read your review especially since your last comments to us when you were leaving were what an amazing time you had! I am very sorry you did not enjoy the food we served you, especially our delicious Belizean special of Rice & Beans, which includes your choice of chicken/beef/pork or fish, with a healthy helping of rice and beans, coleslaw and fried plantain (the cost of which is $15 US). If I recall correctly, you did express the desire to walk to town for exercise, which was quite unusual since we had offered to call a taxi for you as we had no scheduled trip to town. I did check in my log book and we did not have anyone leaving for town that day so the staff you saw was definitely not ours!
Our units are furnished using the skills of local craftsmen and local hardwoods such as mahogany. All our tables for example were made by the folks at the Cayo Deaf Institute which helps young people with hearing problems develop a craft which they can use to support themselves. We are very proud to be an active participant in their program.
Tom and I are very enthusiastic when it comes to answering our guests’ questions and describing the activities and adventures our guests can participate in in the Cayo District of Belize. We are very proud of what we have to offer and do not want anyone to miss out. If we have offended you by doing this and did not meet your expectations, please do accept our sincerest apologies. Thank you for taking the time to write your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went to Mystic River, San Ignacio without having done our homework on what to do there. But luckily for us, we met Nadege, a co-owner of the resort when we checked in and were able to make great use of our time there. The afternoon we arrived, we immediately set off on a hike through the beautiful grounds that belong to the property. That evening we went tubing down river with Nadege herself accompanying us on the drive to the starting point. We got back in time for happy hour at the bar where all the guests and the owners Tom and Nadege congregate every evening for a pleasant chat and a debriefing on everyone's adventures. The next day was taken up in an expedition to ATM caves - probably the most impressive tourist destination in all of Belize. Here we swam and waded up river, slithered between and clambered over slippery rocks taking in impressive stalactites and Mayan pottery and skeleteons dating back to the 2nd to 8th century AD in a cave system that was more than half a kilometer long! All this wearing spelunking gear - a helmet with a headlight to illiuminate our way. Back again to happy hour and a relaxing time in our large and comfortable bungalow. The food and service in the resort dining room was excellent throughout. Our last day there, we paddled the resort's canoe to San Ignacio (a two hour trip) where our luggage and driver were waiting to drive us to our next destination.

Yes, the meals were a little expensive and we did not have many other options than eating at the resort, but all in all it is well worth it if you want a relaxing, yet adventurous vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I can't say more than was already said. A full service resort. Fantastic tours (we did ATM, Caracol, tubing, and zip lining) and we are late 40's. Great staff, great guides, good food, beautiful rooms. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
0.0 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic River Resort

Address: Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic River Resort offers the discerning traveler luxurious suites overlooking the Macal River, all featuring king size beds, private patios and fireplaces. The view from our restaurant will leave you breathless. Come join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our chef will treat you to some of the best food in Belize. Free WIFI at dining room and bar. Relax by our new “Lilly Pool” overlooking our beautiful grounds. Canoe, tube, visit ruins and caves… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mystic River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic River Hotel San Ignacio
Mystic River Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.