We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventures and cocktails” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic River Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic River Resort to your Saves list
Mystic River Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adventures and cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We spent several nights at Mystic River with our children, 6 and 3 1/2 and loved every minute of it. The kids loved riding the horses on the property and canoeing on the river. Mystic River offers the highest level of comfort and quality that you can get in a resort that is truly in the rain forest (six miles from the nearest paved road).

But I will have to say that the most memorable part of our trip was when we left the kids behind (Tom and Nadege can find you a sitter) and went off on an adventure of our own. Swimming into a cave used for ancient Mayan ceremonies in clear, cold water immediately sharpened my senses.

After swimming and climbing through some tight squeezes, we found ourselves in a beautiful cave chamber filled with ancient artifacts and a few surprises that I can't reveal.

Back at the resort, our kids had been well entertained (and thoroughly worn out), so we enjoyed dinner and got them to bed early and enjoyed a glass of wine (maybe it was two glasses) on the deck of our cabin before making our way to bed and anxiously awaiting another adventure the next day.

We can't wait to get back. Tom and Nadege make this special location an extraordinary place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
107
329
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Havant
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We returned to Mystic River after a two year gap, having been lucky enough to be amongst the first Guests at the newly opened Mystic River in March 2009. Our first visit was exceptional and we were equally impressed when we visited in 2011.

Arriving at Mystic River was like returning to visit Old Friends, we were made welcome by the very efficient staff who provide a service second to none. Tom and Nadege are excellent hosts who aim to make their guests visit, everything they would want it to be. Wether you wish to do adventure activities, explore Mayan Ruins and the jungle by horse from their own excellent stables or just to relax and unwind within the resort your every wish is catered for.

On our first evening we had dinner with Tom and Nadege who are excellent hosts, they make an effort to dine with their guests at least once during their visit. We were brought upto date with all the new improvements that had been done over the last two years. They have been very busy and continue to be so, with new and exciting projects continually on the go, under the watchful eye of Tom.

Mystic River offers fabulous accommodation, large private Cabanas, luxuriously appointed (Nadege's eye for detail and interior design) with views from the veranda down to the Macal River. The large open sided restaurant serves excellent food. Here you can enjoy a leisurely breakfast and watch the birds at the feeding stations, or enjoy excellent 'a la carte' dinners in the evening after a full day of activities.

We highly recommend Mystic River to anyone wishing to visit Belize, you will not be dissapointed. A very big vote of confidence and thanks, to Tom and Nadege and their staff, for yet again making our visit to Belize unforgetable. We hope to visit again next year and Mystic River will be at the top of our list for another return visit.

Room Tip: All Cabanas are of an equally very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We recently stayed at Mystic River Resort for our honeymoon and it was amazing! Nadege, Tom, and all the staff made us feel very welcome, making our honeymoon perfect. There was so much to do at this first class resort in the jungle! We canoed into San Ignacio to visit the open market, visited Mayan ruins, and went horseback riding through the jungle.
The view of the river from our room was breathtaking, along with tucans, parrots, and many hummingbirds. If you are a bird lover, this is the place for you!
We were sad to leave and will return again! Thank you Mystic River for making our honeymoon memorable!
Jeremey and Jennifer
Indiana

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was my third visit to Mystic River Resort. I had promised my friend that I'd show her the jungle in a first class manner,, and thanks to Tom and Nadege, owners of this wonderful place, I was able to do just that. We had a beautiful room (#11 is the best!), great food and a terrific jungle experience.
Mystic River is close to most of the major Mayan ruins, which makes it an ideal destination for that sort of thing. We also zip lined, went through a cave in a canoe, visited a butterfly farm (don't knock it til you try it - I was AMAZED), and went to the Saturday market in nearby San Ignacio. We sat in lawn chairs in the Macal River, watching the water lazily move downstream, enjoyed the pool (a lot, since it was just us!) and overall had a wonderful time.
The beach in Belize is great. But take time to see the other side. Go to Mystic River Resort. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We loved every moment at Mystic River, from happy hours with Tom and Nadege, to lounging in the river in beach chairs with beer in hand, to taking a special Tom led tour on the ATV and hiking to a remote waterfall. It was an incredible experience with great food and friendly accommodating hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I could move right in to a horse stable here and be as happy as a clam. My husband and I stayed here from 25-29 May on the Jungle Easy Package (included roundtrip transfer to Belize City, breakfast/dinner for 3 days and two tours--we swapped out Caracol for Tikal for a difference of $140). We had a beautiful, clean room overlooking the river and surrounded by trees. We could sit on our back porch and watch the sun set or listen to the symphony of nighttime bugs, birds and frogs. One drawback with the room is no air conditioning. It was hot, hot, HOT when we were there and I thought my husband was going to pass out from the heat. So just keep in mind that if you come here during a hot time or you're not used to the heat, it might be tough to adjust to. They have fireplaces in the room for cool nights---although I suspect that means they don't have heat--something else to keep in mind.

You really are situated right in the jungle and are surrounded by wildlife. I loved sitting in the bar or restaurant and watching the birds fly by or listening to the bugs. The place is magical at night with a star-filled sky, a symphony of bugs and the paths are lit by tiki torches. The pool area was my favorite place at night. Its a teeny tiny lap pool that's only 4 feet deep but its warm, has a beautiful fountain, and is up on a hill overlooking the tiki torches burning below.

The barn area is a blast too. The horses are friendly and you can feed them mangos, the cow Rosebud will let you scratch behind her ears and moos after you when you walk away. They also had a 6 day-old horse when we were there and I got to play with him for 45 minutes one day. Also you can feed the cute bunnies carrots.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and you get a very personal experience here. The owners eat at the restaurant every night and they will come up to you to make sure you're having a great stay. My husband chatted with them for at least an hour about how Mystic River came to be. The food was really excellent and you get an appetizer, main course and dessert included in the package. We really felt like we were the only people at the resort too even though it was packed. Free wifi in the bar and restaurant.

The tours were amazing and the guides were very knowledgeable, patient, and friendly. We went to Xunantunich and Cahal Pech (a half-day tour) and then to Tikal (full day tour). They all involve a lot of walking and time in the sun so bring good shoes, sunscreen, and be sure to ask the restaurant to give you bottled water (Belize doesn't recycle so the hotel will give you reusable bottles). Outside of Xunantunich is an outdoor market where you can get a variety of inexpensive locally made goods. Our tour guide let us shop for about half an hour.

On our last day we went into San Ignacio for the open air market they have on Saturday mornings 9-noon. It was fun to interact with the locals and experience life in San Ignacio, but it was hot and crowded and there's really not much to do there. Mystic River charged us $20 to take us into town and then we had to find a cab driver (not easy) to take us back for $30. You can canoe into town for free and then Mystic River will either send someone to pick you up or take a taxi back. There are some shops with local goods so if you want to buy some well-priced crafts San Ignacio is a good spot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

The rooms at Mystic River are very nice. There is no AC so when its hot you should be prepared to have no AC for sleeping. I dont mind that so much so it did not bother me. Afterall, you are in the jungle. The owners have done a great job of being self sufficient all the way out there and the grounds are beautiful. I can only see the place getting better with time as the grounds have time to mature and the foliage grows which will give more privacy to each room. I loved the coffee in the morning delivered to our door. A very nice touch. My only complaint would be that I thought the prices mights be slightly high for food and drink but considering what they have to do to get things there, I can understand. It might be a nice touch if they added to the coffee basket a fresh pastry or complimentary fruit as most resorts up there include cont breakfast in the rate. That woudl be a nice addition when using the name "resort". Be sure to be very specific about directions if you are driving there yourself. I have travelled all over the world and understand how the roads can be misleading sometimes. My suggestion would be when you leave the airport, go left out of the airport towards then take keep taking rights when the directions on the website say to take left. we tried to explain this when we arrived there but we were told we were wrong and the directions were clear. Whatever the case, we tried both ways and the "rights" won. :)
All in all great stay. Its out there so know that if you go, you will not be able to eat dinner out unless you want to drive the dirt road 20 min to get to town. It's definitely a retreat and a place to relax.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mystic River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic River Resort

Address: Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic River Resort offers the discerning traveler luxurious suites overlooking the Macal River, all featuring king size beds, private patios and fireplaces. The view from our restaurant will leave you breathless. Come join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our chef will treat you to some of the best food in Belize. Free WIFI at dining room and bar. Relax by our new “Lilly Pool” overlooking our beautiful grounds. Canoe, tube, visit ruins and caves… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mystic River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic River Hotel San Ignacio
Mystic River Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.