We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wonderful honeymoon adventure at Mystic River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mystic River Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mystic River Resort to your Saves list
Mystic River Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our wonderful honeymoon adventure at Mystic River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Well, where to start? We spent our honeymoon at Mystic river and stayed there for 11 nights. This resort is the most wonderful place I have ever been to in my life and so many things have made it the most perfect honeymoon we could have wished for. Nadege and Tom the owners of this paradise have created a fantastic warm, family atmosphere where you can choose to do as much or as little as you please, all they care about is that you have a good time.
From the moment we arrived in Belize we walked out of the airport and were greeted by our cheerful guide Lloyd, who helped us with our luggage into the jeep and got us on our way with confidence. All of the arrangements were taken care of by Mystic River so all we had to do was sit back and take in the gorgeous scenery on the way to the lodge.
On arrival we were far from disappointed, the place looks incredible, like an oasis within an oasis!
The welcome was very friendly and warm and Gina the lovely manager showed us our individual lodge, an incredible living space with a 4 poster bed and luxurious bathroom wetroom. No expense has been spared anywhere on the finish of the accommodation and you can tell that someone has put their heart into building something so breathtaking. Each room has a balcony of its own and looks down to the river (a great place to chill out and listen to the amazing insect noises). The bed was extremely comfortable and always immaculately made by the housekeeping staff each day. We received coffee and tea in a basket each morning left on our doormat which is something I am finding it hard to be without since returning !!
The Restaurant and bar area faces out onto the Macau river and has been designed to take your breath away. The breakfast menu is varied, with plenty of choices including some more exotic ones like banana bread (RECOMMENDED) but not forgetting the traditional cooked breakfast which was my favourite. Whilst you eat you will see Iguanas and many fantastically coloured birds eating melon and papaya from a perch beside the restaurant. Lunch is available throughout the day and you will not believe the choices on offer. The chef David who does the lunch and dinner service uses mostly all home grown ingredients to create foods which are now some of my favourite (Chicken Quesedillas is one not to miss). DInner wise the same applies. You will feel like you are dining at a michelin star bistro and whether you choose from the a la carte menu or one of the daily specials you will be smiling when you finish. Locally caught fish and amazing meat selections are available and all cooked to perfection. I grew to like the Mushroom Crepes so much by the end of our trip that the kitchen made me a special large one- thanks again for that! The atmosphere in the dining space is always friendly but this is further achieved by the waiting staff Luis and Edwin in particular and the awesome barman Leo with his cocktails that we liked very very much!!
Each of the staff not only excelled in their service but we are oroud to say we became great friends by the end of our stay. We would often sit in the bar looking out onto the river chatting with other guests about the mad activities they had been on during the day. The resort helped us to arrange excursions and an overnight trip to Guatamala to visit Tikal national park (it was incredible) so we didnt have to worry about anything.Tom, one of the owners has a buggy which can go anywhere in the jungle took us 3 miles upstream and launched us into the river with tubes. It takes an hour to float back down taking in the scenery in bliss and will not be something we will forget. Ziplining is another one which you need to try out if you want some safe excitement swinging across the jungle. Tom also took us to a private waterfall where we swam and jumped into the various rockpools and had a picnic in the sun. We enjoyed his company immensely and he made us feel very safe on our trek through the jungle which is obviously reassuring. We grew very close to Nadege and she is amazing with all of the guests but should be credited for the part she plays in the whole experience. It was sad for us to leave in the end as we know it may be a few years before we can go back and we liked everyone so much. We stayed at the resort for 11 nights and are officially their longest staying guests which we are proud of. We challenge you to stay their for longer and enjoy even more of what they have to offer. If you are sitting there reading this and wondering if this is the place you should take your next holiday, the answer is YES! Take our word for it you cannot even imagine how fantastic our wonderful honeymoon adventure was at Mysstic River. Thanks again, James and Shelley McDowell- United Kingdon

Room Tip: They are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
111
334
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Mystic River has it all. The property is exactly as depicted in their web site--well maybe even better. The views were beautiful, the rooms comfortable and well appointed, the food was delicious (we didn't even want to leave the resort) and the staff were friendly and accommodating.
My husband and I and another couple stayed 5 nights and it was the perfect combination of taking advantage of all there is to do in the Cayo district and relaxing around the pool or in the river at the resort. We had only to think about what to do and it was arranged for us.
Nadege and Tom have created this amazing eco-resort in the Belizean jungle that feels more like staying with friends in the complete sense of personal attention and service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband, 10 year old son, and I stayed at Mystic River Resort for 4 nights, before heading to San Pedro. As everyone before me has said, Nadege and Tom are so welcoming and all the staff truly want to make your stay memorable!

Nadege and Tom welcomed us as we arrived and gave us lots of information about the grounds and surrounding area over evening cocktails (we arrived in the evening). The following morning Tom drove us, in a super-fun Polaris AWD buggy, up the ridge of the property to show us the hiking trails they had made. To my son's extreme pleasure, we then did the "mayan roller-coaster" style decent.

This is just one example of how in-tune Nadege and Tom our to each guest's individual interests and pleasures. Lots of different activities are available on the property, from loungers and hammocks to canoeing and horseback riding. All of it top notch.

As other reviewers have mentioned, they have put a lot of thought into the design and layout to make the resort environmentally friendly without sacrificing an ounce of comfort. The cabins are beautifully furnished and spacious. The grounds (appx 70 acres) are a wonderful mix of natural and functional. I had a very pleasurable moment poking through their orchard and vegetable gardens early one morning, only to bump into their head-gardener who then gave me a wonderful tour of their growing area.

Due to the fact, Nadege and Tom did not cut any more natural growth than necessary, we were delighted to see Toucans, Aracari, lots of parrots and other wildlife throughtout our stay.

Nadege and Tom both made a point of bidding us farewell, and we ended our stay by canoeing from Mystic River Resort to San Ingnacio, where a member of the staff met us with our luggage. I wouldn't have changed a thing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night with our friends and had a wonderful time! Nadge & Tom were fantastic and very hospitable!!! The location is amazing! Don't be fooled by the long dirt road...it is worth the drive! The food was amazing. The suites are beautiful! Mystic River is a great place to get away and be in peace! The Mayan ruins are relatively close. My only regret is only staying one night. You need at least 2 to make the most of it! Would definitely recommend Mystic River!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saavannah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Nadege and Tom thank you for all you do and the details of making your guest feel so welcome. Nadege personally greeted us at arrival and at departure. It was a wonderful stay and just what we were looking for...small resort with a luxury feel but remote and private. Your staff was exceptional and we especially appreciated Lloyd's open heart generousity and Lewis' smiling face! The food was incredible and our hats off to your chef. The food was the BEST we had in all the places we stayed in Belize (including Turtle Inn)! Thank you also for arranging our excursions for the ATM & ziplining. It was very special to us that we had our own private guides and were the only ones there.

To those who are looking to book, a suggestions that we will do next time we go back: STAY MORE DAYS HERE! Since we stayed in Belize for 2 weeks, we booked southern Belize, the jungle and northern Belize. 3 days at Mystic River Resort was not enough. Make sure enjoy the cocktails at the bar with Tom & Nadege who are such a pleasure to chat with. It was impressive how much they care about their guests and making their stay truly a personalize 5 star experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

My husband and I and friends stayed two nights at Mystic River Resort.... and were in jungle bliss. Nadege and Tom have made this into a true paradise.....as all the reviews before us have stated. They have put their heart and soul into this resort and it shows in every way. From the very comfortable river view suites, the open air restaurant, bar and lots of comfortable lounging spots around the property to view the river and bird life. The staff are extremely helpful and responsive to questions or requests. Nadege's and Tom's attention to the details in making this a eco-friendly resort are commendable. They have started an orchid and organic garden, raise chickens for eating as well as fresh eggs everyday. The infrastructure components (water, drainage, generator, etc) are tastefully done or completely out of site.

We drove our own vehicle (AWD) to the resort and the next day one of the staff (Eber) accompanied us to Caracol and was an excellent guide both on the Mayan culture as well as local flora and fauna and how to get to a local water fall and swimming hole for a nice swim to wash off the heat and dust of the day.

Yes, the road is a bit bumpy and a slow drive in, but well worth the tranquility and access to the Macal river you have once you are there. You have access to all attractions in the Cayo District area from here. On our last day there we chose to canoe down the Macal River to San Ignacio. Staff from Mystic River Resort drove our vehicle down to meet us and we left from there.

We will definitely return, maybe in the cooler months to try out the fireplace in the river suites and for more of this jungle-river bliss!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

This place is Nadege & Tom's project, and you can tell how much they care about getting it right. The standards that they set are high, and they try their best to make sure that the staff meet them at all times.

Our room was so comfortable and spacious, with it's own balcony. Coffee is delivered every morning, and the food on site was very good. We stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The bar is a nice place to have a drink before dinner, and we enjoyed talking to the staff here, learning about the local area and wildlife.

We went on a couple of excursions - to Caracol, which was great and worth going to even though it's 2 hours to get there. We also went to Xunantunich, which was ok but the least impressive Mayan site that we visited on our trip. It is however easy to get to, but gets very busy as a result. We also didn't like that the trip included a stop in a pre-designated restaurant for lunch, especially since we had been to better places in town.

San Ignacio is worth a visit, especially for the market - the road to town is bumpy, to say the least, but we got a lift in with the staff and the taxi fare back of $25 US was worth it given the pounding that the suspension got!

Nadege was also kind enough to drive us to the airport for the next part of our trip, and was happy to wait a couple of hours while we visited Belize zoo on the way - that's a must do for anyone!

It's really hard to fault this place, because it's trying so hard, but there are a couple of comments that I would make:

1 - The coffee delivered to our rooms was lovely, but the coffee at breakfast was too weak!
2 - There was a noticeable absence of local cooking. There is a Belizean cooking night once a week, but I would have liked to see bit more of it on the menu, especially at breakfast. The food however was very good.
3 - The staff are trying so hard that it can sometimes come across as a bit forced. We would have preferred it if they were able to be more relaxed.

However, these were minor things. The staff around the resort and in the office couldn't have done more to try to make our stay as good as possible, and we had a really enjoyable time here.

Room Tip: Do the nature walk - we saw a snake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
0.0 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic River Resort

Address: Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#3 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic River Resort offers the discerning traveler luxurious suites overlooking the Macal River, all featuring king size beds, private patios and fireplaces. The view from our restaurant will leave you breathless. Come join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our chef will treat you to some of the best food in Belize. Free WIFI at dining room and bar. Relax by our new “Lilly Pool” overlooking our beautiful grounds. Canoe, tube, visit ruins and caves… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mystic River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic River Hotel San Ignacio
Mystic River Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mystic River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.