We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a taste of Belizian food on our excursion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hode's Place Bar & Grill

Hode's Place Bar & Grill
Savannah Road, San Ignacio, Belize
0115018042522
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 58 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
LEXINGTON
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a taste of Belizian food on our excursion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our tour bus stopped at Hodes on the way back from the Mayan ruins. This place has plenty of room, and service was super fast. Basic plastic seating and tables for decor, but it's clean. We had chicken, rice with beans, salad and a plantain. Cokes were $1. They had beer too. I sampled some of the hot sauces on my rice. I ended up buying a bottle of the sweet pepper sauce for $3. Really good. Regular hot sauces are $2. They do have a clean bathroom. There are locals in kiosks outside the restaurant selling souvineers. I enjoyed the food, my husband thought there wasn't enough of it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    82
    38
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battambang, Cambodia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Hode’s fajitas are to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hode’s got it all, family-type surroundings and food that has an assertive, garlicky taste like that which is usually found in roots Mediterranean cuisine. In unsophisticated jargon, Hode’s grub has a swaggering attitude that pulls no punches and his place has an unpretentious, no-frills décor that defines homey
Hode’s Place is a diamond in the rough. Its pragmatic furnishings composed of generic plastic tables and a few Formica-covered board picnic tables with plastic chairs are working class comfortable to the bone.
Hode’s Place is a mom and pop business owned by Eugene and Naravette Burns. They opened it on a part-time basis on Holy Saturday of 1998. In the ensuing years Hode’s Place has attracted a loyal and large clientele from across the socio-economic and political spectrum. The wealthy sit elbow to elbow with the grass roots chowing down on Hode’s high powered garlic steeped victuals. The vibes are cool and the grub is pleasingly macho.
The main dining area is a humungous patio situated in an orange grove.
Hode’s Place in Cayo is a rare find; exceptional food in a family-fun setting. It can’t be beat, check it out for your taste buds sake if nothing else. The saying is “garlic is as good as ten mothers”, well Hode’s Place is at least that good and isn’t shy with that same potent seasoning either. Their fajitas are to die for.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Who doesn't love BBQ chicken?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Food is good old ordinary menu. Setting is surrounded by an orange grove. We hid out from the rain for 2 hours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“rice and beans or beans and rice?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hode's is a fun outdoor/indoor restaurant on the way back from the ruins. We had chicken and red beans and rice, mixed together and it was delicious. We learned that the dish is most popular in Belize.
Beans can be served separate from the rice or together (which is much better) Hode's has been around a long time.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were there when there were no cruise ship buses and enjoyed a quiet lunch near the orange grove. Best rice and beans I have ever had.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hode's Place Bar & Grill also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Hode's Place Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hode's Place Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.