We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They deliver!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hode's Place Bar & Grill

Hode's Place Bar & Grill
Savannah Road, San Ignacio, Belize
0115018042522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 58 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They deliver!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hodes's is a beautiful place. Outside dining is a huge area with a big children's play area and orange groves behind it that are well tended. Very relaxing atmosphere. Food is good. Best thing about Hode's for me is that they will deliver. Whenever I was swimming at the Midas resort nearby, Hode's would deliver food there. They also have a small casino there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    89
    41
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good for a Quick Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Tour guide brought us here after a tour of the ruins. It was pouring rain, and the tin roof apparently had a few places where it wasn't totally closed up. We got a little wet, but it wasn't too bad. I enjoyed getting to try Belizian food... flavors were good and I really enjoyed the fried plantain, but since they were serving such a large tour group, the food was less warm when they got it to us. There was a good beverage selection. Most importantly, be sure to try all of the hot sauces- they were great and really completed the meal. I considered buying some to bring home, but didn't have enough time before the bus was ready to leave.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Watch your bill carefully”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hodes is a good restaurant for the food which is very good. The service is also good but deceptive. The prices are a rip-off. We each ordered entrees which the menu said came with two small side dishes. I confirmed this with the server. We were told it was all included. When our bill came, we were charged $4 each for those small side dishes, one of which was a tiny bowl of coleslaw. We felt like they had done that on purpose. The entrees were small and in any other restaurant the "sides" would have been included. Though the food was good and so is the atmosphere, watch your bill carefully and dispute any extra charges. They seem to want to take advantage of tourists. Don't trust what they say.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stopped here for lunch; great menu - nice range of options, and they were really good about working around my allergies.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor in every respect.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

No atmosphere, plainly uninterested staff, below average food served almost cold. The only surprising thing about the place was how busy it was. Avoid!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hode's Place Bar & Grill also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Hode's Place Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hode's Place Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.