We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable lodging, attractive location, great food, and friendly hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge
On the Macal River in the jungle, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
4th night FREE
Ranked #2 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable lodging, attractive location, great food, and friendly hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We're a family of four (2 daughters, ages 9,12) and we stayed in the Jaguar cabin, which was very clean and comfortable. It is set in the jungle and it felt like the jungle in that there was a lot of beautiful foliage and wildlife (the most that we'd seen on our extensive trip throughout the country), but the temperature was pleasantly moderate and there were surprisingly very few bugs. A short walk from the lodge is the Macal River, which we floated (using the lodge's tubes) to the Belize Botanic Gardens. Along the river, we saw a few iguanas (one was huge!) and an egret colony. In addition to all of the natural wildlife, Ron and Al (the owners) have a pet toucan and 2 parrots. You'll get a warm welcome from Ron and Al, who offer savory yet nutritious meals at their outdoor dining cabana. Ron and Al are readily available to meet your requests and offer helpful travel advice. Our only complaint about the cabin would be that the shower wasn't working for a couple of days, but Ron and Al have a great staff and quickly addressed the problem. From the lodge, we easily accessed Caracol, ATM cave, and Rio On pools. Caracol is a bit of a drive on a dirt road, but the road is well maintained. Visiting Caracol then having a dip in the pools is a great way to spend the day.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
123
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Although only 6 miles from San Ignacio, this place feels like it is WAY of the beaten track. There are 5 eco-cabanas, each privately situated with their own jungle view. The cabanas were clean, comfortable, and fashionably decorated. Each has a private bathroom and veranda. We loved the grounds and roamed around for a couple of days. There are trails that take you by the beautiful river, past amazing, giant trees, and even some Mayan ruins. We took 2 complimentary tubing trips down the river - this was amazing as we had the whole river to ourselves - gorgeous scenery! The food was great, and I really felt like Ron and Al went out of their way to prepare us something special. Ron and Al were great hosts, and we had so much fun with them. If you are looking for a swimming pool, room service, and satellite TV... you should not stay here. This place is for those with an adventurous spirit, who want to enjoy all the beauty and inspiration of a place off the beaten track. Have fun, and safe travels!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We had the time of our lives out here. It is beautiful, peaceful, comfortable, and exotic. The owners are friendly and helpful, and you have all you need right there for a great relaxing stay. I will return over and over again. Here we stayed in the middle of the Belizean jungle, yet were treated like royalty. The beach at the lodge is beautiful and clean, and a short walk to a Maya ruin site. It had everything we were looking for.
Mary and Shawn from Las Vegas, NV

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

on my way to macaw bank jungle lodge i was wondering where in the world am i headed but on my pleasant arrival i was amazed to see nothing but unspoiled beauty the cabanas were awsome the kerosine lamps really added a rustic look to the place witch i liked omg the food was excellent (cooked w love i would say) if u should ever visit this lodge im sure that u wont regret coming also ull come to find that ron and al are really good people w great hospitality

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

What a wonderful trip! Everything about the trip was relaxing, thanks to our kind and accomodating hosts, Ron & Al. The grounds were stunning- there were hammocks set up for afternoon naps (complete with rum and coke- a local favorite....and, by the way, Belizean Rum is to die for!), beautiful orchids, and, even Mayan ruins! Mornings entailed waking up to the sound of parrots and toucans passing overhead. We enjoyed meandering down the river on tubes while watching the sun drugged iguanas lazing on the rocks. They are quite knowledgeable about the area and helped us find the best places to visit and eat in Belize, as well as, Guatemala. And, speaking of food, we were offered a variety of meals at their restaurant, ranging from local Belizean specialties to Italian to their native Chesapeake Bay cuisine. Thank you, Ron and Al, for a relaxing vacation. Can't wait to go back and stay at your beautiful and peaceful resort again!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Thanks so much for the superior service, food, lodging, and the friendships we know will last a lifetime! Macaw bank is the FIRST place we will stay on our next trip to Belize!
Everything, including the scenery, activities, pets, atmosphere, made us feel relaxed and at home; can't say enough about the experience; wish we could have spent more time there! Les & Cori Babcock, AB Canada

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

Before I write my review of the property itself, just in case my first sentence is all you read, I have to rave about the food! The food at Macaw blew some of the 5 star restaurants we've eaten at in the city, out of the water. There wasn't one thing that we didn't enjoy. Even if you chose to stay somewhere else (which you would miss out if you did) then at least do yourself a favor and make dinner reservations at Macaw for one night. Your mouth will thank you.

We were doing some research for a travel blog and visited five other properties and lodges in the cayo area. We found Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge to be a true hidden gem. I was nervous heading into the jungle for the first time (away from all of the conveniences of Manhattan). But as soon as my husband and I pulled onto the property, every hesitation I had went right out the window. The property is beautiful and well kept, it's like a little Garden of Eden tucked away from the rest of the world. The cabins are wonderful, well built, clean and charming.

Ron & Al are amazing. There's really no other way to say it, they are just two splendid individuals who really make you feel like part of the family. Their taste in design, and decor is rustic & simple yet stylish and the perfect compliment to the jungle. Ron's stories are wonderful dinner entertainment and Al is great conversation. They keep you company without being overbearing or pushy. Henry and Eduardo are also a fantastic part of the 'family'.

We stayed in the Toucan cabin. It didn't look like so much from the outside but as soon as we opened the doors, we fell in love. The hard wood was stunning and it was obvious how much thought went into every detail. I will admit I was glad to have a little fan. That being said, soon after night fall it cooled enough to turn it off. The gift shop that they have put together is great. We picked up a few really great pieces from the collection that Ron has pulled together. Overall, Macaw is truly a phenomenal find.

PS-I'm still hoping for a 'Macaw Bank Cook Book' Ron!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
4.3 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
5.8 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mystic River Resort
Mystic River Resort
#3 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
6.4 mi away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
5.0 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge

Address: On the Macal River in the jungle, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, romantic honeymoon destination, naturalist paradise, ornithologist will especially love our beautiful Macal River frontage with access to many activities and adventures. Cabanas are private, secluded, spacious, clean, with screened windows,private deck or veranda, private baths, fans, and lights. Many activities available. Volleyball, croquet, river tubing, hiking, bird watching, etc. Tours are arranged complimentary. Close to ATM Caves, Caracol, Belize Botanical Gardens,zip line, horseback riding, San Ignacio town and market, Xunantunich, Greenhills Butterfly Ranch, Barton Creek Cave, Eljio Panti National Park, and much more... Tubes provided complimentary for guests. Canoeing available. WI-FI provided free of charge. Restaurant on premises, gift shop, bar. Five miles of well groomed nature trails,ancient trees, park like jungle setting, hammocks,lending library, ping pong table,telescope for use by our star gazing guests, camping also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macaw Bank Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.