We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real jungle experience and amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge
On the Macal River in the jungle, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Fall Special Free night
Ranked #2 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real jungle experience and amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

If you're going to Western Belize and you want to stay in the jungle, there's no better place to go. Ron and Al, the owners of Macaw Bank, are not only gracious hosts, provide great dinner conversation, and having an amazing asthetic, they are also incredible chefs! The jungle lodge has everything you would want from a remote experience without having to 'rough it'. It's a perfect place to wander around and look for wildlife. We forgot our binoculars, but they were happy to lend us a pair to look for the toucans we were hearing all day. We found the toucan, green parrots, and many more amazing birds. We only wish we had more time to stay and explore the trails around the lodge. Ron and Al are experts in the area and will advise you on all of the best things to do and see (Rio on Pools, Black Rock Falls) and will help you book tours like to the ATM cave if you want to leave the lodge and explore the area. Thank you guys for a great experience we'll never forget!

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and every room is uniquely decorated. We loved our little cabana.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
111
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I had a lovely 3-day stay here in February. Ron and Al are great hosts, very personable and helpful. Ron is amazingly quick to answer emails and very helpful with transportation or tour needs. Greatly appreciated! Their staff is also very sweet and attentive. I stayed in the Orchid cabin. Pleasantly decorated, clean, comfortable, good bed. Choice of using oil lamps or electric lights the latter don't create a lot of light, more a convenience light). It's in the jungle so expect "jungley" things: you may see spiders and a gecko may poop in your sink. There is no closet, I used one of the extra beds for my clothes so no problem, but if you're in one cabin with a lot of people (it sleeps 4) that could be an issue. The staff lights torches at night so you can find your way from your cabin to the dining room. Very beautiful and very welcoming. I traveled solo and other guests very nicely invited me to share their table. That may or may not happen depending on who is there.

Room Tip: Some cabins have thatch roofs, some do not. Thatch roofs are charming but also tend to host more cri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macawbank, Owner at Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We are happy that your stay with us was enjoyable. We are always looking for ways to improve our services, and take the reviews of our valued guests very seriously. Some things are pure nature, and are out of our control. We do our best to control pests, but as I am sure you are aware, we are a genuine eco friendly lodge, and have never done any type of mass fumigation to eliminate any creatures, or critters that are a natural part of this eco system. We do from time to time fumigate the rooms to eliminate critters that our guests are not accustomed to living with. None of these critters are harmful, and in fact are beneficial. We are in the jungle !!

I must also reply to your advice, to other guests, about the space provided for personal belongings. We have had many families of four visit who have never complained about a lack of space for their belongings. We provide a shelving unit, clothes tree, various hooks, and night stand with spacious drawers, a folding table for luggage, chairs, tables with locking drawer, and designed the beds so that there is ample space for storing luggage underneath.

We are truly grateful for your taking the time to write, and hope you will someday return to beautiful Belize for another visit.

Sincere thanks,

Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Really ace place, Ron, Al & the crew (and Tallulah) are lovely. The location is great, lots of places to explore nearby, river tubing was an experience not to be missed.
Food, cocktails, cabins all great. Getting up for the dawn chorus, sitting out at night with a drink or two, listening to the forest & watching the fireflies & stars.
Star of the show is Tallulah the Coati, who is a bundle of fun & I was completely smitten.
Could have stayed a lot longer & will deffo to go back, really peaceful & relaxing.
They light the paths with lanterns at night, which certainly adds to the atmosphere.
A few more places opening nearby, but still plenty of jungle to go at, road had just been smoothed (election time!), but will return to normal once the rains come (we were assured).
No pool, but the river is fine.
Ask Al about the Mayan Ghost... see pics!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

What a great place! You are in the jungle, no manicured lawns and planted gardens here. The owners live on site and are the manager, chef and guides. This is a small scale "done by owner" operation - And this owner really cares about his guests! The cabins are all privately nestled in the jungle, well maintained, clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but thoughtfully built and decorated. The food is great - Ron and Al are not only great cooks but go out of their way to learn about the foods you like and cater to your tastes - not an issue for me but a nice touch for my vegetarian daughter and sometimes picky younger child. Not an easy task for the cooks as they are cooking one meal for all the guests. Birdlife and the sounds of nature surround you here. There are a few lovely walks on property including down the to river. You can easily spend one day just on the grounds. Of course loads of adventures await you on the Mountain Pine Ridge and in the San Ignacio area if you like. However the roads can be an adventure themselves ! Everything all the other reviewers have said about this place are right on target. We hated to leave this place! The only suggestion I would make is to consider cutting back the vegation around the "restaurant". It is lush and pretty but blocked view of the one open space on property. Open spaces are great for easier bird watching. I could hear so much birdlife but not see any of it during the meals. Also, allowing smoking was a bit of a downer. We only had one night with a guest who smoked, but the smell kind of takes away from the whole eco trip/clean jungle air experience. This off the beaten path jungle home is wonderful and my family would return in a minute if we could!

Room Tip: Every cabin is thoughtfully nestled in the jungle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macawbank, Owner at Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you Lauren for your suggestion to remove some of the foliage around the restaurant area. I had thought about it, but procrastinated because the hummingbirds seemed to be enjoying the heliconias in bloom. It has been done, and the results are stunning !! The hummingbirds are still around !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We enjoyed every moment of our stay at Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge. We look for a place that is wild but also has its creature comforts (like the best ever mango margarita) and this was it. The cabana was lovely, comfortable and organically planned and executed to highlight the beauty of the jungle. We were surrounded by all sorts of critters, amazing birds, melodious cicadas, beautiful spiders, lovely mammals, and, of course, the star Tallulah. Ron, Al, Henri and Alejandro pampered us and catered to us. We were so well taken care of from the moment we arrived until even after we left the lodge. Our hosts were wonderful in every way and helped us plan a most amazing adventure vacation filled with caving, Mayan ruins, horseback riding and birding galore. We definitely needed more time there and, so, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just returned for a weekend stay and we were very happy with the service and jungle setting. It's a birdwatcher's paradise. If you want luxury, this is not the place for you. This is the place for persons who want to get back to nature and enjoy a TRUE NATURAL SETTING. It's located Off the Beaten Path, but is a great. Ron was a teriffic host and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

There are so many great reviews for Macaw Bank I wasn't going to bother adding another but 2 months after our stay we keep thinking back on Macaw Bank. Ron, Al, Henry and crew provide a wonderfully unique jungle lodge experience. It is not a typical resort . An 8 mile dirt road to get there, occasionally intermittent electricity and being in the midst of all the jungle floral and fauna might stress out some folks. We arrived in early evening greeted by Ron and the dogs. We followed paths lit by kerosene lamps to our cabanas, clean and comfortable - outfitted with a mix of antiques and locally built furniture, thatched roof and a porch surrounded by giant palms - this is not the Holiday Inn, time to put the cell phone and laptop away. We ate most of our meals there. Ron and Al have created a beautiful open-air space for dining in the jungle. The food is good and the hosts congenial and when we were occasionally quiet you could listen to the jungle (yes there is a bar).
Cheaper food can be found in San Ignacius but it doesn't compare to the experience of being in Macaw Bank. Wake up to sounds of birds and jungle life, walk the trails (there are bugs but it is not buggy or intrusive to the experience), tube the river chill out, relax, pet the coati-mundi in a place that gracefully provides comfort and style in the jungle.

Room Tip: the 2 new cabanas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge

Address: On the Macal River in the jungle, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, romantic honeymoon destination, naturalist paradise, ornithologist will especially love our beautiful Macal River frontage with access to many activities and adventures. Cabanas are private, secluded, spacious, clean, with screened windows,private deck or veranda, private baths, fans, and lights. Many activities available. Volleyball, croquet, river tubing, hiking, bird watching, etc. Tours are arranged complimentary. Close to ATM Caves, Caracol, Belize Botanical Gardens,zip line, horseback riding, San Ignacio town and market, Xunantunich, Greenhills Butterfly Ranch, Barton Creek Cave, Eljio Panti National Park, and much more... Tubes provided complimentary for guests. Canoeing available. WI-FI provided free of charge. Restaurant on premises, gift shop, bar. Five miles of well groomed nature trails,ancient trees, park like jungle setting, hammocks,lending library, ping pong table,telescope for use by our star gazing guests, camping also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macaw Bank Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macaw Bank Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.