We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours
Save
You added Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours to your Saves list
Mile 9 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | PO Box 183, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Kamloops, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I did alot of research before deciding on Moonracer Farm, and after staying for 3 nights with our family of four including two boys age 8 & 9, I see why Moonracer is rated #1. If you're not sure where in Belize to stay, this area is excellent, and Moonracer farm, more specifically, is perfect for attractions nearby. Tom and Marge's hospitality is first rate. They not only helped us to arrange our excursions, but Tom took the four of us on our own personal tours that were the highlight of our trip to Belize. I realize the reviews have said it over and over about their great hospitality, but being in a foreign country, right in the middle of the jungle, we felt so at home and taken care of with Tom and Marge. And then there's Marge's cooking! Being foodies ourselves (and having stayed at large 5 star resorts)....every meal we enjoyed with them made Moonracer farm a 6 out of 5. The cabin is large and clean, and the beds very comfy. We did the Mountain Pine Ridge Tour with Tom - Big Rock, Sapidillo Falls, and Rio On Pools...had a blast in the waterfalls! For all four of us, the highlight was Ka'ax Tun and lunch after with a local family...best way to experience a country and it's culture! All the jungle trekking leading up to lunch was so much fun - climbing vines, walls and going in caves...awesome! Green Hills Butterfly Ranch is right next door to Moonracer Farm...a beautiful start to our morning. Moonracer Farm is a fabulous experience, not just a place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
76
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Tom and Marge,

It is not often when you get home from a trip that the first thing you do is thank the hotel.
But, you guys plain and simple are not a hotel, but new friends.

Staying with you both was very special to my family. I am so glad that we arranged the trip the way we did and ended with you. We all just felt at home. There were so many good times that we will never forget about our time spent at your MoonRacer Farm.

Marge, even with all your great cooking and day after day of deserts, I only put on a pound. If you could not tell, Tamara loves to cook and she loved every minute. You made us feel so special.

tom and Tamara

Room Tip: both rooms are the same and perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Moonracer Farms for 4 nights in early June 2012. We had a fabulous time. The best part of the stay is the hospitality of the owners, Tom and Marge. They not only set everything up for us such as transportation, tours, and meals (which Marge makes home cooked every day), but they also made us feel like we were truly a part of their home.

Their guest cabin is beautiful and perfectly clean; the meals are incredible; and the surrounding jungle is an adventure in itself.

The tours that they set up for us were also amazing and special. For several of the tours, we had our own personal guide who would share not only the usual information that guides do, but also their own life stories. This made Belize surge with its own personality.

Both my wife and I would recommend staying here as long as you do not want the boring resort style of vacation. If you are looking for a truly unique experience, then Moonracer Farm is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were picked up by Tom right at the airport. From there our experience with Moonracer Farm truly made us feel at home the entire time we stayed with them. After our drive in from Belize City, we were shown around the cozy grounds of their bed and breakfast. One cabin with two rooms; you can rent both or one of these, two queen beds each, complete with sink, shower, screened-in porch, and hammock! One of the best parts of our stay there was Marge's cooking. It was some of the best cooking we've ever had. The family style meals you share with Marge, Tom, and the other guests. At no time did we ever feel like guests, we always felt like we were staying with friends. At the end of each day, we always looked forward to sharing our adventures with Tom and Marge.

The tour group they used - River Rats, while it may have been a bit more expensive, was well worth it. Our tour groups were always much smaller and more personal than those around us. Our tour experiences at Tikal, ATM, and Mtn Pine Ridge were very individualized. They took plenty of time with us and answered all of our questions. The tour guides had expert knowledge of the sites we visited and never rushed us.

If you are considering going to the Cayo and are fairly easygoing, this is the BEST place to stay, hands down.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My family of four with two young children (3 & 5) just returned from an amazing holiday in Belize. Some of our best memories are from our stay in the jungle with Tom and Marge who are wonderful hosts. Both of my girls felt right at home and by the end of our stay my oldest was Marge's official assistant in the kitchen. Hiking at Kax Tun followed by a delicious lunch was our highlight but we enjoyed our self guided tours as well. Marge and Tom were great at suggesting appropriate things to do in the area and Marge was always filling our cooler with homemade goodies. The food was as good as everyone says, especially the burrito pizza!! This is the perfect place to stay if you really want to experience the jungle in clean and comfortable surroundings with great people!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Moonracer Farm lives up to all of the outstanding reviews posted here on tripadvisor--no complaints at all. Our flight was delayed and we ended up arriving one day late, but Tom and Marge were extremely helpful and flexible...Gonzo from River Rats even adjusted our ATM tour time so we were able to squeeze that in as planned and still make a connection to Ambergris Caye (ATM tour is highly recommended--that, too, lives up to the hype). The MF experience was great, and the first-class, personalized customer service you get is really what makes this place so much better than its competitors. Don't stay here if you are fragile, or need to be pampered and want marble sinks; stay here if you want a unique and extremely fun experience--one that will undoubtedly make you want to return as soon as possible.
Glen & Christine Butler

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in the one cabin available--this is great, because it means there won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I decided to go to Belize on our honeymoon. We wanted to experience some adventure, so we decided to go to San Ignacio. We stayed at Moonracer Farm and had an amazing time! Tom and Marge were the best hosts ever and very accommodating. I have a mild gluten allergy and Marge made sure I always had something yummy to eat. In addition, they organized all of the adventures that we wanted to do during our stay. We never even missed electricity while we were there, we just didn't need it! Stay here if you are adventurous and ready to have a great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours

Address: Mile 9 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | PO Box 183, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, 2 room, full-service jungle lodge located just outside the Mountain Pine Ridge Forest Reserve and Elijio Panti National Park. Meals served family style, alcoholic beverages available. Hiking from the lodge, other tours arranged upon request. Private baths, hot showers, 2 queen beds per room, internet access, limited electricity. Discount for rentals of entire 2-room cabin. RV Parking. Dogs are welcome, kenneling available. Current summer special rates are US$65/night/room, which includes breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonracer Farm Lodging And Tours
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours Hotel San Ignacio
Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonracer Farm Lodging & Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.