We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hi-et

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hi-et
12 West Street, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple and cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A one minute walk from the main street in San Ignacio, this guest house is very central to anything going on in San Ignacio. it's run by a family, and you have to walk through a bit of their house to get to your room. The rooms are very simple. We had some miscommunication before arrival, and we thought we got rooms with shared bathrooms, but they were all booked so we ended up staying in rooms with a private bathroom, but they were very accommodating and gave us the rooms for a cheaper price (we were students on a tight budget!) Rooms had running water with a shower, toilet and sink, two bedrooms. Not sure if they had hot water, but it was so warm outside that you really wanted to take a cold shower :) Rooms had a fan but no air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've stayed here on every trip to Belize. It's one of the safest feeling places we've stayed in the country since you actually walk through the owner's home to get to your room. It's also a bargain at $25bz a night! We stayed in one of the rooms with a shared bath. Just a bed, a fan, a corner rod with coat hangers and a little balcony.The balcony is a pleasant place to sit quietly in the early morning or late evening and just watch the world go by. The rooms are small, and you don't feel like you have much privacy with the lattice at the ceiling, but you don't spend much time in them anyway, and even though all the rooms were full we never had to wait for the bathroom. The family is great and the location is unbeatable, right in the heart of downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

It appears as though the word is out about the bargain rooms at Hi-Et cause the 25Bz rooms were full the three nights that we stayed. We opted to pay for the private rooms (50Bz) because they seemed like the best option in town (and we looked at a lot of other places). We had the room that is near the fridge on the right when you walk in. Internet works in this room. The place is very nice and the family is so friendly. It has a fridge, microwave and kettle which is really helpful if you want to prepare some food or have nice cold drinks. There are several other options for private rooms in the city that are slightly cheaper, but they don't appear as safe as Hi-Et, nor do they have internet or refrigerators.

Room Tip: If you can, try to book ahead for the shared rooms cause they are usually full! The private rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I paid about $25BZ for a single room with a balcony and shared bathroom.

For the price, I thought it was a bargain. My only complaint was that I had a floor fan which was rather loud... if you could get a room with a ceiling fan, you'll be happy.

I was rather lucky that Hi Et isn't near any of the clubs or bars, so I wasn't kept up all night by annoying music

Room Tip: get a room with a ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hi-Et was a great little place to stay. We found the owners friendly and accomdating. They held our luggage while we were out after we checked out. Clean and comfortable space, the shower was warm!! The only downside was that the neighboring house played their TV quite loud until about 11 PM and then again around 6 AM so it was a good thing I'd brought ear plugs!

We'd stayed at another hotel in San Ignacio two night previous and found this experience to be so much better due to the famly run, friendly nature of the folks who run it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place was one of the best deals and cutest places I got to stay in Belize. My little, clean, cute room had it's own private porch, and the shared bathroom had the best hot shower I took in my entire 2 months in Belize and Guatemala. Great central location, next to an excellent Belizian restaurant and the best tour guide in the area, John Chuc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

good value little family run affair.

Small rooms, a bit hot at certain times of the day but with the most powerful fans i ever saw, and cute little private balanconies - perfect for drying sweaty/wet clothes after a day tour in mountain pine ridge

a steal at bz$25 a night ($12.50)

hot showers.

bathroom shared between the 4 rooms that make up the 'hotel' upstairs from the families house.

good location, one block from main street.

I'd happily stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hi-et? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi-et

Address: 12 West Street, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Also Known As:
Hi-Et Hotel San Ignacio
Hi-Et Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hi-et, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hi-et to your Saves list