We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most adventurous and fun vacation ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Most adventurous and fun vacation ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed her for the first three days of our vacation and had a blast. The service was amazing, everyone was super friendly and the staff would stay and hang out with us after dinner, especially Jason, and Pedro. The food was wonderful and varied enough for picky eaters as well. The treehouse we stayed in was amazing. Loved the view, loved everything about it. The excursions were a blast, we did the cave tubing and the Maya ruins in Tikal, Guatemala. Had great tour guides both times and we even met Ian on the trip who was a very friendly adventurous guy. The only warning is that this location is deep in jungle so be prepared to come face to face with giant spiders, howler monkeys, bats, etc. Carmen even went to remove a very large spider from one couples door entrance to their room and brought it back to show them it was removed then released it back into the jungle lol!

Room Tip: The upper canopy rooms are several flights of stairs to get there, prepare to be winded after hiking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    73
    15
    13
    2
See reviews for
197
234
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent place to stay, extraordinary service, Great Fresh Food with some amazing Chef "Jay" made Desserts in Dinner. Staff is extraordinary, and they are all about customer service. Manager "Jason" was funny and entertaining. Carmen @ FrontDesk was always available and did a great welcome and Pedro always ready to serve nice Drinks.. We took up a few expeditions "A Black Hole Drop", "Cave Tubing", "Bird Tour", "Mayan Ruins" all were amazing with great Guides Carlos, Esperanza, Adel, Ching .. all were great.. Resort itself has that amazing jungle feeling with luxurious living.. Beautiful and artistically created their own Botanical Garden.. Owner Ian and Ela were very warm and welcoming.. Made a new family out there..Best part of all was it was completely Technology Detox for us.. and me and my husband had great unforgeteble moments there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Canopy 25.. And it was the Best, with Beautiful Views.. As long as you are ready fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

For those seeking seclusion in a tropical jungle complete with perfect service, perfect food and drinks, enthusiastic staff and "jungle-luxury" suites among the trees, howler monkeys and other wildlife, Ian's Jungle Lodge simply cannot be surpassed!!!!
Excursions into the wilds, on the rivers and amid Mayan ruins were well-planned and supervised by obviously well trained personnel such as Carlos Hernandez.
Five days there and on to a five day stay at Ian's affiliated resort at Almond Beach for which a separate review will be submitted shortly.
Eva and Parker Severaid

Room Tip: If you like seclusion, high in the trees with a rooftop bathtub book suite # 23. Long stairway clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was part two of my honeymoon and was easily the most fun. We did the honeymoon package in the jungle suite and while of course it was a bit rustic it was everything we wanted it to be. The adventures were great and the people we met were all amazing. I know we are both looking forward to the next time we go to Caves Branch.

Room Tip: The canopy rooms do have an amazing view but you have to climb a lot of stairs to get to them. Consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanAnderson, Owner at Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you 'Seans' for your kind comments ! I am very pleased that our Caves Branch family was able to provide a significant experience to add to honeymoon memories and that you yourselves felt a part of our family during your stay. I do hope that you will return on one of your anniversaries so that we can celebrate with you. In closing, yes, the canopy treehouses do require a bit of hike up to them.. but if not for the many stairs, there would not be that spectacular view you enjoyed..

Once again.. congratulations on your marriage and we look forward to meeting you at Caves Branch in the future.

Sincerley,

Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent 4 night at this place and had the most amazing time. Food was great and everyone that worked there was so friendly. I would go back again and have told everyone about this place. All the excursions were great. Waterfall cave hike was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here as a package deal, 3 nights at Caves Branch and 4 nights at Almond Beach Resort. The tree houses were beautiful, especially the outdoor shower! We loved the group dining style and the staff. The manager, Jason, was absolutely hilarious and made the stay very enjoyable. I would recommend bringing a flash light or a headlamp as it does get very dark along the walkways at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugar land, tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved Caves Branch!! We were there June 28-July 2, with my 2 adult children, ages 21 and 19. This place is a one of a kind!! We did the Black Hole Drop and the Waterfall Cave Expedition and the ruins. . I think the hikes on the expeditions were harder than I expected and I am in pretty good shape. So be warned you will be hiking for over an hour in some pretty tight spots; but it is worth the effort in the end.

The food was good and loved the rum drinks. They will sit you at tables with different people every night and it is a great way to meet new people and talk about adventures.

Some advice...
*Bring old tennis shoes that you don't want anymore for the hikes.
*Mosquito spray is a must!! I live in Houston and they were much worse in Belize!!
*Bring pants for some of the adventures, I got hiking pants because they were thin and cool.
*No outlets in the rooms. You will not have good hair or makeup but neither will anyone else.
*At night the heat was not that bad, I was really worried about it in July but it cools off at night.
*We did have snacks in our room, there is no food except at meal times.
*They provide pool towels.
*Please tip the guides at the end of your stay, try and remember their names. When you
sign out they give you a tip sheet and you can tip individual guides. I loved all our guides
and wanted them all to get tipped correctly.
*Bring a flashlight!!! It is very dark walking back to the rooms at night.

Room Tip: Loved the river treehouses!! Great view without too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Travel is what Caves Branch was built on and Adventure Travel is still what Caves Branch is all about. But over the years, the Caves Branch jungle lodge has evolved from extremely rustic Jungle River Camp with outhouses and bathing in the river to our most recent 5 Star Luxury Tree Houses with roof top decks and hot tubs to relax under the stars above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.