We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the time of my life, and met a lot of great people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had the time of my life, and met a lot of great people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

3 of us went to Caves branch 11/7/12-11/11/12 and stayed in treehouse 25. Beautiful views of the jungle canopy lots of critters hanging out up there...monkeys and wild cats. We had baby red back tarantula in our room about the 4 inches round. Kareem came to our rescue and put him back outside where he belongs. The staff were great, nice, professional and friendly. Ian and his wife took time to go around and talk to the folks gathering around at meal times. You can tell Ian and his wife take pride in what they do and really care about making sure their guests are satisfied. The tours were amazing. Our favorite guide was Chinng. He is very knowledgeable and a great guy. I will definitely go back and bring along more people with me. I met many great people and made new friends. I had the time of my life!

BThe stairs were insane to walk up, but once you got up there and saw the beautiful view of the jungle canopy...

Ian Anderson and his wife take a lot of pride in Caves branch

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    82
    16
    14
    3
See reviews for
226
267
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The cave float tour was so much more than we ever imagined! Our entire group had the best time. We were picked up at Belizean Dreams by a wonderful driver whose name was Enricho. He was so good to point out different landmarks as we made the trip to Caves Branch. We arrived and took a short hike up the path to the lodge where they grouped us in small groups and our guides were introduced to us. We then traveled by bus for a short distance. We exited the bus, were given our floating tubes and began a short trek through the orange groves to the mouth of the cave. I was a little worried the water was going to be very cold but our guide assured us that it was very refreshing! He was correct, once we got in and started the float into the cave you adjusted to the water temp and it was very nice! We would float for awhile and then we stopped and hiked a short distance, our guides were so enjoyable, explaining what we were seeing, cracking jokes and just making sure we were all safe and having a good time. They were very careful that we were careful of our footing and not to hit our heads, very attentive to each little detail. The Mayan ruins that we saw gave us goosebumps and the stories of facts they have learned over the years was so interesting. We stopped for lunch in the cave. The guides spread out a white cloth and prepared for lunch while we had the opportunity to just look around our surroundings.. When they were ready we sat down on the floor of the cave and enjoyed a delicious lunch that had been prepared for us by the Lodge and carried by our guides into the cave. After we all were finished and everything was packed up we began our hike again climbing up to a higher part of the cave...Our group was not the only group in the cave but we really thought we had it all to ourselves, only seeing the first group for a short time once or twice while we were in the cave. We then leisurely floated back out of the cave and watched as some of the first group (younger) jumped off of the cliff into the water...A great experience for us all. Make sure you wear really good shoes to climb and walk on the rocks in the water. They will tell you everything you need when you book your tour. A really great adventure that will be a lasting memory for all of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The daytime adventures are great. The "waterfall hike" through the caves and the Black Hole are physically demanding and actually pretty scary ... In a good way. This is a great place if you are in good shape and want an adventure. It's not a good place if you want a cable TV and don't like the jungle ... But then, don't come to Belize.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Caves Branch Jungle Lodge. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful and we loved getting to know them. It was awesome to visit with Ian and Ella, who spent considerable time sharing their knowledge and adventures with us. The canopy treehouse was beautiful, well maintained, and we loved the entire experience and adventures to Tikal ruins in Guatemala and the visit to the Howler Monkey Sanctuary and Belize Zoo. We can't wait to come back with our entire family!

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing the 130+ stairs, pick the high up canopy treehouses. We're over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golfito,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When the bus dropped us off at the entrance to the Lodge we had no idea what would be waiting for us at the end of the 1/2 mile walk up a gorgeous canopied road. We had been told about this venue by a young couple who had spent their honeymoon here a year ago so we thought we'd check it out, and we're so glad we did. The staff welcomed us with a cold facecloth, and on a stinky hot day that was enough to sell us on the place! Our cabana was delightful and private, the meals, served family style, were delicious and affordable, and the Howler monkeys in the jungle around reminded us that we really were in the midst of the wilds. Many daily excursions are offered. Though we chose to just relax, all families came back with great reviews of their adventures. In my opinion, this was the perfect place for us to spend our last few days in BElize, truly relaxing and unwinding before heading home. We would love to return one day with our whole family :) Dreams do still come true... this is a dream spot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Caves Branch on the Honeymoon package! It was everything we could have asked for. My husband said Tikal was "a dream come true".

We did the caves expedition, Tikal, waterfall and the ATM tour. They were all great! My favorite was the waterfall. All of the guides were wonderful!

Don't expect your clothes to dry outside. It was sooo humid! We did end up paying for the lodge to do one load of laundry because your clothes get soaked. Just FYI, I wore some water shoes (closed toe) and they worked out really great!

The staff is amazing! They are always happy to see you and willing to help!

Definitely bring a flashlight and earplugs for night. Earplugs for the howler monkeys.

It really is worth the $! Everyone was having an amazing time! It's definitely not your typical vacation. You usually are going to bed around 830pm, but I think everyone would enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in treehouse #19. They are very nice! You will hear the howler monkeys! So, bring some e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights in a jungle bungalow. It was the rainy season, and boy did it rain. It didn't put a damper on our good time though. We did 3 excursions; cave tubing, the waterfall cave hike, and kayaking the Sibun River. They have a perfect system of getting you signed up for the next days tours at dinner, the length of the tours are most of the day, but get you back in time to get cleaned up and take a short rest before dinner in the evening. I can only say wonderful things about all of the people there. From Eugene who checked us in, to Kareem at the bar to all of the wonderful guides (Pablo, Alex, Chico, Rose, Harrison, Darrel, etc.) Everyone was very nice, full of knowledge about the local flora and fauna and made us feel really comfortable and safe. We met nice people from all over at meals and on our excursions. Our only complaint was that we were wet from day one. Because it was the rainy season, it was very humid. Humid to the point that everything in our room was damp including our clean clothes, sheets, etc. We were told by some of the other visitors that the tree house rooms didn't feel wet this way. Being down on the ground made it the worst for us, I guess. We also weren't able to dry any of our clothes on our line or our shoes. Be prepared with plenty of clothes and shoes. All of the excursions you will sweat, get wet, and muddy. It is a blast! Not for the weak. The property is exquisite. The botanical garden that they have created around the lodge is absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
11.3 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
21.0 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
19.1 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
19.6 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
14.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge

Address: Mile 41.5 Hummingbird Highway | P.O. Box 356, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Travel is what Caves Branch was built on and Adventure Travel is still what Caves Branch is all about. But over the years, the Caves Branch jungle lodge has evolved from extremely rustic Jungle River Camp with outhouses and bathing in the river to our most recent 5 Star Luxury Tree Houses with roof top decks and hot tubs to relax under the stars above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ian Anderson`s Caves Branch Jungle Hotel Belmopan
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.