We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Belmopan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bull Frog Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bull Frog Inn
Save
You added Bull Frog Inn to your Saves list
25 Halfmoon Ave, Belmopan, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI!
Ranked #12 of 15 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Pebble Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Belmopan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

The Bullfrog Inn has been run by the d'Silva family since 1981 and for 30 years has been THE place to stay in Belmopan.

The rooms are spacious, always spotlessly clean, and well equipped; they deserve a solid "2 star" rating and also represent excellent value in the sometimes overpriced Belize market.

The service is always friendly, always welcoming and you will immediately feel like you are at home when you settle down at one of the outdoor tables by the bar. And if it happens to be a bit too hot for you that day, there is a large, bright air-conditioned dining room right next door.

The food offers a large selection of Belizean and international cooking, and can be relied on for quality and value.

The Bullfrog Inn is also the gathering point of the political, diplomatic and business elite of Belize. When you are sitting at a table near the bar, listen carefully and you might hear the US Ambassador chatting to Belize's Minister of Economic Development. At another table you might hear the Operations Manager of a major drilling company bemoaning the impact of heavy rains on getting his equipment moved around. Of course, Belize being friendly and informal, don't expect to see all these big-shots in business suits! So if you happen to see a friendly thirty-ish year old young man at or behind the bar, say hello to Jay d'Silva, the proprietor's son who has gone on to very senior jobs in government and business. He still sometimes works the bar where he used to earn his pocket money after school. Jay will tell you "Who's Who" among the Bullfrog's elite clientele.

All in all, the Bullfrog is THE place to stay when you're in the Belmopan area!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
2
8
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

My Husband and I needed a place to stay in Belmopan as we drove south to Placencia at the end of November. We ended up at the Bullfrog Inn and were very happy with our stay. The staff running the restaurant and hotel check in were very friendly and helpful - we basically just needed a place to sleep so we chose the "economy" room. We paid approx $60US for the night and we got a double bed, AC, TV with full cable, wi-fi, and a nice sized bathroom - just no balcony...The thing we were most impressed with was the cleanliness though....we travel quite a bit for work, and this is one of the cleanest hotel rooms we've seen! We had the dinner special in the attached restaurant and a couple Belikin beers each and the bill came to about $30US. If you need a place to crash in Belmopan - check this place out!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

this hotel was very overprised, i was shown a clean room but was given a filthy room where the carpet stunk like mildew, I had to use airfreshener in order to stay one night. if they call this place a top hotel in belmopan then i would hate to see a regular hotel. I will never stay there again and i would not recommmend this place to anyone. I had to put the blankets on the floor to walk on
because the carpet was dirty and stained.this hotel was a piece of crap.

Room Tip: look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel was nice. Not 5 star but nice. The rooms were clean. Air conditioner worked great. At $110 US for 3 people for a room of this quality was a little steep. It is $30 for each additional person over 2 per room. I could understand this if it included breakfast but it did not. I would stay there again because there are not many other choices. I know, I looked.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

I stayed in a regular (as opposed to economy) room at the Bullfrog in in early July. I met a friend in Belmopan, and I am not keen in staying in people's houses so I stayed at the Bullfrog Inn.

The regular rooms are spacious (the economy rooms are smaller but have the same ameneties including AC and TV I'm told) and they have nice comfortable beds. The bathroom was large with a tub and not simply a shower - great for a nice soak after a long day walking. They had plenty of bath linens including flannels for your face (washcloths) often lacking in many Central American hotels.

The room had a desk, lamp and table. It was great for getting a little work done. The wireless access is only in the dining room and bar area, but with my external antenna I was able to pick up a pretty good connection in room 19 - fairly close to the dining room.

There are plenty of rooms overlooking the parking if you want to keep an eye on your car, and there is a small balcony as well if you want to take morning coffee there.

The television had more cable stations that I get at home. US, Mexican, Guatemalan, of course stations from Belieze, as well as two Japanese language stations and a Chinese language station. I think there were 107 stations. I didn't spend too much time watching TV as I can do that at home.

It is very convenient to the government offices, and across the street is a pharmacy and doctors' office. There is a shopping plaza with a dry cleaners perhaps 1/4 mile away.

The room does have some older furnishings but they were clean and in good repair. The bed was not too hard like many others in that part of the world and the pillows were very good.

I had dinner in the restaurant and I had one of the greatest Bacon Cheeseburgers I have ever had, along with two Belikan beers, and a Chicken Boca (a bowl of their version of McNuggets). It was less than 20 USD.

If no one is at the check in desk, wander over to the bar as that is where the manager is in the evenings. (Working not drinking) The rooms had plenty of locks on the door and were quite secure. The off street parking is good as well. The US Embassy is 1/2 mile away as is the British High Commission, and Brazil, El Salvador, Venezuela, Mexico, and India, (The rest are Belize City.) The general hospital is steps away.

You are about an hour's drive from the Guatemala border, and perhaps 90 minutes - 2 hrs from Tikal by car if the border crossing is quick. All of the staff I saw were at least bilingual and some trilingual. The staff was pleasant and attentive.

I heartily recommend this hotel if you need a break from the road or just want a reasonable place to relax.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

The Bullfrog will always be a vivid memory for me. Belize is a small country and Belmopan is the world's smallest national capital (by popluation). So, it makes sense that there isn't much of a market for 5 star hotels.

The best I can say it that it was adequate. It is an old motel that desperately needs updating. The room was cleaned everyday but the carpet looked like it was 40 years old. The restuarant was open on time and the food was edible. The bartender was unattentive and let me wait for my next drink repeatedly. I was fortunate to get a room on the very end so, ambient noise was never a problem for me.

There aren't many options in Belmopan. This may be the best in town.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

The hotel is very old and desperately in need of renovation but it's really your only option in Belmopan. The restaurant is descent and the people are friendly. I wouldn't recommend for anything other than a business trip (which is probably the only reason you go to Belmopan.)

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — No business facilities, rooms are very outdated
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
7.3 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
18.7 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
13.6 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
8.4 mi away
El Rey Hotel
El Rey Hotel
#6 of 15 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
7.7 mi away
Villa San Juan
Villa San Juan
#4 of 15 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Frog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Frog Inn

Address: 25 Halfmoon Ave, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Bull Frog Inn Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull Frog Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.