We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Belizean paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure to your Saves list
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure
Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Dinner too!!!
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True Belizean paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Let me start by saying I'm shocked by some of the negative reviews. You need to understand you are going to a jungle. There will be noisy wildlife, there will be bugs, there will be humidity. The lodge rating shouldn't be docked for those things! yes, there were some things that needed repair (ie:paint) but the climate in Belize isn't fantastic for upkeep of those type things. And the only places I saw repair needs were all exterior, not in the rooms.

We stayed very comfortably in a cabana with four beds. The decor isn't that of an expensive North American resort but it reflects the culture of Belize. It was homey and comfortable. There was a lack of lighting, but it was easily solved with a lantern. The cabana did not have glass windows, just screens so we fell asleep to te cool breeze and sound of rain every night.

They have free wifi on almost the entire premises, a beautiful pool, and amazing home cooked food served by very friendly and accommodating staff.

There are beautiful animals in site and you are in walking distance of a river.

I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
33
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was one of the worst experiences I have ever had.
No one there to greet you. No signs to tell you where to go. The people treated you like they didn't care if you were there or not and were causing them trouble by showing up. No one offered us any information on horse back riding which we had planned to do. The room was a pink nightmare the bedspread was from 1980. One large king bed and a kiddie bed when I had asked for two queens.

No help with the luggage which we had to hall up two flights of stairs. The stairs were tile and very slick in the rain. I had trouble everytime we left or returned to the room. The banister was covered with growth and I wasn't sure what might jump out at me.

There is lots to choose from in Belize. DON'T GO TO BANANA BANK.

Room Tip: DON'T GO, you will regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had the delightful opportunity of staying at Banana Bank Lodge for one week. The unique and artistically-decorated accommodations were clean and comfortable and ranged from jungle cabanas to air-conditioned motel-style rooms. Our family of six used both and everyone was pleased. If we had any issues, the staff addressed them promptly and efficiently when brought to their attention.
The meals were tasty, nutritious and plentiful. Vegetarian meals were available on request. Meals were served in a family setting and provided a great time to visit with the Carr family and fellow travelers.
We enjoyed several amazing horseback rides through tropical vegetation, crystal-clear creeks and cattle country. The informative and helpful guides were excellent horsemen and matched the healthy, well-trained horses with each rider's ability.
The beautiful grounds offered a flowered oasis with a pristine pool and tranquil setting. There was also a variety of tropical animals on the grounds. Some had been rescued after being injured or orphaned in the wild and were now being cared for at the ranch. John, Carolyn, and Leisa Carr were gracious hosts with years of experience living in Belize. They offered a variety of tours and travel advice and made our stay memorable and enjoyable. We have been traveling in Belize for many years and Banana Bank Ranch is the highlight of every trip. Our family can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: My older sons liked the air-conditioned rooms. I preferred the cabana because it felt more like sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My daughter and I spent a week at Banana Bank Lodge in April 2013 with the primary interest being riding together. We are both experienced riders and the choice of horses for us was very well matched. The staff was attentive, very friendly and the "family" atmosphere was truly welcoming. It is a delightful combination of an 'away from it all in the jungle' experience with comfortable rooms, good food, great pool and lovely grounds. No TV, but WiFi in some areas is enough to give a teenager a technology fix when needed. Even for those who don't ride there are many other local tours and activities that they will help you enjoy. The people in Belize are all very friendly, though certainly a much less developed area (delightfully so I thought) than many travelers might be looking for.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC--ask if that is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The location is nice, and the pool is pretty nice..however if you get a cabana, beware of the bugs coming from the bathroom. They arent sealed off in some spots and some of the rooms are at ground level. I invited the spiders to stay in my room to take care of the mosquitos and other things that wanted to feed on my body at night. Sometimes the lights off are better. However, the room itself was pretty great to share with a buddy (not romanticlly) , Get the one closest to the dining room, youll never be late for all meals.

The caged wildlife was a plus! Unfortunatley I didnt do the horse adventure.

Room Tip: Would suggest against a cabana, and get a room in one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was a quiet and beautiful setting and a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle and commercialism and enjoy nature with a nice balance of rustic jungle living with modern conveniences and beautiful pool and rooms

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our team stayed at Banana Bank after a two week mission trip to relax and decompress. It was glorious. After passing by fields of sorghum and corn we slowed down as we were sharing the road with horses who were very comfortable with us. We were shown to our rooms by a lovely staff member and she was very pleased with our ohhs and ahhs over the pretty very clean rooms. After settling in we walked on paths thru wonderful gardens blooming with mulitple colors. The pool was pristine and sunshine felt awesome. There are birds and a jaguar in a pen and the river just a stroll away with canoes available for a float. The food was devine and all the staff were fun to chat with.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were nice and clean. The bed was very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
14.5 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
21.2 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
8.1 mi away
Maya Mountain Lodge
Maya Mountain Lodge
#10 of 26 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa San Juan
Villa San Juan
#4 of 15 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure

Address: Banana Bank, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful rainforest setting beside the mighty Belize River sits a jungle paradise where horses roam freely. Parrots, toucans, macaws will greet you with a "tropical Hello" while and our jaguar Tikatoo and other animals delight your stay. Here you'll find adventure, great food, congenial hosts, exotic artwork and memories to last a lifetime. Family style dining and our helpful, friendly staff all ensure your stay at Banana Bank is an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bank Lodge & Horseback Adventure Hotel Belmopan
Banana Bank Lodge And Horseback Adventure
Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Bank Lodge & Jungle Horseback Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.