We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view of local orange groves” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Herman's Cave

St. Herman's Cave
About 500 meters from the Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Belmopan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
pgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great view of local orange groves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Didnt do the guided tour but explored on our own through the beginning of the cave very fasinating. The longer hike back from the cave was breathtaking overlooking some jungle and orange groves. Very pleasant young lady in the office

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not too impressed with the cave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited this cave during one rainy afternoon in the Cayo. We weren't too impressed with the cave although the walk through the forest was nice. We've seen a number of caves in various places, and this cave rates fairly low in terms of interesting things to see. The Hummingbird Highway is very scenic, but we don't think that it is worth taking the time to visit this cave. We also stopped at the nearby Blue Hole, but it was closed due to heavy rains and run-off turning the Blue Hole brown.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“bring a good flashlight- short marked path”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

there is a short marked path once you get inside herman's cave. There is a clearly marked sign advising tourists from proceeding further without a guide. It's a nice place to stretch your legs in the middle of a long carride but it's nothing incredibly different than most caves.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go with a Guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were blown away by this caving adventure. Be sure that you take a guide with you so you can go past the beginning part into the depths of the cave and learn. You will not be disappointed. The formations and Mayan pottery were unbelievable!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Belize's best kept secret...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

....keep it that way! Keep away. Mums the word. Don't let the cat out of the bag. Don't tell anyone. Don't go there. Don't write a review.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Herman's Cave also viewed

 

Been to St. Herman's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Herman's Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.