We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going to your Grandma's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KenMar's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmopan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
KenMar's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added KenMar's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
22 / 24 Halfmoon Avenue, Belmopan, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates Starting at $82
Ranked #3 of 15 Belmopan B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Like going to your Grandma's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I generally avoid BnBs but chose this one based on reviews on TripAdvisor. Am I glad that I did! The owners Marion and Kent are just the loveliest and friendliest people ever and I can't imagine people better suited to run such an establishment. We stayed in a room with a balcony - Royal Palm. It was private and quiet. The room was one of the nicest and best equipped of all rooms I've every stayed in. It had every possible amenity you could ever want - sewing kit? microwave? frig? q-tips? water purifier? fitness room? coffee maker? All provided. The room and bathroom were sparkling clean and beautifully maintained. Breakfasts were incredible - freshly baked breads, eggs made to order, fruit. The place is located centrally on a safe side street. You get hugs from Marion when you arrive and leave and they make you feel like you are the favorite members of their family. Why would you want to stay in an impersonal, soulless hotel room when you could stay in such a comfortable and warm atmosphere?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Kenmar for 3 weeks while working with a local school down the road. Everything that is being said about this amazing place is true! Each day I was treated like a prince at breakfast and came home to a crisp, comfortable room that more than fit my needs. Marion and Kent are so full of life, and hard working. They made my experience top notch and will have my business again someday- hopefully soon!

I just also wanted to note on the positive experiences I was able to have with some of her staff. Consuelo was very kind, helpful and did more than a great job at keeping the home looking it's best. Her daughter serving saturday breakfast is adorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

You're treated like family when you're there. Rooms are very clean and accommodating is taken to new height. Clean your clothes as you need. The breakfast is delicious, with fresh fruit and juice that can't be beat. Eggs are served freshly cooked every morning. After a hot day of exploring the ruins or slipping over to coast, jump in the pool and cool your core. Was there in Dec. of 2013 and enjoyed every minute of it. The other guests enjoyment and happiness stretches out to all! Was there with all guests working and all we could talk about was the beauty and happiness of all the locals. There's a reason a lot of Embassy visitors stay there! (from a lot, not just US, embassies. Kent and Marion are great. Wonder if you'll enjoy Marions' fresh cinnamon rolls like I did?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Actually the service is very good, the breakfast offering is extensive and well feel comfortable your stuff will be safe.
The owners of the place offering support to the community through other projects, so it is doubly nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

KenMar's Bed and Breakfast, Belmopan City, Belize



The hosts Marion and Kent are very friendly and accommodating. The establishment is a B&B guests are given their own set of keys to enter their room and also to enter the gate and entry door when those are locked.

As a B&B, breakfast is taken family style. It includes eggs made-to-order, toast, cereal, a variety of fruits, fresh juice, milk, and fresh coffee. After breakfast, a Keurig self-service machine is available for $2 a cup.

My room was large, clean. The Wi-Fi (included in the room rate) worked very well There is a large flat screen TV, in-room coffee maker, potable water dispenser, mini-fridge, armoire, luggage rack. The bathroom was spacious, clean, and had a supply of toiletries. Within three blocks there is a decent restaurant, take-away pizza place, and supermarket for stocking up the mini-fridge.

If requested, Kent will provide (at market rate) taxi service from/to Belize City Airport.

Belmopan is a very, very quiet little city; there are no full service hotels of great repute. Your best bet is with Kent and Marion. I enjoyed my stay and you will too.

Room Tip: Get one of the big rooms off the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Come to Good, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the KenMar in December 2012. This is an excellent place to stay! Rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. Kent and Marion made us feel welcome during our stay. Marion is a fantastic cook! Can't say enough good things about this place. We look forward to returning to Belize and staying here again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the KenMar B & B for over a week in July 2013, travelling on business. I was surprised to find this little treasure in the heart of Belmopan.

The hosts Marion and Kent were so warm and welcoming, I almost forgot I was there to work. With wonderful home-made bread and other treats each morning from Marion, and such excellent service from Kent, including Taxi service if required my trip went very smoothly.

The rooms were spacious, clean, and bright with Cable TV and comfortable beds. The Wi-Fi worked very well and the location of the B&B was pleasantly quiet at night, and, safe enough that I could go for my morning walks...accompanied by Rusty their dog.

Thank you Marion and Kent for such a welcoming experience, you brightened a run of the mill business trip for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent F, Owner at KenMar's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Felecia,
your time with us was also a special treat as you join us each morning for a brisk way around the ring road . New Flash - the next time you are with us we will have a functional gym which we are currently building. We are starting with a treadmill, elliptical machine, mats, balls, weight bench. Other items will come later.

Thanks for the good word.

Kent and Marion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmopan
11.9 mi away
Sleeping Giant Lodge
Sleeping Giant Lodge
#1 of 5 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yim Saan Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Villa San Juan
Villa San Juan
#4 of 15 in Belmopan
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Rey Hotel
El Rey Hotel
#6 of 15 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ian Anderson's Caves Branch Jungle Lodge
0.7 mi away
Belmopan Bed & Breakfast
Belmopan Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 15 in Belmopan
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KenMar's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KenMar's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 22 / 24 Halfmoon Avenue, Belmopan, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > Belmopan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Belmopan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to KenMar’s Bed & Breakfast. We offer 10 fully air-conditioned guest rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms and many thoughtful extras to ensure your comfort and privacy. The rooms are tastefully decorated and warmly furnished. Hospitality, Comfort and Peace of Mind....It's Like Coming Home!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
KenMar's Bed And Breakfast Belize/Belmopan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KenMar's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.